We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveler rating
10
9
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
9
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor dock square other guests bob suite tv furnishings boston
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 23 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2017

When we first pulled up to this inn my heart sank as we had just come from an exquisite inn in Boston and the exterior looked a little scruffy in comparison however I quickly changed my mind. We were met by Bob the owner, a charming man, who showed us to the Knowles Suite on the top floor. The room was very cosy if a little dated but the bed was huge and very comfortable. You have to tell Bob whether or not you want breakfast and this is served at 9am on the dot. The breakfast was fabulous. You sit around a very nice laid table and have the opportunity to meet the other guests. We hit it off with a lovely and very interesting couple from Charlotte. Bob comes in and chats to you at breakfast and he is full of interesting anecdotes and recommendations in respect of the local area. Guests have the run of the rest of the house which includes a lovely living room. The guest house is literally a few steps from Dock Square, and everything else Kennebunkport has to offer so no need to use car. Kennebunkport is AMAZING and I'd have no hesitation in returning. The Chetwynd is excellent value for money and we really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank L8always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

Bob the Inn keeper met us at the door & explained his keyless entry system which was easy & convenient. We opted for the king bed on the top floor which had it's own bath. The room was large and clean with skylights & an AC unit to cool us down at night. We were able access the Wifi easily with the clearly printed directions he made available to us. Bob made some great recommendations for restaurants and cocktails all within walking distance. We also confirmed the option for breakfast which you can not miss! We came down in the morning to fresh fruit, orange juice and a bakery item plus coffee & tea. Bob then asked what kind of eggs we would like and served us freshly cooked eggs, bacon & toast. Amazingly delicious breakfast! Bob is very friendly and accommodating. My only criticism is there is no room for a door at the top of the second staircase which intersects the bedroom & bathroom. It was not a problem while we were there because we were the only guests.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Kvitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2015

Rooms are old, but spacious and nicely furnished. There is not really much to do at night, but there are a couple of nice bars and restaurants in walking distance. The highlight of Chetwynd House is the breakfast (all guests sit at one table), with special eggs prepared by the owner himself!

Room Tip: there are not many rooms. I don't know how the other rooms looked.
  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2015

I found this charming B&B through TripAdvisor and had a very pleasant experience. there are some negatives but it is a place worthy of a stay. The house is very old and interesting. The owner was there waiting for my arrival. I booked the Seavey Suite which I think is the largest room on the premise but all Kennebunkport was pretty much booked. The room had 2 rooms and a private bath. It was very well appointed in tune with the ambiance at the B&B, clean and bed was comfortable (I only slept on one bed). There is no housekeeping unless you ask (and pay) for it, however, there were enough clean towels and even a hair dryer, I advise you bring soap and shampoo. Breakfast is strictly at 9AM. It is basic but I found it was more a social event than a gourmet meal. It was nice to get to know the other guests and chat a little. Location is unbeatable, other friends staying at very fancy hotels, had a rough time moving around without a car while I was very much at a walking distance to key places. Wi Fi is included and you're pretty much by yourself as there are no employees and the owner leaves after breakfast.

On the negative side, it was too expensive. I understand it was one of the few rooms available that weekend but compared to the luxury hotels I visited during my stay, it was a pretty steep tab. I also found myself being bitten by god-knows-what, during nights, although I slept very well. A very quiet street. I would go back there if the price is right compared to the very nice hotels around Kennebunkport. Loved the experience!

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank adragonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Host was very pleasant and hospitable. Unbeatable location. Cute, old house. The room had a very awkward set-up, with the bedroom and bathroom on either side of a stair case that is open to the house. Knowles, Jr. "suite" not good for tall people--my 6'1 husband kept bumping his head. Very bare bones, and lack of attention to detail, i.e. no bed skirt, so box spring was exposed. Dirty chairs were covered with fabric swatches. Daily housekeeping was optional and cost an additional fee. Breakfast was mediocre, no choices, you get what you get and you feel compelled to eat it because you are being watched. Everything was cooked in butter/ grease. Maybe this is just because it's Maine, but there were many bugs, mostly spiders, inside the bedroom and bathroom. Would not return despite the great location.

Room Tip: Do not stay in knowles jr suite if you are tall.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _Hayley_600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews