We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Lord Mansion
Ranked #3 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
boston area usa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Perfect place in Kennebunkport!
We spent 4 wonderful nights in the Captains Quarters at the Captain Lord Mansion. The room was gorgeous, clean, with a brand new, modern bathroom. We loved the grounds, the delicious hot breakfasts, and all the special touches...home made snack in the afternoon, tea and coffee all day long, luxurious linens and decor. It was a 10 out of 10 among the many inns we've stayed at in the area. A beautiful, romantice place to enjoy a vacation.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chloelue930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    45
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
36
760
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Just stayed at the Captain Lord over Labor Day weekend in the Nathaniel room - it was beautiful. The room was spotless and the bathroom is reason enough to book this particular room. The jacuzzi was a wonderful way to relax after a day of shopping and dining. I recommend staying at this inn if you need a luxurious get-away!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJSNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsfield, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the CLM to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We found it using Trip Advisor and all of the great reviews are more than justified! We were warmly greeted by the front desk staff, as well as Bev and Rick, upon our arrival. The room was beautifully decorated and was absolutely spotless! The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the location is great - an easy 5 minute walk to downtown Kennybunkport. The staff was extremely helpful, booking reservations for dinner and giving suggestions as to things to do. Breakfast was great and we really enjoyed the company of the other guests. We have stayed in a number of highly recommended hotels and resorts, however the CLM ranks as the nicest place we have ever stayed. We will certainly go back!

  • Liked — Rooms were extremely clean and well decorated
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BJMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2008

Great property. We stayed in the Lincoln room which was beautiful. Towels were incredibly plush and the bed was amazing. Would return again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC-triptaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

The Captain Lord Mansion came highly recommended. It was absolutely beautiful. The pictures don’t due the inn and rooms any justice. Breakfast was delicious. There are two seating times for breakfast and there are two big tables in the kitchen and you sit with others staying at the inn. We enjoy meeting new people, so this was a bonus. There is a 24 hour coffee machine near the kitchen, along with a few snacks.
We stayed in the Mousam room. It’s located on the 3rd Floor. There is no elevator but the walk up the stairs was worth it. The room was beautiful! The inn provided a CD player and cd’s in the room for your enjoyment, as well as a few books. The bed was very comfortable; the only thing I didn’t quite like was that it was high off the floor (above my waist). I had to use the steps they provided to climb the bed and it got a bit difficult using it in the middle of the night. Everything is totally spotless, they even had a dual shower with hydro-massage body jets. That was definitely a nice touch. The bath towels were thick and the room was air conditioned. Other then the high bed and no television in the room (there is a tv in the basment for all the guests to use), everything was spectacular. I would love to return in the fall/winter so that we can use the fireplace.
The staff at the inn was extremely friendly and helpful.
I’m looking forward to returning again …. And soon :)

  • Liked — Romantic, cozy
  • Disliked — Bed was very high off the floor
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Travel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
282 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

My husband and I stayed in the Oriental Room for 2 nights after a week hiking up in Acadia National Park. We wanted to relax and feel a little pampered, and we definitely got both. The room was beautiful and huge. The jacuzzi bathtub was great, and the bed was king size and so comfortable! It was extremely quiet once inside the room, so we felt like we were in our own little world.

Breakfast was done communally in the kitchen. I could do without the communal aspect, but the breakfast was delicious and we had several choices. I especially loved the lemon sesame muffins.

I had a stone massage, which was excellent. My husband relaxed in our room with some wine he bought at the front desk (they have a nice wine selection).

The staff was very friendly and eager to help with whatever we needed.

Our only complaint is that there was no TV in the room. My mistake for overlooking that on the website, but it was a bit of a disappointment, especially since the bed is so comfortable, you just want to kick back and watch some TV. But we did a lot of reading instead. I think a lot of guests ask about the inn getting TVs so maybe this will change. Also, the WiFi does not work everywhere and did not work on our laptop.

A good restaurant to try in town is The Hurricane, we had a really nice lunch there. We also went to the White Barn Inn, which is very expensive but amazing, on par with the best restaurants in Manhattan.

  • Liked — Large room, comfort, breakfast.
  • Disliked — No TVs, WiFi that didn't work in our room, a little overpriced.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chris72206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

Bautiful old sea mariner mansion in the heart of Kennebunkport. Walk anywhere from this spot. Terrific grounds and a well maintained mansion. The rooms are large and spacious, and our bathroom was immense, with both a grand tub and a shower with two pedestal sinks.
The breakfasts were superbly prepared and the staff were truly interested in making your stay both at the mansion and in the area one to be remembered.

We were humbled as a first time visitor to learn that another guest had been at the mansion 16 times! Thats a sign of a great B & B. You cannot be disappointed here!

  • Liked — The spacious and well decorated room
  • Disliked — No TV in the room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltoomuchToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.4 mi away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#13 of 26 in Kennebunkport
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Jefferds Inn
Captain Jefferds Inn
#2 of 26 in Kennebunkport
786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 26 in Kennebunkport
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Property: Captain Lord Mansion
Address: 6 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain Lord Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Captain Lord Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Lord Mansion Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing