We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 15th Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Lord Mansion
Ranked #3 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our 15th Visit”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We recently spent another wonderful visit at the CLM 12/13-12/16/12. As usual we always look forward to staying at the CLM and have never been disappointed. It truly feels like our home away from home and a lovely escape. Bev and Rick are outstanding innkeepers - very considerate and thoughtful with their room designs and Bev's decorating skills are amazing! We always look forward to seeing changes/updates made. Sue's breakfasts are the best - as is her great service and personality - she is a treasure!! It's also so nice to visit our favorite restaurants and say hello to the long-time servers and owners once again. All things considered, the CLM sets the bar for any other B&B wherever we go - and it's a high one!!! Thank you for sharing your inn with all who are lucky enough to visit. Wishing you all the happiest of holidays and a happy, healthy and successful New Year. Pat & Bill, MA.

Room Tip: If you're not familiar with the rooms, read all descriptions on their website and speak directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 685978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Pat and Bill, I guess that 15 visits says a lot! Thank you for your loyalty and this fine review. We appreciate your mentioning Sue and her culinary abilities. We are in the process of making small additions to the rooms where needed, a new couch here and a new chair there! Additionally, we are replacing the jetted shower in Mary Lord with one that won't leak. Your innkeepers, Bev and Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    46
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
40
773
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We have been going to the CLM for several years and love many aspects of the inn. First, the people are outstanding. They know how to make you feel comfortable and welcome so that you look forward to your next visit. The innkeepers, Rick and Bev, pride themselves on constantly improving the experience of staying at the CLM. They accomplish this by traveling to other B&B's and adopting ways and features that work. The decorations at the CLM have to be seen to be appreciated. They show extraordinary taste and provide an ambiance that is classy, fascinating, inviting and comfortable.

Breakfast is important for any B&B and the CLM is hard to match. Sue combines her imagination with her talent for preparing great breakfasts that always include fresh fruit, yogurt, terrific cereal mix as well as soft boiled eggs and fresh baked muffins. Breakfast is a group experience at which the guests have a chance to meet one another and share their experiences.

So, what could be wrong? Why not 5 stars? Over the years, we have seen substantial renovation projects at the CLM. I don't think it would be possible to find more comfortable beds, or more luxurious appointments in the rooms. The staff has to be complimented for keeping the rooms and the bathrooms sparkling clean. So, that's not the problem.

The problem is simply that some of the bathrooms have physical limitations. We no longer stay in our favorite room because the toilet in the bathroom has such little space around it that a larger person has difficulty using it.

The CLM is an old building and it probably is not possible to provide for both the space and the amenities in the bathrooms that the room rates might imply. Go there anyway. We certainly will return for years to come.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obapwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Seaford, NY, Thank you for your review which we truly appreciate. I am grateful for all your positive comments. Also, we do appreciate your mentioning the physical limitations of some of our baths. Bev and I will take a hard look at your favorite room this winter and see if we can't rectify the toilet issue. We have been able to do some amazing things in the past with space limitations! Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have just returned from our 23rd visit to the Mansion. We were fortunate enough to have been able to attend the festivities of Prelude, although this is not what brings us here to Captain Lord. Even the rain did not dampen the spirit of the lighting of the tree or the beautiful fireworks.
Over the years we have seen the love, care and dedication that Bev and Rick have put into this stately B&B. There is always a project or renovation underway. We find it hard to understand why someone would give a bad review, but everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Bev and Rick must be doing something right that brings guests back 12, 23, 30 and even 93 times .
We look forward to seeing our name on the entry hall list and where other guests are from. Every visit we look for our brick and for Sue in the kitchen who remembers everybody . From Sandy who greets us to Kayla and Holly in the Garden House . Look around and you will see Dave outside who will also shovel the snow off your car.
The breakfasts are bountiful with many choices and the afternoon snack seems to be everyones request for the recipe .
The rooms are decorated with the charm of New England and we even had a Christmas tree in our room.
We feel blessed to have stayed here and to see the same friendly staff.
IT IS LIKE COMING HOME AGAIN.
Jack and Leona Needham

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackandleona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Jack and Leona, Thank you for your very personal and supportive review and mentioning our dedicated staff. We are grateful that many of our guests recognize and appreciate the improvements we make to the inn each year. We do not believe in "milking" the Mansion; but rather making re-investments which will continue to provide an enhanced guest experience. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just got back from a return visit to the Captain Lord. The Mansion was decorated for Christmas and it is absolutely beautiful, (it always is anyway, but the holiday decorations are enchanting). Add the charm and beauty of nearby Dock Square - can it get any better?! Each guest room had it's own little tree, coupled with a beautiful room and cozy fire, you can't help but feel relaxed and pampered. Bev and Rick and their staff excel at spoiling their guests with special touches and warm hospitality. It is so peaceful here and we have always found the other guests to be friendly and interesting. The snacks and 24/7 beverages along with delicious breakfasts only add to the total enjoyment of a visit here. Check out the rooms on the website, (some of the bathrooms have jetted showers that are to die for!), to pick one that will delight you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfmMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Senior Contributor, Thank you for your encouraging review. We do try to create a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere for our guests. We really try not to be intrusive into our guests space and time; however, we are always readily available to assist in planning daily activities and giving directions. Also, thanks for mentioning our jetted showers! Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Hands down the best B & B we stayed in on our trip thru New England. The sheets are so comfy you won't want to get out of bed. The breakfasts are wonderful. We met such nice people from all over the US at breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear PA, Thank you for your positive review. The fact that you visited many inns during your Fall trip and rated ours the "best" thrills us. Also, thanks for mentioning the comfortable sheets; we get many compliments on our bedding. In fact, we sell our sheets in our gift shop. We hope to see you again. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our 4th stay at CLM. We celebrated our 3rd anniversary. We have stayed in a different room each time. It wasn't until our second year that we realized that there are books in each room to write a little note about your stay. Reading about other's experiences was wonderful. We certainly will be continuing to visit CLM annually.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ange S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Albany, We are so pleased that you have become regular visitors and also, we appreciate your positive review. Bev and I enjoy reading the "Memory Books" which are located in each guest room. Many times we are brough to tears when we discover the circumstances surrounding a couple's visit to the inn. We'll be sure to read your entry! Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intervale
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Another great stay at the Captain Lord Mansion... They take such good care of the guests. Rick and Bev are welcoming. They were completing the Christmas decorations as we arrived. What delightful decorations. It took several wanderings around to see them all. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious. We enjoy the quiet and comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms on the web site. They are well described. Each has its unique character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmoreskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Intervale, Thank you for your positive review and encouraging potential guests to check out guest room amenities on our website. Additionally, when calling for a reservation, we suggest that guests ask questions about our rooms and how each room's unique amenities might best meet your needs. Each one of the Mansion's guest rooms is different! Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,622 reviews
19.0 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#1 of 1 in Cape Elizabeth
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Property: Captain Lord Mansion
Address: 6 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain Lord Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Captain Lord Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Lord Mansion Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing