We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Anniversary and Mum's Day ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Lord Mansion
Ranked #3 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Standish, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Anniversary and Mum's Day ever!”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I just don't know where to start because we had the best experience and I would like to be sure to include all of it! We went for Mother's Day weekend which was wonderful because it was 'stay two nights and get Mother's Day free.' We didn't think we would be able to take advantage of the free night but we ended up staying because we were just so impressed with everything and so relaxed from the pampering that we couldn't resist!
I will start with the Staff: Amazing, all of them! Everyone we encountered that worked at the Mansion was super helpful and extremely friendly from housekeeping to kitchen staff to office staff. The Owner went out of his way to touch bases with us at least three times and even gave us a bottle of wine that he thought we might enjoy (we did!). Our room was unbelievable. We stayed in the Union Suite and really didn't want to leave. Was a bit apprehensive that it was on the 3rd floor, but was not a problem at all. We slept so well. The king bed was super comfy. Staff made sure to give me extra pillows as I had been recently diagnosed with an inner ear disorder and could not lie flat. Even sleeping upright was comfy! lol! Running to the bath during the night was a pleasure because the heated tiles kept your toes from getting chilly. The HUGE Jacuzzi (double size!) tub and shower were amazing. I can't stress enough how clean the rooms were too. Not a speck of dusk anywhere. Special touches that were over the top were stocked mini fridge, Ipod doc with radio/alarm/charger, flat screen tv with cable/chocolates/champagne/flowers/ super soft sheets and down comforter. Then you got to eat breakfast each morning with the other guests. I was alittle apprehensive about this as I am not a big talker/socializer in the morning (let alone getting up early) but they offer early breakfast at 8:30 and one for us late risers at 9:45. Perfect! The food is so good--all homemade: muffins/fresh fruit and yogurt/granola/we had home made stuffed french toast and 5 min eggs one morning, then the next was homemade sticky buns (yum!) and egg souffle and small steak and then next was potato pancake with ham/egg and cheese sauce. Awesome! You could sit in the kitchen or in main dining room. We did both and enjoyed both experiences. Meet some wonderful people and laughed lots. Really was fun. Also need to mention how after roaming the town or going out to eat we would return and find all kinds of goodies in the kitchen for us to snack on: cheese/crackers/cake/iced tea and more.
In the end I am sure I missed all kinds of things, but I wanted to say how my husband enjoyed himself. He is not one to travel and when I mentioned a B&B he cringed. When we were leaving he told me I could not have picked any place better and how much he enjoyed his stay. I am sure we will be visiting again! :)

Room Tip: Not sure how to help someone pick a room because it can be very difficult. They are all AMAZING so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mom04084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Mainiac, Thank you very much for your thorough review. It seems to cover all aspects of your stay in great detail. We hope that potential guests take the time to read your extensive comments because those words explicitly outline the many aspects of what we believe are the essential elements of a visit to the Captain Lord Mansion. Your experience is typical of what new guests will find at our B&B. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    48
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
43
790
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Captain Lord Mansion for our 5 year anniversary. With a 2 year old daughter and another baby on the way, we needed a place that we could go and just share some time together as a couple rather than as "Mom and Dad". The Captain Lord Mansion was perfect! The amenities were better than advertised; our room was immaculate and the staff did more than we could have asked for to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We loved the breakfast each morning - a 3 course meal and time spent with the other guests was an excellent way to begin each day. We WILL go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Atlanta, Thank you for coming all the way to Kennebunkport and the Captain Lord Mansion for your 5th anniversary. Also, thank you for this terrific review. We are grateful that your getaway without children was so special and relaxing. We look forward to your next visit. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Staying at the Captain Lord Mansion was everything that we expected it to be and more. It was absolutely beautiful, relaxing, and comfortable. We really didn't want to leave. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous and very "homey", yet elegant. The beds have incredible sheets and comforters, the shower (with 6 shower heads) was a dream, the fireplace in the room was so romantic and amazing for having while lounging on the couch (if you so desire). The town surrounding the mansion is gorgeous. There is a lot to do if you use your creativity. Some activities around town are expensive, but if you are on a budget you can still have a lot of fun (going to the beach, riding bicycles, having a picnic, horse drawn carriage rides). The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts were amazing and delicious. I loved the feeling of being with old friends while sitting around the breakfast table. And a little secret that I learned: don't be afraid to ask for more food (they are very generous)! Despite the rooms being a little expensive, trust me it is worth every penny, especially if you have never been before. My boyfriend and I are a younger couple, and we still had a fantastic time there, it was incredibly romantic and beautiful, I would recommend it to anyone. We would love to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Westbrook Maine, Thank you for your very thorough and thoughtful review of our inn. You touch on many areas of a guest experience that we believe set us apart from other lodging choices in the Kennebunks. Because Bev and I have been innkeepers for such a long time, we are especially heartened that younger guests are discovering the Captain Lord Mansion and finding our inn meeting their expectations. That you for your review. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmundston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is a wonderful huge inn filled with antiques. Excellent service. Nice perks like on site spa services, nice wine selection you can order for your room, superb 3 course breakfast. Only thing that some patrons wouln't like: community breakfast. If you want a private breakfast with your loved one this is not the place.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewBrunswickChampoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear New Brunswick, That you for your review. You are correct about the breakfast not being intimate; however, the family-style breakfast is loved by most of our guests because you get to meet such interesting (and fascinating) people from all over the world. We appreciate your review and calling us a "lovely romantic inn". Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2012

What a wonderful 3 days we had at the Captain Lord Mansion. It was everything we had hoped for and more. The staff (especially Sue) was wonderful and our room was fabulous! Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snady8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Sharon, Thank you for your very enthusiastic review. We can't wait to have you return to "wow" you some more! We love to read that we met or exceeded guest expectations. Thank you very much! Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The Captain Lord Mansion was simply outstanding. The staff could not do enough for you; the food served at breakfast was delicious (and the cook a joy); the room was beautiful and amenities many; the landscaping was beautiful (and the fact that it's located at the top of a beautiful green that goes down to the river just added to the pleasure); and the Mansion was located very close to the wonderful shops and restaurants of Kennebunkport. A walk along Ocean Ave. was a wonderful way to spend time and see the wonderful rocky Maine coast. This was my first visit to both Kennebunkport and the Captain Lord Mansion but, given the wonderful treatment, I expect to make it a yearly visit to the Mansion.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Nancy, Thank you for your "outstanding" review. Our staff loves their work here and it shows in their genuine, friendly interaction with guests. You mention the many things that set us apart, especially our convenient location within a short walk to Dock Square, the center of many of Kennebunkport's tourist activities. We too hope you'll be a yearly visitor; you will earn an engraved stone in our "Memory Garden". Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapleville, RI
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We've been travelling in the area at least annually over the last 18 years and have stayed in some nice places, but none have been able to deliver the experience that Captain Lord Mansion did. Personal touches (guest list) anniversary champagne and chocolates, rooms that look every bit as they do in the photos, gave us a favorable impression upon arrival. Owners Rick and Bev have really created something with their quests that keep them coming back again and again. It wouldn't be uncommon to have breakfast with guests who were staying there for their 10th, 15th or even 20th time. All say the same thing...there's nothing to beat the beauty, comfort and warm feeling of this well-maintained and "modern" historic mansion.
We will be joining those who are able to call themselves repeat guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Mapleville, Thank you for your encouraging review, especially saying that we are the "best". We truly appreciate feedback such as this from our guests. Yes, we maintain the historic nature of this wonderful old building, but we have provided lots of modern conveniences and tasteful modern amenities. We look forward to having you as one of our "regulars"! Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
255 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
293 reviews
23.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,394 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Property: Captain Lord Mansion
Address: 6 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain Lord Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Free Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Captain Lord Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Lord Mansion Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing