We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“20th Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Lord Mansion
Ranked #3 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“20th Visit”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Once again the Captain Lord Mansion exceeded our expectations. The beautiful rooms, the friendly staff and delicious breakfasts always provide a magical experience. This time, Rick and Bev surprised us with a lovely unexpected "20th visit" gift which we will enjoy using. Thank you, we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Vivienne, What can I add to the fact that you have visited the inn 20 times? Thank you for your comment that coming to the captain Lord Mansion is a "magical experience". As I write responses to each review, I am thrilled about the consistency of positive guest comments about the overall experience which they find here. Bev and I will celebrate 36 years as innkeepers in June this year (2014) and we have always had the goal of creating something extra special. We are truly grateful so many of our guests recognize that and appreciate our and our staff's efforts. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    45
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
38
766
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I had the pleasure of spending our wedding night at the Captain Lord Mansion in the Lincoln bedroom. Everything about this B&B is top flight from the beautiful room itself, to the helpful and efficient staff. The breakfast the following morning was a delight and it is easy to see why this place is one of the great attractions in Kennebunkport. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Captain Bob, Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate it when locals experience the inn. It was our delight to host you on your wedding night and that the inn met your expectations. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have stayed at this romantic and fine inn five times now and it never fails to charm. The beautiful rooms are decorated with exquisite detail and the staff are so inviting and helpful. They post a listing of guests in the lobby and there are always more returnees than first timers. And no wonder why - their consistency for quality, homemade cookies and more waiting in your room, cleanliness, warmth and signature hospitality. I highly recommend this inn for special occasions or even getaway weekends when you need it the most. You will feel most pampered. There's lots to do in the area any time. We attended the cooking school demonstration and meal at Stonewall Kitchen this time, less than 30 minutes away - a perfect weekend pairing with the Inn. The owners obviously take great pride in their Inn. We've been going since the mid 90's and it continues to deserve its well earned reputation.

Room Tip: Check out all the rooms online - some are larger, reflected in the price. Even the smaller ones ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Lois, Thank your for your thoughtful and extremely complimentary review. Yes, most of our guests in the "Quiet Season" are repeat guests. Your five visits make you half-way toward an engraved brick in our "Memory Garden". Also, thank you for mentioning the Stonewall Kitchen Cooking Classes; we have a Captain Lord Mansion guest coupon for a 10% discount to those classes. We appreciate your comment about the "consistency" of the experience here; especially since your visits have been over an extended period of time. Bev and I have our staff to thank for making those guest experiences so consistent. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We heard a radio ad and took a chance to stay at the Inn. We were wonderfully surprised by the ambience and warmth of the service personnel.
The Inn is so very attractively decorated. We toured the rooms and they are all wonderful. The breakfast is a terrific event...food, warm Sue and Kayla. It is served family style and at days end snacks available. The owners are in their 35th year and really know how to make it warm and wonderful. We are going back in the fall.

Room Tip: No pool so disregard rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Allan, Well, we are thrilled to know that our radio advertising is working and that the inn fulfilled your expectations. This is another review which we'll share with Sue and Kayla. They both are terrific cooks. In addition to afternoon snacks, we offer a chocolate wine each evening for a little dessert before retiring for the night. We look forward to your next visit. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We've visited Captain Lord Mansion a half dozen times now. Twice for my birthday. Whatever your vision of a romantic B&B might be, the mansion exceeds it. From the warmth and coziness of the main dining/gathering room to the exquisite details in the bedrooms, this place has it all. Sue, the chef creates breakfast you will never forget. Bev and Rick have envisioned and then created the most ultimate B&B imaginable....

Room Tip: Rooms are all incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Freddy and Lucile, Wow, you are another couple who have visited the inn 6 times and are over half way toward your Memory Garden" brick. Thank you for your very complimentary comments about our inn exceeding your expectations. That is a tribute to our staff who works very hard to keep the inn experience warm and friendly. Also, I will share your comments with Sue, she appreciates such accolades. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have visited the Captain Lord Mansion 6 times now. We mostly go off season in November or February,
People ask us why do you go to Maine in February? My answer is the Captain Lord Mansion.
Warm, friendly, comfortable Bev and Rick are wonderful hosts making all feel welcome. The staff is exeptional.
Every visit we meet new people and share the many wonderful experiences of the inn, the wine tastings, the breakfast and most of all the great rooms.
We will be back.
Bev and Rick thanks so much for saving this piece of history and allowing us to share it with you.
Look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Glenn, We truly appreciate your 6 visits and this supportive review. You are over half-way toward your engraved brick in our "Memory Garden". We love your comments "warm, friendly and comfortable" because we believe that those characteristics set the Captain Lord Mansion apart from other choices travelers have in this area. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, Maine
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2014

A sincere word of thanks to Rick and Bev, the innkeepers at The Captain Lord Mansion in Kenebunkport, Maine. We just enjoyed our second stay at your wonderful inn and loved it so much, we decided to bring our friends along next time.
The staff at The Captain Lord Mansion makes every effort to insure that even the smallest of details are simply perfect. Thank you ALL.
Just a quick mention of what to expect if you are planning a stay at CLM:
First off don't miss breakfast, it will likely be one of the most memorable parts of your stay. The menu and food, like everything else at CLM, are carefully selected to add just another level of perfection to an awesome stay. It is also a great way to meet other people as well as their entertaining and talented chefs.
The mansion and garden house are impeccably decorated with much thought and attention to detail. Be sure to explore each floor, as there is something interesting around every corner, and in every nook and cranny.
Be sure to check out the unique gift shop downstairs.
We have stayed in the Dana and Mousam rooms and both were fantastic. All the rooms offer heated tile floors in the bathrooms and really nice his & hers robes. No matter which room you stay in you are going to feel pampered. The beds are wonderful, and although high, come complete with step stool, which you will likely need!
The rooms and inn are decorated very richly. Antiques abound everywhere, as does the inn's wonderful artwork, most of which is available for purchase.
We can't wait to return again, and plan to make it a regular stop for many years to come.

Room Tip: Each room is very unique. Some have larger baths, tubs, etc. If you are having trouble picking a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark16_15-18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Mark, Thank you for your very thorough and complimentary review. We especially appreciate your mention of Bev's Gift Shop. Many of our guests tell us that her prices are quite reasonable and she has many unusual offerings. Also, thanks for your helpful and encouraging comments about our breakfasts. We look forward to your next visit. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#13 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Jefferds Inn
Captain Jefferds Inn
#2 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Property: Captain Lord Mansion
Address: 6 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain Lord Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Captain Lord Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Lord Mansion Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing