We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“CHRISTMS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Lord Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain Lord Mansion
Ranked #2 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“CHRISTMS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Great christmas trp the inn made us feel like home for the holidays will be going again ...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOANNE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    43
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
31
692
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
378 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Another visit to CLM for excellent service and very comfortable rooms. Sue and her team prepared great breakfasts!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

This is our second Christmas spent at the Captain Lord Mansion. Every Thing about the Mansion is superior! The two rooms that we have stayed in were impeccably decorated. The bed's are found to be extremely comfortable...& the heated marble bath floor's were very inviting .

The Staff I would have to say is the reason we keep coming back to the Captain Lord Mansion !! Every inquiry is meet with such sincere pleasantries.

I look forward to our next stay at the Captain Lord Mansion!!

The Hunter's ...from Maryland.

Room Tip: The Oriental is on the first floor in the main house very good!! The Daniel is in the Garden House a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Baltimore, Christmas is a time for giving and receiving. Bev and I are truly thankful for positive reviews such as yours. We are so pleased that you received our staff's sincere attitude of service and giving. Hopefully the staff reflects the desires and modeling by us, the owners and innkeepers! Of course, we try to make sure we carry this level of service the entire year. Have a blessed year and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Generally speaking, I am not a fan of B&Bs; honest austerity of a hotel, or even a motel, gives me comfort and peace of mind. However, our kids sent us this gift certificate, and we decided to give it a shot. One night stay in Captain Lord Mansion dramatically changed my perception. Granted, there was nothing dramatic about that night, or the day before, or the morning after (no pun intended), but this warm and fuzzy feeling that took over me when we stepped into the reception area, and then continued to our room, never dissipated, and, in a way, it's still here. Of course, I should mention excellent service, fabulous location (the ocean is just a short drive, or a long a pleasant walk away), great sheets (!), very inviting room, decorated with a great deal of taste, unbelievably therapeutic jetted tub, cute little shops in the area (again, not a fan, but most people are), wonderful, unpretentious food... But, first and foremost, it was a great escape: we visited a different time, not just a different place... Strongly recommend for those who's in a dire need of change of pace and peace of mind.

Sarah A.

Room Tip: The stairs might be a challenge for some folks; if you have a choice, try a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Massachusetts, Wow, we are thrilled that you found such peace and relaxation here at the Captain Lord Mansion. Bev and I have tried to create such an atmosphere, but one never fully knows if you are successful until a review like this. The time of year from late October to late May is what we call our "Serenity Season" which is much less crowded at the inn, as well as with reduced rates and many attractive packages. So, we hope guests will experience the kind of peace about which you write as well as dicovering a good value. Thank you again for this wonderful review. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We booked a quick two-day stay, in late October. The weather forecast was some light snow flurries. The first night, the forecast changed and we were looking at "flurries" about 1 - 2 feet deep (we actually had two feet in southern New England the next day). So, not wanting to get stuck in a major snow storm when we did not yet have our snow tires on, we canceled our second night. The staff understood and -- amazing as it may seem -- we only had to pay for the one night stay. Not even a cancellation fee. You don't find people like this very often. They understood the problem and helped us out.

So, we had a wonderful evening in a warm and cozy room in a lovely town and a lovely hotel, with a good breakfast the next morning. . . and we found out just how nice the people at Captain Lord Mansion can be. We would have loved to stay longer. I guess we'll just have to go back. . . although we'll watch the weather a bit more carefully.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear California, Yes, you experienced the only snow storm to hit Southern Maine this year (today is Jan 3)! Bev and I try to understand the needs of our guests concerning cancellations. Rarely do we keep a deposit. If we do, we most often give a credit for a future stay at the inn. Since you live so far away, it seemed the best to do was to allow you a non-confrontational departure while wishing you safe traveling. Thank you for this review and we look forward to another visit some time in the future. Sincerely, your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Berwick, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Captain Lord Mansion as an overnight getaway last week. Having high expectations, it was amazing how quickly we were completely swept away. Every whim, every idea of a perfect stay and how to be catered to became a reality. From perfect rooms with comfortable beds to Coffee and Hot Chocolate at 1am, for a stressed out couple in need of R&R it was so completely perfect that we cannot wait to go back. Bravo to the Inn Keepers and Staff, they do an incredible job not only preserving the mansion, but in making it home to the guests that stay there.

Room Tip: Any room there would be amazing, but if you have a floor or preference you can look online at all yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Mainiac, We are delighted that you and your husband found peace and relaxation during your brief getaway to the Captain Lord Mansion. We sincerely believe that our most important job as innkeepers is to try to adequately meet guest expectations. Every guest room has been decorated and furnished with that goal in mind. We are delighted that so many guests compliment us on the many little touches in each room. Yet, we have been alert to minimize the "clutter". Our motto is "We Make Enduring Memories" and we're glad we achieved that with you and your husband! Sincerely, your innkeeepr, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

My husband and I always try to out-do each other every year for our anniversary. Last year, It was my turn to surprise him, and this year, he topped the charts with a 2 night stay at CLM. It was so wonderful and relaxing. The room, which was GORGEOUS, was the Merchant suite, and the bed was high, soft, and very comfortable. 2 Fireplaces adorn the room, one in the bedroom, and one in the jacuzzi room, where a generous 2 person jacuzzi will have anyone relaxing in minutes!! The heated marble floors in the bathroom, with a massage jet dual head shower is the PERFECT wake up call to get your morning started. After reading the paper that was slid discreetly under our door, it was time for breakfast. Each morning begins with a healthy multigrain cereal, and organic, fat free yogurt, and fresh fruit. Our entree one morning was mini belgian waffles, and the next it was the mansion stacker, consisting of a seasoned potato pancake, with smoked ham, and scrambled eggs, and a white cheddar cheese sauce. DELICIOUS!!

I invite anyone, and everyone to come and throw your troubles away at CLM. You won't regret it! The Staff pay particular attention to all of their guests, and it shows in the way the rooms are attended to. :-) We'll be back for sure!


K. Lambert

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Mainer, Wow, what an enthusiastic and positive review. We are thankful for your review and so pleased that your escape was as fulfilling and romantic as you describe. It is hard to find a more romatic and luxurious room as the Captain's Merchant Suite. The king-size bed, heated marble floor, hydro-massage shower, double jetted tub in front of the gas fireplace, all make for one of the most remarkable rooms in any B&B in the area. Glad you were able to experience that room; it is usually booked many weeks in advance. Good planning on your husband's part! We look forward to your next getaway. Sincerely, Rick Litchfield, innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.4 mi away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Property: Captain Lord Mansion
Address: 6 Pleasant St, P.O. Box 800, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Lord Mansion Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing