We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Very Best of Kennebunkport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain Lord Mansion
Ranked #3 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We have been vacationing in Maine for 16 years. We've stayed in many wonderful inns and B&B's, but when we found the CLM eight years ago, we knew this is where we'd stay when in southern Maine. We have stayed in eight different rooms and each was spacious with either a queen or king bed, and each room is individually and gorgeously decorated. We always sleep soundly because the beds are extremely comfortable. Each bathroom had something different, like a slipper tub, a whirlpool tub, or walk in shower with multiple shower heads. Each room has a mini-fridge stocked with cold drinks. And each had plenty of closet and drawer space for clothes. We love the staff at the Captain Lord, but we have to give a special shout out to Sue and Dave, who prepare the breakfast each morning. We have many dietary restrictions and they have always accommodated us and never made us feel like we were imposing. The exterior grounds are beautiful and peaceful with gardens, fountain, waterfall, and hammock. And, the inn has its own parking lot. When it comes to comfort, nothing is spared, such as supplying umbrellas if it rains, and OFF when the mosquitos are biting. We use the bikes supplied by the CLM to explore the coast, and it is an easy walk to Dock Square for shopping or dining. It is also a short walk to seafaring excursions. Kennebunkport is centrally located for day trips to Ogunquit, Portland, Pemaquid Point, Freeport, Kittery and many other gorgeous day trips. The Captain Lord Mansion is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommyandbebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Dear New Jersey, We truly appreciate your thorough review and your continued patronage over the past 8 years. Thank you for elucidating the many aspects of the inn which keep you coming back. Also, your comments are even more meaningful to us because you stayed at other inns in Kennebunkport before finding us. Truly, your review is a blessing. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
There are newer reviews for Captain Lord Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

The Captain Lord Mansion truly is a wonderful place to unwind. It is centrally located within the town of Kennebunkport allowing us to take but a short walk to the town's shopping area and restaurants. We will return to this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Dear Second Time Guest, Thank you for your second visit and your positive review. Yes, we are centrally located and convenient to the shops, restaurants, galleries and tourist activities. We look forward to your next visit. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This was our first time in the Kennebunkport area so I selected the Captain Lord Mansion from Tripadvisor's several entries and I made the right choice. The Victorian House/Inn is spotless, beautifully decorated, and staffed by a dedicated, friendly group of people (including the owners) who really care about their image. Breakfast is extensive with a multiple-choice menu that is varied day-to-day, and it is good cookin'. Afternoon snacks are provided which is a nice touch. Grounds of the CLM include a large, beautiful, green-grass side yard equipped with comfortable lawn furniture that is perfect for relaxing, reading, etc. Breakfast is served in the yard twice a week which is another nice touch.

Room Tip: We stayed in three different suites and they were all great.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

Baton Rouge, Thank you for this very positive review. We appreciate your mention of the many aspects of the inn with which you were impressed. Also, we appreciate that the TripAdvisor reviews helped you make your decision to visit with us. There are many lodging choices in Kennebunkport and we are glad you chose us. Rick Litchfield, innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

the inn is a lovely old mansion in a great location within walking distance to town and the atlantic, however the decor is in desperate need of an update/decluttering. the beds were very comfortable as was the renovated bathroom, room size good, just too much stuff everywhere. breakfasts were quite good but the times of the two sittings were not convenient (8:15 or 9:45). and you need to be a B&B person who enjoys making small talk with alot of strangers first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

Toronto, Canada, thank you for your honest view of the inn. My wife and I will seriously consider your comments regarding excessive decor and see what we can eliminate without compromising on the many little details that many guests appreciate and on which they compliment us. Recently, Bev did take a lot of books out of several rooms because of clutter. Obviously, we need to take a closer look. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention. Rick Litchfield, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We would highly recommend the Lord Captain Mansion. The service was excellent and included a very good breakfast. The accommodations were second to none.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rekster1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

A brief review by this couple, but most welcome. We appreciate the fact that these folks had a "great and relaxing" night. After all, isn't that one of the main reasons for escaping to a Bed and Breakfast Inn? We take pride in the fact that our rooms are very comfortably decorated for relaxing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We had never stayed at a small hotel before, almost B&B type, and were soooo happy!. The innkeeepers are so courteous and cater to your every whim! The hotel
is spotless and luxurious. Fantastic beds. The three course breakfasts are delicious! Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and beautiful. We stayed 2 nights in the Garden House and the rest in t...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

Thank you Teaneck, NJ for this very positive review. You touched on the many aspects of why staying with us is so rewarding. Because of our size and attention to many small details, we are more like a country house hotel rather than a small B&B. We are pleased that you were surprised and satisfied. Rick Litchfield, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We spent 2 nights at the Capt. Lord Mansion, staying in the "Garden House" adjacent to the main inn. Our room -- "Daniel" -- was very comfortable, equipped with a king-size bed that had a very firm mattress and exquisitely fine linens. The bathroom facilities are completely modern, if a bit cramped. Bath towels were thick and plentiful. In addition to a window air-conditioning unit, there was a powerful box fan stashed in a closet.

Breakfasts are served family style, around a dining room table, at a set hour (9:00 am when we were there). This provides a pleasant opportunity to meet and mingle with other guests. On the other hand, they did accomodate our request for an early breakfast the morning that we were leaving so that we could make a morning flight. The food was very good and ample -- a starter course of fruit, with large bowls of yoghurt and cereal available, followed by breakfast pastries, and then a main course. One morning the breakfast pastries were mini blueberry & cranberry muffins; the other day, truly decadent sticky buns. Entree one morning was waffles and sausage; the next, cheese omelettes accompanied by a small filet mignon (maybe 2 oz).

Homemade sweets are set out in the kitchen each afternoon, as are cheese and crackers. Canned soda and bottled water is available around the clock, as are hot coffee and tea.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBA60302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

Chicago, we are thrilled that you found our breakfasts so enjoyable.This past winter Bev and our cooks spent considerable time evaluating our menus and upgrading our breakfast offerings. This summer we have had rave reviews about our breakfasts, afternoon snacks, as well as our ability to offer good-tasting breakfast choices for folks with food allergies. Thank oyu for your review. Rick Litchfield, innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
257 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Address: 6 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $237 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain Lord Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Free Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Captain Lord Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Lord Mansion Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing