We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly perfect Mini-Moon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Ranked #4 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I got married on March 15, 2014. We had friends and family stay with us until March 21-then it was our time. We chose the Maine Stay Inn and Cottages- we could not have picked a more perfect place. Judi and Walter were welcoming and warm. They had balloons waiting for us in our room to greet us. They were the host and hostess with the mostess! The breakfast were delicious- each day was a new delight! Each time we came into the main house - we were greeted. They provided us with wonderful places to go to spend our day. My words cannot do Judi and Walter- their entire staff justice. If you are looking for a wonderful get away -- this is the place to go. My husband and I are planning our next visit!

I worked in a 4 diamond hotel for 11 years- and I could not have been more impressed. The rooms were spotless. They made it look easy- they love what they do and it shows!

Room Tip: We stayed in Romantic Room 7- it was wonderful. It was perfect for a couple to just get away. We w...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 489susanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
There are newer reviews for Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 833 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

Judi and Walter are the perfect innkeepers. Attentive to all your needs sometimes before you ask.

Breakfast was a lovely sit down meal prepared with a lot of care and imagination. The main sitting

area was spacious and clean and our room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haroldb196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We escaped to Maine Stay Inn on a cold February weekend. Cottage 3 had been redecorated since our last stay and it is beautiful. Walt and Judi are wonderful hosts and always accommodating. We love the breakfast delivery and both breakfasts were tasty- especially the chocolate pancakes with raspberry sauce. Someday we will come during high season but peaceful season is just that. A relaxing weekend to recharge for the months ahead. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan10RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed there in January on a Living Social deal for two nights. The inn keepers are very nice and friendly and made us feel comfortable from the get go. They were knowledgable about the area and even offered to make reservations for dinner!

The cottage wasn't anything special from the outside, but inside was an excellent, modern suite with a king bed (very comfortable!) and kitchenette. The lights were all on dimmers, which was a nice touch. The only complaints we had were that the bathroom was always chilly even with the door open (it didn't seem to have its own heating source) and the fireplace had two settings, on & off, which led to fast overheating of the room when turned on (but that was nice when coming in from a chilly walk through town!)

We would definitely return for another trip in the winter or summer. A very nice experience all around!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kportinnkeepers, Owner at Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

We’re so sorry to hear that these guests weren’t entirely comfortable with the climate in their room and especially that they weren’t comfortable enough to ask us about the situation. Each cottage suite does indeed have a separate heating system for their bathroom with baseboard radiators controlled by a thermostat beside the bathroom door. Without such a system, the Maine winter weather would surely freeze the pipes in every bathroom! However, when guests are using the fireplace in their bedroom, the bathrooms can feel cold by comparison. Warming them up just means turning up the thermostat, which could seem strange when their room is already toasty. We would have been happy to explain this to them, if they’d asked. We also set the fireplaces to produce the most esthetically pleasing flame, but when used for an extended period of time, they can make the rooms quite warm. If they’d asked, we would have happily reset the system to put out less heat and produce a lower flame. All of us here at the Maine Stay are disappointed that these guests weren’t comfortable, when a quick call or text could have made the climate just right for their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Amazing Service and place to stay at. Like something out of a movie, this was a Wonderful experience, Everyone was so nice and felt like more than being at home. Also, so VERY CLEAN too!! THANK YOU!!
-Marc & Antonia

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had 2 fantastic nights at The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages. We had a room in the main house and our daughters had a cottage. Both were spotlessly clean and the hosts could not do enough for us.
Being the Prelude weekend it was very busy in town and Walt found us a restaurant on the Saturday night and was very helpful with directions and what we needed to do and see.
Breakfast is served in the main dining room or in your cottage and the choices were fantastic.
Afternoon tea with fresh baked goodies made sure we were back by 4.00pm

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brisdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I spent two nights and a day here with my SO for his birthday. I had purchased a deal on LivingSocial for Cottage #1. Upon arrival, we were greeted by two friendly workers. One gave us the rundown of the area - as we had never spent any time in Kennebunkport. He recommended restaurants, shops and told us about some local events. (A wine tasting, for one!) The other brought out some sparkling cider and a cheese platter for us to snack on. The room itself was spacious for two, nice and warm and very clean. It was equipped with a Keurig, a jacuzzi, a fireplace with a remote, an iHome for some music, and a mini-fridge.

The breakfasts in the morning were delicious. Both mornings started with a fruit of some kind - a broiled grapefruit was my favorite!

The location is within walking distance (5-10 minutes) of the town area where there are lots of shops and restaurants to choose from. We walked both nights (while it was snowing!) to dinner locations.

I would recommend the cottages to other couples who'd like a romantic getaway. You're treated extremely well. Everyone at the inn is friendly and they love to chat and share stories. We felt very welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelbooow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
649 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Jefferds Inn
Captain Jefferds Inn
#2 of 25 in Kennebunkport
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 25 in Kennebunkport
1,030 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kennebunkport
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maine Stay Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Address: 34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $238 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maine Stay Inn and Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Kennebunkport bed and breakfast inn offering a variety of luxurious accommodations within the quiet Historic District, just steps from the Maine Coast. Choose a meticulously restored room or suite in the Victorian Main House, or a spacious cottage suite, each beautifully appointed for discerning travelers. Romantic Cottage Suites offer plush beds, gas fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs, and many accommodations offer flexible floor plans for larger parties and girlfriends getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Maine Stay Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Hotel Kennebunkport
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing