We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Lord Mansion
Ranked #3 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous ...”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just spent a 4 night vacation at the Mansion. Last year did 3 nights (the more the better). Terrific attention to detail throughout the Mansion. Plus, they always arrange the weather to be perfect during our summer stays.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Baltimore, Thank you for your recent visit all the way from the mid-Atlantic area. Loyalty from such distances is especially meaningful to Bev and I. We know that you have many lodging choices along the way. Thanks for choosing us and we'll keep the inn in tip-top shape until your next visit. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    45
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
38
766
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, MA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We enjoyed a 2 nite stay here for a wedding last year. It is a wonderful place to stay. The owners are very friendly and accommodating to the guests. We definitely will go back. We stayed in the fall and plan on returning in the summer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haverhill_MAKenMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Haverhill, Thank you for your declaration of our standing among B&B's in Maine; we truly appreciate you effusive praise. We try hard to offer clean, comfortably decorated rooms that may be unmatched by many inns. Also, we hope that our friendly staff makes guest visits exceptional too! We do look forward to your next visit this fall. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

It was our first visit to Captain Lord and Kennebunkport, and it won't be our last.
Everything about the inn is warm and inviting. The rooms are beautiful, the food great and you can't beat the warmth and hospitality of everyone involved with the place.
We definitely look forward to our next visit.

Linda Gordon and Bill Cattorini

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear South Carolina, We host many guests from the south and we love your accents and gentle ways. Thank you for your positive review. We try to offer inviting, warm and genuine hospitality. You Southerners really know about that kind of hospitality, so we are truly grateful to receive your encouraging comments! Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We just enjoyed our 15th stay at the Captain Lord Mansion; our first during the summertime. We have yet to find another B&B of its calibre from the attention to detail and quality throughout to the beauty and comfort of the inn and surroundings. It is a perfect location for exploring the town, the oceanfront and lovely drives to neighbouring areas. Bev and Rick ensure that continual updates keep the inn fresh and the staff all understand their philosophy of quality and make every effort to ensure a wonderful holiday. The linens seem new every time, the extras like having wine available at reasonable prices, the quiet atmosphere, well appointed rooms, homemade cookies for returning guests are all things we enjoyed. Kennebunkport is full of charm and there are so many excellent restaurants close by that it is difficult to make a choice on where to eat; needless to say, the desire to try them all will keep us coming back for future visits. I noted the comment below about the owners not being present during a visit. In our 15 stays, Bev and Rick were mostly very visible but on a few occasions were taking much needed R&R time. What we noticed though is how well the inn runs even when they are not there - a real tribute to their mangement style and excellent staff!

Room Tip: Every room is beautifully and uniquely decorated - you will want to keep coming back to try each one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Port Dover, Canada, Thank you for your glowing review. Your 15 visits have come over many years; thus, you have seen the many changes we've made to the inn over the past 34 years years. We truly appreciate your patronage and friendship. Thank you for pointing out the many things which we believe set us apart from the choices guests have among other B&B's when coming to Kennebunkport. We look forward to seeing you soon! Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I made our first trip up to Maine in July 2012 and stayed 3 nights at the Captain Lord Mansion to celebrate our 3 year wedding anniversary. With all the B&B's around it was hard to make a choice but we are so happy with our decision. The location was just perfect. The room was great, spacious and very BIG bathroom. The breakfasts were just amazing. The service was impeccable. And the extras, like wine and cheese in the afternoon in the garden just made us feel so comfortable and welcome. And the free bicycle rentals really made it so easy for my husband and I to get around the town and to get to the beach. The best form of transportation in the area. If we are ever to come up to Kennebunkport again, this is the place we would stay!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank khp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear New York City, Thank you for your encouraging review of our inn. We truly appreciate your mentioning the many aspects of your visit which you found enjoyable and which met your expectations. Thanks for mentioning our complimentary bicycles which are the best way to get around town in the busy summer season. Also, if you take the bikes to the beach, you don't need a parking pass! We look forward to hosting you again at the inn, perhaps for your 4th anniversary! Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was one of our favorite vacations. We stayed 8 nights and didn't want to leave. A quick walk to downtown Kennebunkport was so convenient. Between the wine tasting, breakfast outside, quiet evenings, beautifully decorated rooms, and the fabulous treats, we will be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpleFrog70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Germantown, Thank you for your positive review and for your 8 night reservation. That is much longer than the usual length of stay for the average guest, so we really appreciate that your visit was so enjoyable that you are planning on returning next year. We look forward to that return visit! Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed Wednesday through Saturday, June 20 - 23. Directionally challenged arriving in Kennebunkport, we called the front desk who cheerfully guided us to a perfert landing, and that is the story of our stay, perfect. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The house is fascinating to explore and the grounds provide space to rest, congregate and socialize. The staff is wonderful. They accomodated our requests and had plenty of suggestions to help enjoy our stay. Breakfast in the kitchen is a great way to meet other travelers and exchange experiences and hear recommendations for eating and other adventures. It is no surprise to us now that many couples return again and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windjammer2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Windjammer, That is a nice play on words! Thank you for your positive review and mentioning the many aspects of your visit which were enjoyable. Yes, the Captain Lord Mansion has many places to explore, from the cupola to the hallways, to the gift shop to the spa, each area offers interesting architectural vignettes. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#13 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Jefferds Inn
Captain Jefferds Inn
#2 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Property: Captain Lord Mansion
Address: 6 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain Lord Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Captain Lord Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Lord Mansion Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing