We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captain Jefferds - our best B&B ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain Jefferds Inn
Ranked #2 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Goliad, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Captain Jefferds - our best B&B ever!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We've stayed at many B&Bs over the years and Captain Jefferds Inn is over the top!

A grand welcome, good coffee, teas and snacks always available and bikes to borrow for a jaunt around Kennebunkport. The room with fireplace was romantic, quiet and well appointed.

Breakfast was wonderful - not just the food but the around the table conversations.

Next time in Kennebunkport, Captain Jefferds Inn is where you will find us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_R77963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJIInnkeeper, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We're so glad that you liked all of the things that we love about the inn. The coffee is roasted locally, the loose teas are specially blended, the afternoon snacks stay out into the evening and we just added two more bikes to ride around this beautiful coastal village.
As far as breakfast at the common table, its' often the highlight of someones stay!
Thank you for taking the time to comment, and we look forward to your return!
Have a wonderful summer!
Sarah and Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    50
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
92
569
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful stay. The room was spacious, beautifully furnished, and clean. Breakfasts were wonderful. Wide assortment of coffees and teas, and some juices available all day, Cheese and crackers, then cookies put out in the a sunny day room in the afternoon. New bicycles available for touring the magnificent homes and vistas. Charming and very quiet town with some very fine restaurants which the B&B staff expertly recommended and booked for us. The Captain Jefferds is just a 2-3 block walk from the center of town and 1 block from the bay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dornbusch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJIInnkeeper, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We're glad to hear that your time both at the inn and in Kennebunkport was an enjoyable experience. You were wise to visit during our "Peaceful" season as the roads are safer on which to ride our bicycles, it is easy to acquire reservations at the restaurants (that are excellent, we're spoiled!) and you can enjoy the quiet charm of the village.
Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B. We do hope that you continue to experience memorable get-a-ways at various B&Bs across our beautiful country!
Sarah and Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I cannot add much to the glowing reviews of this establishment I just have to agree. We have stayed in all sorts of hotels around the world and this is certainly the most memorable and most enjoyable. If you find yourself in Kennebunkport you have to experience captain jefferds

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceejay01Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJIInnkeeper, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for such kind words about our B&B, we appreciate them and are flattered that you think so highly of our inn. We are, after-all, here to create an enjoyable, relaxing B&B experience for all of our guests. The fact that you are so well traveled and found our inn most memorable speaks volumes toward our efforts. Thank you for taking the time to say so.
Sarah and Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
364 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Once again, we had a fun and relaxing weekend at The Captain Jefferds Inn. Everything about our stay was perfect ... from the absolute spotlessness to the comfort of the bed to the spacious and modern bathroom to the sunny sunroom (where you can sit and enjoy coffee, tea, cider and the best homemade cookies) to the location ... just a short walk to the "downtown" with best collection of shops (clothing, souveniers, collectibles, galleries, and of course restaurants). One of our favorite things about CJI is Steve, who is very friendly and attentive, willing to help you out in any way. We also enjoy sitting in the beautiful dining room and having breakfast with the other guests, some of whom we've come to know from previous stays. It definitely feels like family when you stay at The Captain Jefferds Inn. We have recommended CJI to several friends, and everyone has loved it enough to go back. It's a "sure thing"!

Room Tip: We've stayed in most of the rooms at this point and have never been disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyG-818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJIInnkeeper, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Yes, Steve is a favorite of many guests. He is, indeed, all about the guest experience and goes out of his way to help you create the "perfect" time away both at the inn and in Kennebunkport.
We were fortunate to "inherit" Steve in addition to Tina, and Katie when we bought the inn 9 years ago. This speaks to their loyalty and desire to create a relaxing get-a-way for our guests.
Thank you so much for your review and for both returning and referring your friends and family.
We look forward to your next visit! Enjoy your busy summer!
Sarah and Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Captain Jeffords Inn a fantastic place to stay in the lovely port of Kennebunkport. This is a fantastic inn with great hosts and friendly attentive staff. The rooms are bright clean well furnished with great beds. The public rooms are well furnished and very homely. The sun lounge was a particular favorite of ours. The breakfasts were fantastic, we loved the communal breakfast where everyone enjoyed a friendly chit chat. There is constant tea and coffee, help yourselve to fizzy drinks and sodas. At 3pm they laid out snacks for afternoon elevenses. Eric and Sarah where very helpful and Sarahs chats made you feel very welcome. The staff were great and could not do more to help you. Beautiful gardens and outside arrears. The whole place was just fantastic. Book in here and have a great time.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leslie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJIInnkeeper, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your review as you have hit all of the inn's highlights! We're glad you enjoyed your time here as much as we enjoyed having you stay. It is, after all, the guests who create the inn "experience" .
Again, many thanks and we wish you many more memorable journeys!
Sarah and Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Myself, my husband and my son were there 2 nights. This was my husband and my first time in Kennebunkport. The whole staff was pleasant and accommodating. The rooms and grounds were clean and beautiful. Our was room was large, warm and pleasant with a large bathroom. One sitting room was a sunroom with coffee, tea and snacks was inviting and provided a nice social time. The larger sitting room was beautifully finished with sofas and paintings which was more for quiet time and reading. The breakfast was great in a beautiful dining room on a large dining room table that invited socialization with others in the Inn. I was running in the Maine seacoast marathon and had to follow a breakfast diet which they accommodated. They are very accommodating for people with dogs. They provided sheets, bowls and a treat for the dog which he loved. In fact they had a hose and provided towels for after the dog went swimming. Shops were within walking distance. The atmosphere was friendly and less business like. We loved our stay so much we booked another night in 2 weeks and are planning to go back next April and May as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJIInnkeeper, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We are now proud to say that we know someone who ran the Maine Seacoast Marathon and qualified for the Boston Marathon, congratulations! Both your training story, and the fact that your family was here to support you were most inspirational.
We enjoy the fact that since the inn began in 1980 it has been pet friendly in the carriage house rooms. We're glad that you and "Welker" enjoyed your stay, and have now been with us a second time - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2014

For our first visit to Maine, we decided to stay at a B&B and thankfully chose this one. It was beautiful, clean, friendly, great location (walking distance to town) and the food was wonderful. There is not one negative thing to say. And the Habitat for Hospitality was a great special. If you are not sure which B&B to stay at in Kennebunkport, pick this one! You will not be disappointed. Thank you Erik, Sarah and Staff for making our anniversary trip special.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJIInnkeeper, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your anniversary and first visit to Maine at our B&B! Thank you for participating in the Maine Innkeepers "Hospitality for Habitat" program. The Captain Jefferds Inn raised just shy of $2,000 thanks to your participation. Perhaps we'll see you at the same time next year! Enjoy your summer, and your future anniversary trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.6 mi away
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Jefferds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jefferds Inn

Property: Captain Jefferds Inn
Address: 5 Pearl St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Jefferds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly "Your Very Special Place." The Captain Jefferds Inn Bed & Breakfast in Kennebunkport, Maine is a warm and inviting 1804 sea captain’s home. From the time you enter through this Maine inn's red front door you will experience the charm, comfort and exceptional hospitality provided by these Kennebunkport innkeepers and their dedicated staff. At the Captain Jefferds Inn it's all about personal service and little touches to enhance your stay like free wireless internet access throughout the property and afternoon tea featuring a wonderful assortment of home baked goods and light hors d'oeuvres as well as fresh squeezed lemonade and iced tea in the summer months and hot mulled cider in the winter. We are pet friendly in 5 outside entrance rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Captain Jefferds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jefferds Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Jefferds Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing