We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain Lord Mansion
Ranked #3 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

we felt very welcomed at this inn. the innkeepers go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. we enjoyed our room, our fireplace and the breakfast.

some of the others staying at the inn seemed to want to let you know that they were regulars. conversations among the guests were expected. we felt that if we did not join in, we would feel uncomfortable.

the inn is within walking distance to the local shopping. we enjoyed our walks.

Room Tip: check online before you book, as photographs of the rooms are available
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank preppygirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Michigan, Thank you for your review. Yes, our "family style" breakfasts do encourage conversation and guest mingling. We also have a large living room which we call a "Gathering Room" because most guests enjoy meeting and talking with other guests. However, you can certainly find quiet personal space in our rather large guestrooms or other "private" spaces such as the cupola or the inn's extensive gardens. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
There are newer reviews for Captain Lord Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We returned for our 5th visit to the CLM - we can't say enough how wonderful this B&B is. A single descriptive would be 'Elegant'.

My wife and I try to make it here for our anniversary when possible- and it is the perfect place to do so! If I could give the rooms a '6' I would.

The attention to detail at this Inn is remarkable, the food is delicious and mixing with the other guests is an added bonus.

I do, however, miss the funky self serve coffee maker. I know it was unreliable, but it was fun to watch.

Room Tip: Sorry, no, I want our favorite room to be available for our anniversary trip!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papabear0276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Papabear, Thanks for your terrific review. We appreciate each of your comments about the various aspects of our inn which you enjoy. We too wish the other coffee machine was reliable. Oh well, the fact is the company that supplied the machine was phasing them out anyway. The new machine is the internationally known "Nespresso"; it makes great coffee. See you soon. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I spent a magic get away at The Captain Lord Mansion and now the big decision is ..do we go back this spring or summer or maybe both. The inn is beautiful and the attention to every possible comfort for the guests is done with grace. We stayed in the Oriental Room which was amazing -sunny, spacious, filled with beautiful antiques, and offering the the warmth of a gas fireplace. The luxurious two person soaking tub in our room, with heated tile floors and a generous supply of wonderful thick towels, made for a perfect end of the day indulgence. We haves stayed in fine Inns from Maine to California and the Captain Lord Mansion is perhaps the most lovely and comfortable we have discovered.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Lynn from Damariscotta, Thank you for your exceedingly complimentary review. It makes us and our staff feel proud when we can exceed guest expectations. Thank for for mentioning the many aspects of your visit which appealed to you. Since you are so close, we look forward to your next visit. Rick Litchfield, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We've been to the Captain Lord 16 times, and every visit is just as wonderful as the first! The rooms are amazing and comfortable and the breakfast is not to be missed! We were finally able to see our brick in the walk this time because the snow had melted enough, which was a treat. (They put a brick with your name in their sidewalk after you've visited 10 times). We're already looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirldv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Whitinsville, Wow, 16 visits; we truly value your business and your wonderful review. Years ago we were friends with the couple that used to own the Victorian Inn in Whitinsville. In fact, we visited them during our early years here at the CLM and copied some of their guest amenities. Unfortunately, that inn was sold and no longer operates as an inn. But, we have good memories, as you do from staying with us. We appreciate that. Rick Litchfield, Innkeeepr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place is amazing. It was our first visit and will not be our last. It was an awesome experience. The service is second to none and the facility is kept in pristine condition. Even in the winter months Kennebunkport is a great destination. The breakfast was incredible. Everything was fresh and really great tasting. Can't wait for our next visit.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank peteouels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Pete, Thank you for your glowing review. Many of our reviews are from frequent visitors, so it is especially rewarding to have a first time visitor extoll our inn's virtues. From reading your comments, we hope you too will become a frequent visitor! Rick Litchfield, your innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was our fifth stay at Captain Lord. We are always greeted back like old friends with cookies. This year, our fifth visit, we were presented with a very thoughtful gift and cookies. We are looking forward to returning next year at this time for a nice winter getaway. John & Ann Marie

Room Tip: Rooms look exactly like pictured on the web sight.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear John and Ann Marie, Thank you for your encouraging review. We truly appreciate your 5 visits and look forward to many more. Also, thank you for mentioning that our website pictures are accurate; what you see is what you get! Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was our second visit to the Captain Lord and it didnt fail to impress! We stayed in the Garden House and it was wonderfully appointed. The breakfasts are wonderful and we had a wonderful wine tasting on Saturday night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Jennifer, Thank you for your review and mentioning the wine tasting. We do a complimentary wine tasting the first Saturday of each month from January through May. This is a good time for Bev and I to meet guests, share a little knowledge about our wines. Also, we share some of the fun stories from our 35 years as innkeepers. Your innkeeper, Ricvk Litchfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
257 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Address: 6 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $237 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain Lord Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Free Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Captain Lord Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Lord Mansion Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing