We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 1st Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain Lord Mansion
Ranked #3 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Captain Lord Mansion for our 1st Anniversary. We opted to stay in the Captain's Garden House which is a separate building behind the Captain Lord Mansion and I honestly really would recommend this. The Captain's Garden House gets you all the perks of the mansion but in a smaller more intimate setting. We had breakfast with at most 3 other couples (I believe the Captain's Garden House only has 4 bedrooms) whereas in the mansion things are much louder and I think there are 10+ rooms.
Our room was great, very cute. The bed, especially the bedding, was SO soft and comfortable. My only complaint would be that we were slightly disappointed with the "private jacuzzi" that was advertised for our room (the Nathaniel). It was basically just a bigger tub with jets and it was slightly hard to get in and out of since the walls of it were so high.
The staff were super nice and accommodating. We also got a couples massage which was so worth it (definitely recommend the hot stones!).
The location of the mansion can't be beat. You're about a 5 minute walk to downtown so we literally parked our car on Friday when we arrived and didn't use it again until leaving on Sunday.
Lastly - the highlight for us was breakfast on Sat and Sun morning. The Captain's Garden House had our own cook and breakfast was served at 9. We had fresh fruit, yogurt, and granola both mornings. Additionally on Saturday we had HOT blueberry muffins, waffles, potatoes, and soft boiled eggs. On Sunday we had warm sticky buns, STEAK, and a feta, tomato, and onion souffle. Plus coffee, tea, and orange juice. This was all included as part of your stay and I literally can't speak highly enough of the food. The cooks rotated and both girls were so nice and were happy to switch out parts of the menu based on your dietary needs. Such a great way to start both our days in KPT! Also left out in our Captain's Garden House were snacks all day, coffee + tea, lemonade, iced tea, and in the fridge were complimentary sodas and water. It really was a great place to stay.
I highly recommend staying here if you're looking for that B&B feel. It was our first stay at a B&B and yes, it's very different from a resort but totally worth it to try something new! (Note there is no pool just FYI)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nathaniel which was in the Captain Garden's House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bananon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Stoughton, MA. Thank you for your very through review and positive comments about the Captain's Garden House. We are pleased that you enjoyed your "First Anniversary" getaway with us. It is true that the Garden House offers more intimacy that the main inn; however, as you aptly explained, the hospitality and service is the same, regardless of which building you choose for your visit. We sincerely hope you will try us again for your 2nd Anniversary! Rick Litchfield, your innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in the Champion room. Very impressive furnishings, fireplace, huge whirlpool bath, plush towels & robes, beautiful grounds. Really exceptionally nice. Excellent breakfasts, snacks & desserts in the afternoon, and hot & cold beverages all day. Great for a special treat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blondie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear New Bedford, Thank you for your positive review. I don't know if you knew that I was raised in Fairhaven, MA just across the river from your city. I don't get back very often, but I do love the Whaling Museum in New Bedford! I look forward to speaking with you on your next visit. Rick Litchfield, your innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The perfect relaxing Inn of Historical Decor and beauty .Wonderful country breakfast seated at beautiful Dining table or in country kitchen .Each room beautifully appointed in luxury comfortable surroundings.Our room looked our toward the ocean.working g fireplace in each room .perfect on a cool night.
Afternoon tea or gourmet coffee ,home made cakes ,cookies fine cheese and after dinner liquor
We meet the most wonderful guests Some returning to celebrate a 5th,10th,35th , 30 visit to their favorite Inn .We were celebrating a milestone Birthday celebration our best trip ever.
Our Inn a Keepers were charming and caring that each guests ditsy would be perfect .Its was !

Room Tip: Second floor elegant rooms a first floor anniversary or wedding suites They sure all just beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Newton, Thank you for sharing your "milestone birthday" with us, we have many guests who choose the Captain Lord Mansion for the many different celebratory getaways. We really appreciate that because we know guests have high expectations for those occasions. We hope you can join us again soon. Rick Litchfield, your innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

A year ago, Rick Litchfield and Bev Davis, innkeepers of the Captain Lord Mansion (CLM), generously donated an overnight of lodging to the Sanford-Springvale Rotary Club's TASTES OF THE SEASON - wine tasting and charity auction. My wife and I were pleased to purchase the gift certificate and last evening, we had the pleasure of staying at CLM. When experiencing CLM, one will realize that NOTHING IS LACKING!!!
From the parking lot, walking up the path through beautiful flower gardens, into the foyer and then up our room - The Ship Ophelia, the surroundings and the appointments were all first class.
This morning, we were treated to a wonderful breakfast and were able to chat with people "from away" and learned that many were long-time visitors to CLM, and thrilled to be back there again. There is no adequate way to express my gratitude to the innkeepers and my admiration for what they have accomplished at CLM.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LakeRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Shapleigh, Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased that you were able to experience our inn through the Charity Auction donation. We are quite selective in which charities we support and being a former Rotarian myself, I always do support the Sanford-Springvale one. We hope that potential guests who read your review will note the many touches which made such a memorable visit for you. Rick Litchfield, your innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

When we need a quick escape to Maine our thoughts turn to the Captain Lord Mansion It will just take one visit and you will be hooked. Nothing sterile or modern here. Each room is tastefully decorated in antiques and updated baths (nothing dated) in keeping with the architecture of the home and New England. Heated bathroom floors, gas fireplaces and TV's are in every room. And the chocolate chip cookies that greet you on arrival are yummy. Take a look around and you will always see the innkeepers , Bev and Rick, at work updating their Mansion. This is truly a sign that they really care about the comfort of your stay ( 36 years and going strong).
You will be greeted by Sue in the kitchen who will remember all your like and dislikes and help you with any local shopping and restaurants. Truly a help to all.
We have been here 26 times and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: The Garden House has been our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackandleona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Jack and Leona, Thank you for this superlative review and mentioning the continuing upgrades we make to the inn each year. Each December, Bev and I go through each guestroom and all the public areas to determine what needs to be attended to. Over the past few years we have tried to simplify decorative touches to allow for more space for guest's personal items. Also, we have changed out upholstered pieces and carpets which were worn. Additionally, Bev and our maintenance person have been doing much of the restorative painting. We look forward to your next visit. Rick Litchfield, your innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Visited again this past March for our 29th visit and experienced the same high standards of hospitality and attention to detail that keeps us coming back for the past 25 years. We were there with three other couples this time so we stayed in the Garden House which is perfect for 4 couples because with that many people even talking in normal voices I feel can disturb other guests so it works out well for a larger crowd traveling together. The rooms are beautifully appointed and breakfast was delicious as usual. This is our favorite place to come when we want to unwind and just relax and have some peace and quiet. We have stayed in all the rooms at the main inn and the Garden House (Phoebe's House) with the exception of 4 and all are beautiful although Champion is our favorite. We always come off season, usually winter and fall because we love the atmosphere and coziness of the inn. We sent our son and his wife last year as a gift for their first wedding anniversary during Christmas Prelude and they are now hooked as well. We are planning to return in November to stay in the main inn to celebrate my husband's birthday which we have done for most years. I cannot end this without mentioning the exceptional staff, always professional but friendly and helpful without being intrusive. We love the breakfast cook, Sue, she is a gem. She is so welcoming that we almost feel like we are coming home when we see her, not to mention her scrumptious breakfasts. Even if we are not staying in the main house we never miss an opportunity to walk over in the morning to say hello to Sue. See you in November!

Room Tip: Champion is our favorite but you will be happy with any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debdam56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Boston, Thank you for your thorough and extensive review. We are truly grateful for the many guests such as yourselves who have been staying with us for so many years. This summer we began our 37th season as innkeepers. Also, thank you for your mention of our superb staff; Sue truly is a gem. She remembers all the guests and their special dietary needs and wants. As long as our health warrants we look forward to serving you for many years to come. Rick Litchfield,your innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We just stayed at the Captain Lord Mansion with Rick and Bev. The gift shop is wonderful. We had the best time sipping chocolate wine with other guests, chatting by the fire. Our bed was a high princess bed with steps up to it. I was wondering if I might stumble out of it in the night but no, I did fine and it made me laugh to hop off the big bed like a child. The Innkeepers and staff were warm and adorable. We felt so welcome. Can't wait to return.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kimmeekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Bethlehem, NH, Thank you for your positive review. Yes, guests love our complimentary chocolate dessert wine which we serve every evening. Bev doesn't like chocolate and questioned whether it would be well accepted by guests! Well, it has been a winner! The high beds all have step stools to make it easy getting in and out and safer too. We look forward to your return. Rick Litchfield,your innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
23.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,448 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Kennebunkport
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Address: 6 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $231 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain Lord Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Free Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Captain Lord Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Lord Mansion Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing