We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming & Convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Ranked #4 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming & Convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

Kennebunkport's The Maine Stay is a family run, people friendly inn. The breakfast was superb, with attentive staff. The rooms are charming & clean, with above average amenities, like better pillows, towels & an in-room espresso maker. The Maine Street location is among other lovely period homes & only a few blocks from the downtown core. Walking to restaurants, shopping & the harbor couldn't be easier. We will definitely return for another stay with so much to do & see in the region. Big thumbs up from us!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mach10man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    85
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
109
560
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Maine Stay B&B as part of a weeklong New England vacation. The accommodations were very roomy, clean and comfortable. The window air conditioner provided cool relief at night. The bathroom has a jacuzzi tub (which we didn't use) and a great stained glass window! Room 12 is a queen suite just off the entryway of the Inn facing the street and side of the garden. You walk into a lovely sitting room wiith a pullout couch, picture window and fireplace and then through a door to the bedroom, which has another sitting area along with the queen size bed and amoire. There are other rooms in the main building plus cottages on the grounds. It's a historic building -- used to be a captain's mansion! The individual personalities of the Hauer family, the innkeepers, added so much to the B&B experience. They were there to greet and serve us at breakfast and whenever we had questions. We appreciated their recommendations for activities, restaurants, and running locations. The afternoon sail on Schooner Eleanor was relaxing and delightful, and it's not often you can sail on a ship built by the captain himself! My jog at the monastery was great -- what a serene jogging path on the river! Our favorite restaurant was On the Marsh, not in any of the guide books but exquisite. Great choice when visiting Kennebunkport!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancySanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

This was our first time staying in a bed and breakfast and our first time in Kennebunkport. We loved our time here. My husband and I were traveling to different places for a summer trip and this is one place that was very special to us. The innkeepers Judi and Walter as well as their daughter Johanna were kind and helpful. Any place we wanted to go they guided us and made us reservations where needed without us even asking. Their recommendations for all restaurants were great. We enjoyed their hospitality and their dedication to making delicious homemade breakfasts. We stayed in the main house that had a sitting area outside the bedroom that we found very comfortable. We felt at home. The Inn was also very clean. The location to town and anywhere we wanted to go couldn't be beat. They are in walking distance to many restaurants and shops and we enjoyed that. Kennebunkport is a beautiful quaint town and we just loved it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank summeradventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stayed here for a night. The Inn has been recently redecocarated and is beautiful and stylish, with a historic charm. Walking through the doors feels like you're stepping back in time. The innkeeper and his family are friendly and helpful and the location is a stone's throw away from the town centre and a short drive to the lovely beach. The Inn is an old captain's house, and there is something really special about it. Breakfast is around a table with other guests, with yummy food served on pretty china. If we were to come back to Kennebunk, we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKVisitorLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

This was our second stay at the Maine Stay Inn. The owners are friendly and are doing a nice job with the inn which they purchased only a little over a year ago. We have only stayed in the cottages, which are small, but clean and comfortable. Only issue is that the a/c does not cool the unit very well. Bathroom is small but functional.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snobank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.5 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn
#6 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maine Stay Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Property: Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Address: 34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maine Stay Inn and Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Kennebunkport bed and breakfast inn offering a variety of luxurious accommodations within the quiet Historic District, just steps from the Maine Coast. Choose a meticulously restored room or suite in the Victorian Main House, or a spacious cottage suite, each beautifully appointed for discerning travelers. Romantic Cottage Suites offer plush beds, gas fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs, and many accommodations offer flexible floor plans for larger parties and girlfriends getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Maine Stay Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Hotel Kennebunkport
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing