We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (929)
Filter reviews
929 results
Traveler rating
795
94
24
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
795
94
24
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housethe cottagesmain staycottage roomcottage numberbreakfast deliveredmy husband and iother guestssmall kitchenwonderful hostsgas fireplacebed and breakfasteach morningnew englandshops and restaurantsdock squarecookies
Filter
Updating list...
612 - 617 of 929 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just left our stay at the inn - the place was very nice but don't stay cottage 10 - beds are as hard as rocks!!!! Other than that - very nice Inn. As for the Owner - she can use a little sweetness to her personality if you going to be in this line of business. Also - as a suggestion - I would display a menu of your typical breakfast - so people can say to you if this works or not. The breakfast did not work for me . A comment was made to our group - I wish people would have told them what like for breakfast - not very nice in her tone. So if you don't want devil foods pancakes .... email in. I was fine just having the coffee but could have live with out the comments. So the next day we made sure we left early - did not want a repeat performance. Can only speak for us - which we did leave saying - this was a lovely place but too bad the not so friendly inn keeper ways put the damper on our stay.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Took430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kportinnkeepers, Owner at Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

My daughter’s favorite book growing up was Alexander and the Terrible Horrible, no Good, very bad Day. Saturday I felt like Alexander. The inn was fuller than it had ever been. All sofa beds and aero beds were used. 47 guests for breakfast, the most ever. I planned a festive Christmas menu especially for the young at heart. Homemade devils food pancakes with hardly any sugar, topped with homemade raspberry sauce, mint leaves and a dab of whipped cream, scrambled eggs, sausage. The plates looked gorgeous and festive. As I was serving guests began announcing their food allergies and dietary issues to lactose, eggs, wheat, and meat. We request this information 7 times during the booking process and make it clear we need advance warning. I was very frustrated that I could not handle the last minute dietary issues. Apparently I was unable to hide the stress of the situation from my guests and did not appear like my normal warm self. I also apologize for not posting our menu in advance, we normally do this, but it simply got overlooked by my front desk staff with the overly busy weekend. Thanks for reminding us how important this is.

Your comment about our new mattresses being too hard is unfortunate. Mattresses are a very personal thing, some like them hard and some like them soft, but I can only say we do not ever have old and tired mattresses on this property.

It is too bad that I put a damper on your stay, as I had put tremendous effort into making Christmas Prelude special for you and all of our guests. A negative comment such as yours is taken seriously. Thank you for letting me know I did not fulfill your expectations. Constructive comments help me become a better innkeeper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

How refreshing it was to meet fellow travelers over a delicious (and may I add gluten free) breakfast at the Maine Stay Inn. The innkeepers were more than accommodating to the dietary needs of their guests. In today's hurried world there was no rush to leave the table as Judi and Walter attended to their guests - even sitting down for a bit to chat. You never know who you will meet or what you will learn and the conversation at the table was lively - everyone had a happy story to tell. Fall is a wonderful time to visit Kennebunkport - walks are quiet and brisk. I wish I had more time to spend at this happy place - I am enticed to return to have more Kennebunkport discoveries as there is so much to see.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riptide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a weekend at the Main Stay Inn in Kennebunkport. We loved everything about the inn, from the warm, cozy atmosphere in the comfortable room to the old-word charm of the house itself. The innkeepers, Judi and Walter, were so accommodating and helpful with everything, including dinner suggestions, that they added greatly to that charm. The gourmet breakfasts were a delicious way to start our Saturday and Sunday. All of it, combined with great weather, made for a perfect weekend. We shall return!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loneranger1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have been going to Kennebunkport for over 10 years. We have tried many Inns....this year we fell in love with the Maine Stay. We stayed in both cottage 3 and 7. Cottage 7 was perfect, spacious, comfortable bed, fireplace, and large jacquizzi tub. Breakfast was delivered to our cottage each morning, how nice to wake up to breakfast being served. The food was original and delicious. Walt and staff did an amazing job, always warm, inviting, and helpful. They even helped my husband order gorgeous flowers. We will back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My cousin and I recently stayed in Cottage #10 at the Maine Stay Inn. Judi and Walter made our stay truly great. They are so very accommodating and informative about places to see and restaurants. The breakfasts in the morning were delicious. The cottage we stayed in was clean and bright and fit our needs just right. The Inn is located in a great spot and close by to shops and restaurants. I have stayed in several bed and breakfast inns and I have to say it ranks at the top. Thanks to Judi and Walt for making us feel welcome, like we had known them for a long time rather than just meeting.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulfcoastgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews