We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new family vacation destination”
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I traveled on my own with our 2 sons (ages 5 and 2 at the time) and it was perfect. They made us feel at home and were helpful in every way. The boys loved the smores (you can't beat staying up past your bedtime to sit outside by a fire in your pjs) and the morning crafts. I loved the easy access to everything and the incredible breakfast (included!). We're heading there again this summer and can't wait.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acm5114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
There are newer reviews for Nonantum Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,537 - 1,543 of 1,732 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed in a ground floor room in the Portside Building, with an excellent view of the estuary. Room was large and comfortable with all the usual facilities, such as fridge and coffeemaker, large bathroom, all spotlessly clean. Also a patio (rooms on 2nd floor had a balcony).
Small heated swimming pool and sunlounge area adjacent to Portside, perfectly adequate when we were there.
We ate breakfast each morning in the hotel, very good choice of food, only once had to wait (for a few minutes only) for a table when there was a conference on.
Kennebunkport is a lovely location, interesting shops, quite a few restuarants (can recommend Mabel's lobster place and the Arundel Wharf, both within walking distance), also a must is the Lobster Pot boat trip from the hotel jetty on board the Rugosa.

Room Tip: Portside lodge, 151 - 160 and rooms above (251 -)
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve503820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This was our first night in Maine, and although the room was a bit small, it included a good-sized walk in closet. The view of the river from our room and the restaurant was pretty and relaxing.

After a long day of travel, we chose to eat in the on-sight restaurant, 95 Ocean. Both our meals were outstanding. The breakfast buffet Sunday morning was delicious, with a variety of choices. We both really enjoyed the berry pancakes.

Another highlight was all the fairy houses that had been built around the propery, really creative!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Songbird2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Nonantum for 4 nights and had a very pleasant experience. We were hoping for a nice experience based on some Internet research, but really did not know what to expect from Nonantum or the Kennebunkport area. Well, we were very pleasantly surprised.

Check in and check out were a breeze. The resort is clean, charming and well maintained. Our room had a great feel to it, and wonderful decor, clean, updated and very welcoming. The only downside was that having a room on the ground floor by the lobby made it a rather noisy/high traffic area.

Each morning there is a breakfast buffet or menu available. It is quite a nice spread for the average eater, though a little more difficult for the truly health conscious or plant-based eating people. The dinner had a fantastic vegetarian option, which was nice.

The grounds are relaxing, the pool clean and the flower beds magical.

The staff were all outstanding and truly helpful in every way. Each day there were various activities for adults and children if people chose to take advantage of them. Overall it was a great stay and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ground floor, west wing rooms are noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 24traveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Beautiful resort with flowers to rival Longwood Gardens and a great room with a view of the Kennebunk River, swimming pool, and Lobster boat. Dinner was great with a master pianist and the buffet breakfast was excellent. Suggest you take the 1.5 hr Rugosa lobsta boat cruise- Cap'n Dave and his Norwegian crew Jacob hauled lobsters near President Bush's estate. Friendly desk service and the gardens are the work of Nancy Ames- a 5 star horticulturist.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wickedpissah1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Very lovely Victorian room overlooking the river! Very clean with antique furnishings.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Delicious breakfast buffet; but...must get the Lobster Benedict! It was tremendous!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roman1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We just returned from one of the most pleasant weekend getaways ever due to the fantastic service provided by the staff at the Nonantum Resort. Of course it didn't hurt that we had great weather for June in Maine. We were able to take advantage of an online package which also helped. The main building is over 100 yrs old but is in excellent shape considering its age. The dining room is very nice, as was the live piano music in the background- They were just getting into their summer activities and have something planned daily for their guests. We had some freinds with us and they couldn't believe how nice a weekend stay we had. Would highly recommend the Nonantum for couples and families alike!

Room Tip: Take advantage of the activities.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Country-music-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
649 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Kennebunkport
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $154 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing