We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, relaxing, and just what we needed to recharge ourselves.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Ranked #4 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 28, 2010

This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast and it was a phenomenal experience at that. We stayed in Cottage #3 and it was beautifully decorated with rich reds and gold's and the room had a very warm feel. Walter and Judi were wonderful innkeepers, who gave us a tour of the inn and provided us with great information on things to do in the area along with restaurants to visit and they were more than helpful in making reservations for us. We requested that breakfast be delivered to our room in the morning vs. having it at the dining room in the main house. Breakfast was more than I imagined, it was a warm breakfast along with fresh fruit and juice. One day it was a breakfast burrito with salsa and sour cream with fruit, potatoes and ham along with a carafe of orange juice and the second morning it was a apple crepe with eggs and sausage. There is also a Kurig coffee maker in the room. The bathroom had a double Jacuzzi tub which just added to the very relaxing weekend away. We will definitely return again and I would like to visit at a time where I could really see the grounds. I would highly recommend the Maine Stay Inn and Cottages.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmcdld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
There are newer reviews for Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

741 - 747 of 833 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2010

The quiet, relaxing atmosphere made this our favorite weekend getaway yet. Judi and Walter made us feel welcome and were attentive to all our needs including the Gluten Free Breakfast. The cottages are cozy and we enjoyed our morning breakfast in elegant wicker baskets delivered hot to the door. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mle52981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We've been to the Christmas Prelude festival in Kennebunkport for each of the past four years and have stayed at the Maine Stay Inn each time. Arriving at the Inn and seeing friends - staff as well as returning guests - year after year helps make the weekend memorable and enjoyable.

Judi, Walter, Johanna, and everyone who works at the Maine Stay really do go out of their way to make sure we have a great time. We have always stayed in one of the private cottages and absolutely love the fireplace and kitchen in the cottage as well as the whirlpool tub. They even provided a Keurig coffee machine to our room this year. Although we haven't stayed in a room inside the house, the atmosphere inside the Inn is always welcoming when we meet each morning for their amazing homemade breakfasts.

It's only a five minute walk to Dock Square, where there are plenty of boutiques and restaurants to keep us busy. We always make sure to find time to go shopping at the outlets in Freeport, about a 40 minute drive. And don't forget to ask Judi about the secret beach for some amazing picture-taking opportunities along the coast.

We definitely recommend the Maine Stay... and we'll be there again this December!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyihockey35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

My family stayed in Cottage-6 for the third time in five years. It is a cozy two bedroom suite with a full kitchen and sitting room. The Hauers did a wonderful job upgrading the furniture and decorations. What a pleasant surprise!

The breakfasts were sumptuous and highly creative, delivered to the cottage in a wicker basket. Walt and Judi take pride in the charm, tidiness, and hospitality that has always made Maine Stay a comforting place to stay.

Located in a maritime historic district, Maine Stay is a short walk to Kennebunkport Lower Village, with shops, restaurants, and New England charm. It's a place to return time and again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank No1Doze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We are arrived early in the day, but our room was ready so we checked in and went touring. The Inn is only a few short blocks to the center of Kennebunkport, and we made the walk several times during our 2 day stay.

Breakfast was good and plentiful. The room was a good size with a full bath and very comfortable bed. We were on the front of the building along the street, but there was little noticeable traffic. Parking at the Inn was never a problem.

The owners were present and available for conversation and sightseeing or restaurant help. The entire staff was pleasant and helpful.

Liked the location the and the advice we received from the staff best.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

The Maine Stay Inn is a lovely gem in the heart of Kennebunkport, Maine. Our room was updated, pristine, and had great amenities - including a 2 person jacuzzi, kitchen, and a Keurig coffee maker. The Inn is walking distance to everything in town. But the best part was the people. The owners, staff, and fellow guests made this a very special place to be. We spent a wonderful New Year's Eve with strangers that felt like old friends.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inn-lover-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

My husband and I were here for New Years Eve, and had a wonderful time. The brunch that was served was fantastic! The innkeepers are meticulous, it is clear how hard they work to maintain a beautiful B&B. Our room was very charming. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbelli02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
649 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Jefferds Inn
Captain Jefferds Inn
#2 of 25 in Kennebunkport
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 25 in Kennebunkport
1,031 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,738 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kennebunkport
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maine Stay Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Address: 34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $237 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maine Stay Inn and Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Kennebunkport bed and breakfast inn offering a variety of luxurious accommodations within the quiet Historic District, just steps from the Maine Coast. Choose a meticulously restored room or suite in the Victorian Main House, or a spacious cottage suite, each beautifully appointed for discerning travelers. Romantic Cottage Suites offer plush beds, gas fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs, and many accommodations offer flexible floor plans for larger parties and girlfriends getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Maine Stay Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Hotel Kennebunkport
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing