We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Captain Lord Mansion
Nearby Hotels
Nonantum Resort(Kennebunkport)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhumb Line Resort(Kennebunkport)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Kennebunk)(Great Value!)
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King's Port Inn(Kennebunk)(Great Value!)
$169
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa(Kennebunk)
$290
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tides Beach Club(Kennebunkport)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kennebunkport Inn(Kennebunkport)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colony Hotel(Kennebunkport)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveler rating
999
50
11
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
999
50
11
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb blincoln roomoriental roomchampion roomheated marble floorsmy husband and iregulator roomsoft boiled eggother guestsgathering roomfamily stylekeep coming backsoufflegas fireplacebathroom floorbed and breakfastcheese and crackers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
539 - 544 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was our second visit to the Captain Lord and it didnt fail to impress! We stayed in the Garden House and it was wonderfully appointed. The breakfasts are wonderful and we had a wonderful wine tasting on Saturday night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Jennifer, Thank you for your review and mentioning the wine tasting. We do a complimentary wine tasting the first Saturday of each month from January through May. This is a good time for Bev and I to meet guests, share a little knowledge about our wines. Also, we share some of the fun stories from our 35 years as innkeepers. Your innkeeper, Ricvk Litchfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Every year for the past eleven we have traveled to this jewel on the first weekend after New Years with our friends. This year was no different. A king size antique bed, and a gas fireplace. A tastefully decorated room with an overstuffed love seat and reading chair. Enough room to host our small group of friends for a pre-dinner bottle of wine. And a bathroom that greets you in the morning with a heated tile floor and aerating soaking tub... Rick and Bev have gathered a staff of the most friendly and helpful people you will find in a Bed and Breakfast. Speaking of breakfast,,,, They are unbelievably good.. If you have high standards for the Inns you stay at, this will exceed them. If you've never stayed in an Inn before, this should be your first... but not the first weekend after New Years. That one is ours.
Pete and Deb Smith

Room Tip: My favorite room is "Champion"
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Pete and Deb, Thank you for this superlative review. You mentioned just about everything a prospective guest could want to know about our inn experience. We truly appreciate reviews such as yours. See you next year. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This trip was about going away for Christmas. It made being away from home for the holiday extremely comfortable. We met some really great people and enjoyed spending the evenings in The Gathering Room by the fireplace with fellow guests and having a wonderful time. Can't say enough about CLM. It's our home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tvanluvanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Doylestown, Thank you for both your many visits and this great review. Everything about the Captain Lord Mansion is accentuated at Christmas time due to the energy of the staff, the enthusiasm of the guests, the extensive decorations and the spirit of the season. See you soon, Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We're looking forward to our 5th trip back. What more can you ask for than a beautiful property and a friendly staff located in a charming town? Make sure you climb to the top of the cupola with your mate and a cup of hot cider for a beautiful view of the town.

Katie and Michael

Room Tip: Stay in Merchant Suite at least once.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Barrington, RI, Wow, another frequent vistor! Thank you for your review. Also, thank you for mentioning the Cupola to which I referred in another owner reponse. It is an out-of-the-way place in the inn to enjoy a glass of wine or bubbly! See you soon for your 5th visit. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our 9th stay at the Captain Lord and we have never been disappointed. Their attention to detail is unmatched. Our first breakfast of four Sue noticed that my husband and I traded bowls of fruit at breakfast and later in the day when she saw us she asked him what he didn't like. Rather he had more blueberries than I did and he knows how much I love them so he switched with me. Every morning after that Sue had filled my bowl with blueberries! We enjoy staying at B&B's but none every come close to the services we receive at the Captain Lord. Bravo to Rick, Bev and staff for continuing to take such great care of their guests.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Badpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear New Hampshire, Thank you for this review and sharing the story of how attentive Sue was to your breakfast needs. She is a gem and has a computer-like memory about guest likes and dislikes. On your next visit we'll have your engraved paver situated in our "Memory Garden". Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews