We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in all ways”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Lord Mansion
Ranked #3 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yarmouth, ME
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Outstanding in all ways”
Reviewed October 26, 2008

I had the chance to visit the Captain Lord Mansion while visiting Southern Maine with my Mom. WOW! was all we could say. It's superior in all ways. Filled with beautiful artwork and antiques, the inn features a spa, two living rooms (one formal parlor and one casual TV room), a great gift shop - more like a gift store, and a full wine list with exceedingly reasonable prices. Free wi-fi is available throughout the inn, and each room comes equipped with a refigerator filled with complimentary soft drinks and waters.

Two things stand out in my mind about this visit. I loved the lavish bath with the heated marble floors and shower with body jets. We stayed in the Callender room, with a gas fireplace and huge four poster king bed, it was great. The other thing that I was moved by was the Memory Garden. Each time a guest celebrates their tenth visit, a stone is placed in the garden with their name on it. The stones wind their way around a beautiful fountain. It's amazing to think all those people have visited 10 times.

Kennebunkport has so much to do, but I can tell for many people, just being at the Captain Lord Mansion is all you need for a relaxing, wonderful getaway.

  • Liked — lavish bathrooms, complimentary afternoon refreshments, great breakfasts, gift shop
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CousinsIslandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    47
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
42
775
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2008

We stayed in the Calender room on out first night in New England. What a wonderful start to our holiday. The Hotel and room were superb. The hotel is within easy walking distance to Kennebunkport centre. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a delicious with a chance to meet and chat with other guests. If going back we would return to Captain Lords Mansion without hesitaion and it deserves its enrty in The Distinguished Inns of North America, Select Registry.

  • Liked — Quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

My husband and I traveled through the New England states last week and stayed in 6 different accomodations. We absolutely enjoyed our stay at the Captain Lord Mansion. We stayed in the Lincoln room. It has a king bed and 2 large overstuffed chairs in front of the fireplace. It was very spacious and decorated with beautiful antiques. We felt very comfortable in the room and the inn was quiet. We could walk to everything as it is centrally located in Kennebunkport. The breakfast was wonderful featuring home made muffins, fruit and french toast. We ate in the dining room which was festive. Lots of detail to attention. We recommend the Captain Lord Mansion! Alice and Karl

  • Liked — Charming location, very well maintained B&B
  • Disliked — No TV in room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AandKIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

We stayed in the Champion room which had an enormous marble bathroom, the biggest we experienced in our three week tour of New England.

Great room and excellent hospitality. Very helpful staff who spent time summarising their own experience of the surrounding restaurants to help us decide.

Breakfasts OK apart from the communal dining table. I need time to come round in the morning and whilst I'm happy to socialise I prefer not to have to do it first thing!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We had a terrific stay in the Lincoln room at the end of August for 2 nights. The room was beautiful and the bed was great. The Mansion was within walking distance to the town and shops, which was a plus. We enjoyed the breakfast and meeting some of the others vacationers. The decor of the Mansion was even more than we expected, which was great. We would definitely like to make a return visit.

  • Liked — All of the beautiful decor
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puffin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2008

This was our third stay at the delightful Captain Lord Mansion. The common rooms are warm and inviting; the bedrooms are just wonderful...full of antiques and homey touches; the staff is very welcoming and helpful; and the complimentary full breakfast is sinfully delicious! The Mansion is within easy walking distance of the downtown area but is located in a lovely residential area so it is very quiet. We definitely plan to return!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank SukiBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2008

Maine is beyond description.
The rooms at the Mansion are terrific.
The breakfast is superb.
The staff and management are the best !!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank ladodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Property: Captain Lord Mansion
Address: 6 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain Lord Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Captain Lord Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Lord Mansion Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing