We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful first B&B experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Ranked #4 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our accommodations were lovely in the main building, very clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were outstanding. The innkeepers, Judi and Walt, were friendly and accommodating.
We would definitely come back and would highly recommend it to our friends. Pete and Joan

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanie318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 859 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have to agree with the review further down. I was so disappointed. On entering the room, there was a terrible musty smell and everything felt damp, even the bedding. The owner's social skills left a lot to be desired. Breakfast was just plain odd. Couldn't wait to leave the place. This was the worst hotel of our whole New England trip.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere - really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CavaChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kportinnkeepers, Owner at Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

One of the things guests really look forward to when visiting Kennebunkport is opening all the windows and breathing in the fresh, ocean air. That works wonderfully, until they leave for the day and unexpected showers roll in. Under all the wrong conditions, you've got rain and mist blowing directly into a room with wool carpets and 100% cotton bedding. Left all day with a "Do not disturb" sign on the door so we can't remedy the issue, it is possible to return to a cold, damp room (and what is worse than a wet wool rug?). We do our very best to be accommodating and available, with long office hours and ways to reach us by phone and text anytime, we hope that a guest would let us know if they experience some kind of issue. If we couldn't remedy it quickly, we would have moved them. However, if we aren't aware of the issue until after they leave, we can't really fix it. Unfortunately, that is exactly what happened here.

We also take great pride in providing inventive, gourmet breakfasts. The goal is to serve something you won't get at home, but because some folks like to stick with more standard fare, we always have homemade granola, a selection of cold cereals, and fresh fruit available. Furthermore, we give visitors six or more opportunities to let us know if they have any special dietary needs that we should work around (which we are more than happy to accommodate), but if they don't tell us, we can't prepare for it. Sometimes we come off as unaccommodating when people ask for "just some toast", but since we bake all of our breads, if it wasn't already on the menu for that morning, we really don't have any. Let us know in advance that you like toast, and we'll happily oblige!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I don't know what else a B&B could offer over what the Maine Stay Inn provides. It is in a great location within walking distance to the town. The husband & wife owners could not be more accomodating and professional. The rooms are romantic with bedding and linens fit to be featured in Better Homes & Garden. First class breakfast on top of everything else. Only regret is that we did not stay longer. Compliments from Gary & Janice

Room Tip: The Captain Walker suite was romantic and flawless. From what we could see the cottages may be a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I had a geat 5 night stay. We stayed in the garden room which was extremely clean and homely. We also had a decking area outside which was exclusive to our room. Walter, Judi and all the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts were very special and different every day. The amenities that Walter and Judi include are beach chairs which are ideal to use for a picnic on the beach ( a super deli in the town). The Mainstay is within easy walk of the shops and some restaurants. Kennebunkport is ideally situated to explore the surrounding towns including Portland and Portsmouth. Oganquit is a beautiful town with a picturesque cliff walk, lots of shops and a beautiful beach. Walter and Judi were great hosts and extremely accomodating.

Room Tip: Room 14 is the garden room and can be entered by the side of the house as well as via the front door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Don't stay here! The rooms are musty and the bathroom is smelly! The owner is grumpy and VERY unaccommodating. There are so many better places to stay for the same amount of money. This in is a glorified motel. Yuk!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citygirl12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We are 3 friends from Philadelphia who visited during the week before Labor Day. We have never been to Kennebunkport and we were so glad we selected The Main Stay Inn. The location is the best and we either walked everywhere or the things we wanted to do were a short drive.

We stayed in the cottages and enjoyed our wonderful breakfast up at the Inn/Main House. The owners were lovely and we enjoyed having fun kidding around with Judy.

The staff is wonderful also and very helpful. They know the area and make great recommendations for places to dine and visit including the wonderful beach at Goose Rocks. We definitely recommend the Inn and we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Everyone at the amine stay are so wounderful to know. They great breakfasts like baked eggs sausage plus fresh fruit too. I love staying in the cottages i sleep soundly too. i alll so went to the wells resevre for a few hours it a great to take walks and learn a great deal thier too. i was in Maine for my birthday that week. i stayed #4 and #5 cttag. This my third time this year one time i went for a r and r weekend and i stay in#9 cottage i feel very happy to be thier.

Room Tip: number 5 cottage is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ediejenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kportinnkeepers, Manager at Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thanks, Edith! It was so nice to celebrate your birthday with you this year! Hope all is well and we'll catch up with you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kennebunkport hotels
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 25 in Kennebunkport
1,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Jefferds Inn
Captain Jefferds Inn
#2 of 25 in Kennebunkport
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
#11 of 25 in Kennebunkport
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn
#5 of 25 in Kennebunkport
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maine Stay Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Address: 34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $172 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maine Stay Inn and Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Kennebunkport bed and breakfast inn offering a variety of luxurious accommodations within the quiet Historic District, just steps from the Maine Coast. Choose a meticulously restored room or suite in the Victorian Main House, or a spacious cottage suite, each beautifully appointed for discerning travelers. Romantic Cottage Suites offer plush beds, gas fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs, and many accommodations offer flexible floor plans for larger parties and girlfriends getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maine Stay Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Hotel Kennebunkport
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing