We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at the Nonantum Resort”
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 30, 2007

We had a wonderful time at the Nonantum Resort. We had a double room on the top floor of the old building. The room was beautifully furnished ! Since the hotel was from the 1800's, the bellboy took us up with the old elevator to the top floor ! There was an outdoor swimming pool and the garden is next to the water, so you can see all the boats float by while you are relaxing ! We also loved the town. We really enjoyed our stay !

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobetrottersBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,720 - 1,726 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2007

We stayed at Nonatum on a Saturday night at the beginning of October. The hotel was packed due to a wedding recption but we still found everything to be to our satisfaction. Room on the corner of the main main building with a dual aspect was really sweet with everything we needed, if you want more modern styling I beileve you should stay in the other building.

The morning we left we found our hire car had a puncture and Mary the concierge couldn't have been more helpful. She rang the hire company and sorted out a replacement and whilst we waited for it she told us plces to go and which route to take around New England. We followed her advice and had a great time for the rest of our holiday.

Thanks Mary!

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank wendyboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights at Nonatum. We were on the top floor of the second building. Nice view of river with nice amenities. Turn down service was nice and the hotel was close enough to walk to Mable's (very nice) and probably in to town but we were too tired to try it!
Good quality breakfast and nice staff.
The only down side--and it's probably our fault--was that we were thinking we were going to be on the ocean (as opposed to the river). Since we'd had two previous nights at another property right on the ocean it was fine but if your hope/expectation is an ocean view, you may want to look elsewhere. But we'd stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wellheynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2007

We went to a wedding and decided to book a room prior to the party. We called the resort for an affordable room. We got there, paid 182.00 for 1 night and when we got to our room it was like walking into grandma's room. EVERYTHING was out dated. No upgrades of any kind. We looked out our window to a beautiful view of a roof with spools of cable wire all over the place! The bathtub didn't even drain. Cold showers in the morning. The food at the wedding was cold and tasteless. We voiced our concerns at the front desk only to be met with, how do I describe it? 3 people looking at us with duh expressions on their faces. I will NEVER stay there again and will tell everyone I know. I am a local so people do ask me where a good place is....I will NOT be saying the Nonantum.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mollysmom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2007

This may be an OK place to stay - it has a beautiful location - but don't eat there unless you want overpriced, poor to mediocre food. Wehave eaten there and in the area for years, and in the past few years the Nonatum has grown steadily worse. They need a new chef and a new menu. If you are staying in the area and want a better view, better food and for half the price, try Federal Jack's.

Stayed: September 2007
5  Thank Maineresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kportinnkeeper, Innkeeper at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2007

We were very surprised to read "Don't eat here"! In the past several years,
our dining room has become increasingly busy. We have had the same chef, and
we find many people (locals included) who come in on a regular basis. Monday
through Thursday we have live bands, making The Nonantum a truly fun place
to be!
Our menu is listed on line, and we think that there is something for
everyone!
To compare us to our friends at Federal Jack's is like comparing apples to
oranges. We are an upscale bistro and they are a pub. If you are interested
in dining on burgers and fries, Federal Jack's is the best place to go!
We would also add that if you are unhappy with a meal (or anything else here
at The Nonantum) if your displeasure is brought to anyone's attention, steps
will be taken to correct the problem.
We hope that people will come and give our dining room a try and see for
themselves that if you want a great atmosphere with delicious food served by
friendly, well trained staff, The Nonantum is the place for you!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

This was our first visit to the Nonantum Resort and we LOVED it. The setting is absolutely gorgeous. The staff are helpful, friendly and very professional.
While the pool and hot tub are on the small side, they are clean and nice.
The hotel offers kayaking right out its back door on the river as well as lobster boat tours and sailing charters. We kayaked and rode on the lobster boat. It was awesome! Everyone at this resort is top class.
You also feel like you really get a great bargain here. Not only are the views fantastic, but there is a huge, delicious free breakfast buffet every morning, fun programs for families in the evening, kids eat free between 5 and 6:30 p.m., and the main part of town is just down the street.
We loved it so much we didn't want to leave!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Travelbug089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

Our parents and our family each booked one of these 4 night packages about a month before we went. You stayed in the older section as part of the package (the Carriage House), where the rooms are decorated in a Victorian Style that reminds you of staying with Grandma. Because we didn't book early enough, only one of us had a waterview room. You also get tickets for the trolley ride (great to do on your first day to get yourself oriented), and for the Funtown/Splashtown in Saco, which is excellent (the rides are good, the waterpark was packed until mid afternoon). The package includes all breakfasts (which are excellent - the buffet is one of the best we've seen), one pool side lunch (a limited menu but okay), and two dinners, which are also excellent. Great food, dinner music and nice views of the river. The beach bag and book are a nice touch too. Don't forget the boat ride. It was also excellent. The crew let my 8 year old steer the lobster boat. We checked 3 traps and caught 3 lobsters and several crabs. The tour guide was great.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sharonaOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
529 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
678 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $169 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing