We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreams Come True”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Lord Mansion
Ranked #3 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Berwick, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dreams Come True”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Captain Lord Mansion as an overnight getaway last week. Having high expectations, it was amazing how quickly we were completely swept away. Every whim, every idea of a perfect stay and how to be catered to became a reality. From perfect rooms with comfortable beds to Coffee and Hot Chocolate at 1am, for a stressed out couple in need of R&R it was so completely perfect that we cannot wait to go back. Bravo to the Inn Keepers and Staff, they do an incredible job not only preserving the mansion, but in making it home to the guests that stay there.

Room Tip: Any room there would be amazing, but if you have a floor or preference you can look online at all yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Mainiac, We are delighted that you and your husband found peace and relaxation during your brief getaway to the Captain Lord Mansion. We sincerely believe that our most important job as innkeepers is to try to adequately meet guest expectations. Every guest room has been decorated and furnished with that goal in mind. We are delighted that so many guests compliment us on the many little touches in each room. Yet, we have been alert to minimize the "clutter". Our motto is "We Make Enduring Memories" and we're glad we achieved that with you and your husband! Sincerely, your innkeeepr, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    48
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
43
790
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2011

My husband and I always try to out-do each other every year for our anniversary. Last year, It was my turn to surprise him, and this year, he topped the charts with a 2 night stay at CLM. It was so wonderful and relaxing. The room, which was GORGEOUS, was the Merchant suite, and the bed was high, soft, and very comfortable. 2 Fireplaces adorn the room, one in the bedroom, and one in the jacuzzi room, where a generous 2 person jacuzzi will have anyone relaxing in minutes!! The heated marble floors in the bathroom, with a massage jet dual head shower is the PERFECT wake up call to get your morning started. After reading the paper that was slid discreetly under our door, it was time for breakfast. Each morning begins with a healthy multigrain cereal, and organic, fat free yogurt, and fresh fruit. Our entree one morning was mini belgian waffles, and the next it was the mansion stacker, consisting of a seasoned potato pancake, with smoked ham, and scrambled eggs, and a white cheddar cheese sauce. DELICIOUS!!

I invite anyone, and everyone to come and throw your troubles away at CLM. You won't regret it! The Staff pay particular attention to all of their guests, and it shows in the way the rooms are attended to. :-) We'll be back for sure!


K. Lambert

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Mainer, Wow, what an enthusiastic and positive review. We are thankful for your review and so pleased that your escape was as fulfilling and romantic as you describe. It is hard to find a more romatic and luxurious room as the Captain's Merchant Suite. The king-size bed, heated marble floor, hydro-massage shower, double jetted tub in front of the gas fireplace, all make for one of the most remarkable rooms in any B&B in the area. Glad you were able to experience that room; it is usually booked many weeks in advance. Good planning on your husband's part! We look forward to your next getaway. Sincerely, Rick Litchfield, innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mims, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2011

2011 was the first trip to the CLM for my husband and I but it won't be the last. We enjoyed the warm hospitality and friendliness of the staff. Attention to detail was very apparent in our room from the extremely comfy sheets to the gas fireplace and exquisite bathroom. The breakfasts served at the CLM are exceptional. What a warm feeling to wake each morning to the smell of breakfast cooking downstairs. Not familiar with the area, my husband and I asked numerous questions of the staff on where to go, what to do and they were always happy to help us plan our activities. Our stay at the CLM was relaxing and enjoyable -- a REAL vacation. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Large corner rooms are roomy and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Florida, Thank you for your positive review and for mentioning all the aspects of service our staff provided. Also, we appreciate your mentioning the many other things which made your stay so enjoyable. We are grateful for so many discerning guests who clearly choose our inn after reading our TripAdvisor reviews. Sincerely, your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Adams, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

My husband and I are huge kennebunkport fans! And if we need a getaway this is where we go! Sad and embarrassed to say that we always stayed next door! For our honeymoon we decided we wanted to try here! And thank god we did! Read reviews saw pictures and as pulling up as newly weds and walking in for the first time I couldn't believe it! If you think it looks great online you need to see it in real life! This place is gorgoues! Our room was amazing and I've never had better sleep in my life! The bed and huge jacuzzi tub is worth the stay alone! It was so clean and comfortable! The food was amazing! And Dave was not only kind and hallarious but again he makes an amazing breakfast! The afternoon treats and glog are another great add on! You don't even need to leave the mansion for a vacation! A spa. Amazing rooms.food.service.cute gift shop! I could go on and on! We were happy honeymooners! Can't wait to visit again! Will never make the mistake of staying anywhere else again! Worth every penny! Jamie LeBeau

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaynicLeBeau11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear "Happy Honeymooners" Well, we are thrilled that your decision to try us for your honeymoon was the right choice for you. Thanks for mentioning the many aspects of a stay at the Captain Lord Mansion which we believe clearly distiquish our B&B from other choices guests have. Glad you mentioned your comfortable night's sleep. We purchase top-of-the-line, extra-firm mattresses and add a 2" "memory foam" topper; that combination creates a soft-firm sensation. Also, we use top quality sheets that are so soft and comforting that many guests purchase them from our gift shop for home use. We look forward to hosting you on an anniversary or two! Sincerely, your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed at CLM on a trip from Boston to Bar Harbor. There was no place on the trip that could equal CLM. The service was excellent. All needs met but no hovering. The rooms were very well appointed. Just wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drose007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Arkansas, Thanks for your positive review. Your comment about staying longer is one which we frequently hear. Hope potential guests reading these reviews make a decision to stay longer than one night. It is not enough to see Kennebunkport and to fully enjoy the Captain Lord Mansion. Sincerely, your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

My husband and I have made many trips to the CLM. Over the many years we have seen the dedication of Bev and Rick to continually upgrade the rooms. Each renovation glows with Bevs talent at decorating and choice of style in keeping with this beautiful former Captains Home. Our trips now have been limited with the caretaking of my elderly parents with early stages Alzheimers. In October we needed a break and went to OUR HAPPY PLACE. It was good to see familiar faces , which makes it feel more special. Dedication to and by the staff truly shows here. We have known Sue since she started and are always happy to see her when we return. We have now put our name on that long Christmas Prelude wait list.
One weekend spent here and you will be hooked. You cannot find any better.
Leona Needham
Berlin, Ct

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackandleona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Connecticut, Thanks for the very positive review. Yes, Bev is always busy with renewing and upgrading. This year she personally painted the baths in the guest rooms "Ophelia" and "Americana". Additionally, she redid the guest room Union. On her schedule in January 2012 is the bath in "Lincoln". The new look Bev is using is much softer and pleasing to the eye. Thanks for giving credit to Bev who is very dedicated to making sure the inn always "looks up to snuff"! Sincerely, your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Ct
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2011

On our most recent visit to CLM my wife and I were guests of the owners, as were the rest of the people there, for a breast cancer survivors getaway. Rick and Bev give a free 2 night stay to chosen nominees to come and relax at their fabulous inn. This was our 3rd trip to this wonderful place and having stayed in others inns in the area we've become especially attached to the CLM. The owners and staff here couldn't do a better job making you feel welcome without feeling smothered. Everyone is so genuinely friendly it makes your stay that much more special. Sue runs the kitchen that serves a wonderful breakfast every morning. She's very special to us as she remebers us even though we've only been there a few times. She keeps the kitchen and conversation running so smoothly it's a pleasure to be there even for the early breakfast session. All in all we know of no better place in the area to stay than the Captain Lord and we are looking forward to many more visits

Room Tip: I don't think you could be dissappointed staying in any room there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Connecticut, Thank you for this very positive review. Several years ago, Bev and I decided to create an annual program to honor breast cancer patients. Bev lost her sister to that dreaded disease in 2003; thus it was an easy decision to make "Breast Cancer" awareness and fundraising our company charity. Over the past two years we raised $7,000 for cancer research by donating a certain amount for each guest visit, as well as giving a complimentary 2 night stay to a group of selected women and their spouses. We have been overwhelmed by the joy this program has brought to these women. Sincerely, your innkeeepr, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
255 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
293 reviews
23.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,394 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Property: Captain Lord Mansion
Address: 6 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain Lord Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Free Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Captain Lord Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Lord Mansion Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing