We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Second Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Ranked #4 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this place for our first anniversary (2003) and headed back this year. We rented one of the cottages this time. The room was very clean and comfortable. There was a gas fireplace and heated floor in the bathroom (which also had a jacuzzi). The folks who checked us in were very helpful and gave us a couple recommendations. They delivered breakfast to the door and both days were amazing. One morning was carrot cake pancakes with some sort of cream cheese on the side, so good! The next morning was asian egg scramble in a wonton wrapper which was just as good. Great amenities all around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    80
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
105
535
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I just got home from a 2 night stay in cottage 3. When we first got there Duke helped us at check in. He gave us a map of the area and many helpful recommendations for dinner. The room was lovely and extremely clean, which is very very important to us when we go anywhere. There was a beautiful electric (or gas?) fireplace, huge whirlpool tub, and a king comfortable bed. They brought breakfast right to our room in the morning in a basket (how cute!) where we ate at the small bistro table in the room. The location is excellent- less than a mile to dock square with lots of shops and restaurants. Overall, we were very pleased and can't wait to go back. Many thanks to the owners and staff for a great experience.

Room Tip: Get breakfast delivered to your room...it feels like gourmet room service but it's already built...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Msmuriel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We try to make a visit to Maine Stay Inn an annual trip, but missed 2012, walking in the door this weekend and seeing Judy and Walter made me realize how much I enjoy this Inn. From Judy's sitting down with us and helping us decide on dinner reservations, and I will add we have never been steered wrong. I find this inn, warm and cozy and for us full of friendly faces that we have seen before. As always we stay in the cottages and they are again, warm inviting and most importantly, relaxing and romantic. The breakfasts are also just abolutely amazing, something I would expect in a high end resturant. I can't wait to return for yet another trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmcdld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Maine Stay Inn. We stayed in Cottage #5 which was beautiful. Perfect for a winter weekend with a fireplace, large jacuzzi tub, heated floor in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless. The breakfasts were excellent, plentiful and so nice to have it delivered to your cottage. The Inn is close enough to walk to shops and restaurants in Dock Square. Just overall a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I wanted to find a nice holiday retreat experiencing Maine for the first time. Upon doing considerable research, we were so fortunate to discover Maine Stay Inn & Cottages. Judi and Walter are wonderful innkeepers providing a variety of accommodations within walking distance to charming Kennebunkport. We elected to stay in one of the cozy cottages, although we will be tempted to try one of the lovely rooms in the main house next time. Either way, one thing we will definitely look forward to are the "to die for" breakfasts. It was great to have this time of the day to interact with other guests and share experiences and ideas. The accommodations, atmosphere, and overall hospitality were excellent and we greatly appreciate the effort Judi, Walter, and the entire Maine Stay staff provides at this Kennebunkport jewel. Thank you for adding wonderful memories to our first holiday visit to Maine!

Room Tip: The cottages are great for privacy, while the main house rooms are nice for the main house amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Maine Stay Inn was an excellent choice for our stay in Kennebunkport for the Christmas Prelude. You can't get a better place to stay with awesome food, hosts and ambiance. Their breakfasts are to die for delicious, rooms warm and inviting and the innkeepers are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bartnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We are repeat guests with Walter and Judi. This was our first year to come for Prelude. We have stayed in different rooms on the property this time we were in the newly remodeled #12! Two room suite with the best bathroom and shower you will find anywhere. The guests are a lot of fun! We spent 2 hours in a great conversation with several on Saturday night. We look forward to coming in the summer of 2013.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#12 of 25 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maine Stay Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Property: Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Address: 34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maine Stay Inn and Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Kennebunkport bed and breakfast inn offering a variety of luxurious accommodations within the quiet Historic District, just steps from the Maine Coast. Choose a meticulously restored room or suite in the Victorian Main House, or a spacious cottage suite, each beautifully appointed for discerning travelers. Romantic Cottage Suites offer plush beds, gas fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs, and many accommodations offer flexible floor plans for larger parties and girlfriends getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Maine Stay Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Hotel Kennebunkport
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing