We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““Relaxing Getaway with friends”” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Ranked #4 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
““Relaxing Getaway with friends””
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is the fifth annual trip two childhood friends and I have taken to the Maine Stay Inn to relax and catch up on each others' lives. We love "our cottage" where we can sleep comfortably and have a pleasant space to chat long into the evening. Judy and Walter provide such personal attention -- advice about the best new restaurants, directions to remote beaches to explore and delicious welcoming hot drinks and cookies on our arrival. We always linger over the scrumptious full breakfasts and the fun conversation provided by the innkeepers and the other guests. Meticulously clean and well appointed.

Room Tip: Some cottages are perfect for families and small groups of friends; other cottages are romantic for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    85
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
109
560
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

It was our first stay at the inn and it won't be our last. The room was beautifully appointed, delicious breakfasts, and all the small touches that made for a wonderful stay. The innkeepers and their staff were warm and welcoming.

Location was perfect- within walking distance to Dock Square.

Room Tip: if you are staying in the inn and on the second floor, pack light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

A beautifully decorated inn within a short walk from the village of Kennebunkport. Our room was clean and meticulously maintained. The innkeepers were friendly, gracious, and knowledgeable of the area. Breakfast was deliciously prepared and the proportions were generous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 758JimW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The innkeepers Judy & Walt are very welcoming. A cheese tray brought to our room on check-in was a very nice touch. The breakfast was delicious and hearty. We will definitely return to this delightful B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14 which has a private patio and a gas fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 40MaryB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The B&B was terrific, beautiful rooms,wonderful host and delicious breakfast. Unfortunately, the season doesn't start until mid-April. Many of the restaurants were closed and most of the stores. We couldn't even get a lobster dinner. I would highly recommend the Inn, IN SEASON.

Room Tip: For New England charm choose the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike landau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
122 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I want to thank the people who own and work at the MSI.It was an exceptional stay from start to finish.They have paid attention to the quality a B+B of this place deserves.
We stayed for 3 days and looked forward to the breakfast they prepared every morning.Excellent!!
We went in the off season so a large # of buisnesses are closed until after Easter,but every place we dined had really good food.
I must say,try the Maine Diner if you want the best Seafood Chowder you will ever have.Loaded with seafood,and the broth is great.Didn't try the lobster pie,but heard that was just as good.
Glad we choose the MSI,and we met a few interesting couples at the breakfast table too.
Highly recommend Maine Stay Inn

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Every winter we spend a weekend away to celebrate our anniversary. We visited Maine Stay for the first time three years ago and cannot imagine a better place to celebrate! Whether we stay for one night or two, the hospitality of the inn-keepers and staff is always exceptional. They are very accommodating and we love just checking in/out so we get a chance to chat with them. One of us is a vegetarian and one of us is gluten-free - a combination usually lethal at most hotels/B&Bs/restuarants. Here at Maine Stay they totally understand both diets (they have a family member who is also gluten-free!) and are more than willing to modify their delicious breakfasts to help us out. We always miss tea time, but I know last year they made a point to bake a gluten-free cookie for us! Beyond the breakfasts, they must have databases memorized in their heads for local food and attractions. Ask for skiing and they will quickly give you two or three options, gluten-free restaurants with vegetarian options? They have about five recommendations. Fun things to do in Kennebunkport? The list is too long to count. Always helpful, always courteous and always charming.

So far we have stayed in three different cottages and have loved each of them for their own reasons. The cottages are always quiet (great sound-proofing!), bright and sunny, and very cozy. The decor is very pretty. Each cottage is slightly different, but none of them have cheesy or tacky decorations. The cottages are definitely a home away from home and we always find ourselves asking if we could possibly stay just one more night... The rates are manageable, especially in the off season. Where else can you stay at a private - non-hokey cottage with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub for less than $300/night?

There are one or two other reviews about the inn keepers at Maine Stay that are less than favorable. This has NOT been our experience. In fact, when we arrived for our most recent visit Judi gasped and seemed so excited to see us. She almost jumped out of the little office area to say hi! Walter gave us the tour of our room, showed us how things worked and then gracefully excused himself. The other office staff and cleaning staff are always positive, helpful and engaging. Everyone greets you with a smile.

The last thing I think worth mentioning is that we are a gay couple and neither the inn keepers or their staff has blinked an eye at us or ever given the impression that they even noticed. Sometimes small New England towns are less than welcoming/accepting, but Judi and Walter treat us like two nieces!

Maine Stay Inn and Cottages has become our second home, the one place we find the most welcoming and inviting when we are not in our hometown. I know it sounds a little too good to be true, but it really is a little slice of heaven. I am already counting down until next year and trying to figure out if we can visit again before Thanksgiving!

Room Tip: My best tip is that the pictures on their website are accurate - so go with the room you like the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.5 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#9 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maine Stay Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Property: Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Address: 34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maine Stay Inn and Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Kennebunkport bed and breakfast inn offering a variety of luxurious accommodations within the quiet Historic District, just steps from the Maine Coast. Choose a meticulously restored room or suite in the Victorian Main House, or a spacious cottage suite, each beautifully appointed for discerning travelers. Romantic Cottage Suites offer plush beds, gas fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs, and many accommodations offer flexible floor plans for larger parties and girlfriends getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Maine Stay Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Hotel Kennebunkport
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing