We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Lord Mansion
Ranked #3 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
central NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Truly Lovely”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Unfortunately we were only able to stay one night, but it was a truly lovely experience. The location is perfect - no need to drive into the village. The inn is wonderfully decorated to maintain its sea captain feel. Breakfast was superb. The room in the garden house was charming. And the staff made you feel as if you were staying forever and not just one night. One night - just enough to make us want to return soon.

Room Tip: Rooms in the garden house are roomy and comfortable. Ours had a gas fireplace and heated floor in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoVeinncentralNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Central NY, Thanks for your encouraging review. Yes, the rooms at the Captain's Garden House are a slightly smaller version of those located in the captain Lord Mansion, but they are equally well-decorated and furnished with the same fine amenities, such as the heated bathroom floors and gas fireplaces. We appreciate your taking the time to review us. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    46
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
40
773
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I chose the Captain Lord Mansion after finding it online and learning that family had stayed in the past and recommended it. After visiting this location myself I couldn't agree more with them. The staff was incredibly courteous all around. The concierge was able to guide us to enjoyable dining locations, the cleaning crew were polite and efficient and the kitchen staff were amazing at their craft and made you feel like family. Breakfast each morning with the other guests in a family style setting was exactly what I had hoped for.

Last on my list of compliments is the room. For a quiet romantic weekend away from the kids one could not ask for a better appointed room to lounge, read, enjoy a glass of wine or the company of one's partner. The decor was classic while the bed and bedding were divine. One couldn't sit in this room and not find one's self relaxed.

Captain Lord Mansion will be our go to anniversary location going forward and we cannot wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Mike, The best advertising is a referral from family or friends; we are thankful that we came so highly recommended and that our staff met your expectations for friendly service and hospitality. Many couples do choose us for a short romantic getaway; we hope to see you again, the next time you have such a need! Your Innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We added a visit to Kennebunkport and our stay at the Captain Lord Mansion on the advice of friends who knew we were touring New England. Of all the places we stayed over 14 nights, this one was the most beautiful, the friendliest and the best service.

I couldn't say enough good things about the Captain Lord Mansion - our every need was attended to. Very good value - a beautiful room and wonderful friendly service during our visit. And a wonderful breakfast with other, lovely guests. We promised to return. And hope to do so for Christmas!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSK1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Terry, Thank you for your review and the many positive aspects of your stay which you mention in the review. We truly appreciate that you found that :this one was the most beautiful, the friendliest and the best service". We strive for our guests to have that kind of experience and are grateful you found the Captain Lord Mansion fulfilled your expectations. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We enjoyed the location within easy walking distance of the village stores and restaurants. There are nearby to the beaches and to President Bush (41)'s home. Large table at breakfast with set times meant we got to meet other guests for enjoyable conversation. Food was very good. Lincoln bed has step stool for a boost - not recommended for very short people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limitedfixed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Scottsdale, Thank you for your review which mentions our convenient location. Many of our guests love the fact that we are within easy walking distance of the shops, galleries and restaurants. Yet, we are also in a quiet residential neighborhood, so there is little or no traffic noise. During three seasons, we have extensive lawns and gardens to enjoy. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Capt. Lord Mansion. Every detail was attended to in this elegant B&B. The breakfasts were delicious, the room was very comfortable, and the staff was helpful! We will long remember our 14th anniversary in Kennebunkport, ME !
Cynthia and Murat

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Cynthia, We are thankful for your review and "thank you" for choosing to spend your 14th anniversary celebration at the Captain Lord Mansion. We hope to have you come back for a future one! Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky, Montana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed two nights in the 2nd floor Champion room. Everything was perfect, from the heated bathroom floor, the gas fireplace to the comfortable king bed. Breakfast was delicious and very filling. We would definitely stay at the Captain Lord Mansion again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Nancy, Thank you for your recent review. We are appreciative of your positive comments and that you would make a return visit to the inn. We are grateful that you mentioned breakfast and the room amenities which impressed you. I love Big Sky, I have skied there! Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night in the Ophelia room earlier this month. What a treat! The B&B is surrounded by a lush, beautiful lawn, and is absolutely gorgeous inside. There are areas to relax by the fire, snacks and drinks in the kitchen to enjoy all day, and a delicious breakfast in the morning. Our room was private and spacious and made us feel absolutely pampered. I ordered chocolate-covered strawberries in advance, and they were a lovely surprise for my husband. The B&B has a great location with easy walking distance to nearby shops and restaurants, on-site parking, and a friendly staff. Our only regret is not staying longer! Definitely a special trip for a couple.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Catherine, Thank you for your delightful review of your visit to the Captain Lord Mansion. Bev and I are pleased that you enjoyed the chocolate covered strawberries. They are just one of the several items which guest may pre-order to enhance their visit. We also have cheese and fruit platters as well as a nice selection of afford-ably priced wines from which to choose. We hope to have you visit again soon. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,622 reviews
19.0 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#1 of 1 in Cape Elizabeth
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Property: Captain Lord Mansion
Address: 6 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain Lord Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Captain Lord Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Lord Mansion Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing