We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best bnb ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Jefferds Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I cannot add much to the glowing reviews of this establishment I just have to agree. We have stayed in all sorts of hotels around the world and this is certainly the most memorable and most enjoyable. If you find yourself in Kennebunkport you have to experience captain jefferds

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceejay01Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJIInnkeeper, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you for such kind words about our B&B, we appreciate them and are flattered that you think so highly of our inn. We are, after-all, here to create an enjoyable, relaxing B&B experience for all of our guests. The fact that you are so well traveled and found our inn most memorable speaks volumes toward our efforts. Thank you for taking the time to say so.
Sarah and Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 870 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

Once again, we had a fun and relaxing weekend at The Captain Jefferds Inn. Everything about our stay was perfect ... from the absolute spotlessness to the comfort of the bed to the spacious and modern bathroom to the sunny sunroom (where you can sit and enjoy coffee, tea, cider and the best homemade cookies) to the location ... just a short walk to the "downtown" with best collection of shops (clothing, souveniers, collectibles, galleries, and of course restaurants). One of our favorite things about CJI is Steve, who is very friendly and attentive, willing to help you out in any way. We also enjoy sitting in the beautiful dining room and having breakfast with the other guests, some of whom we've come to know from previous stays. It definitely feels like family when you stay at The Captain Jefferds Inn. We have recommended CJI to several friends, and everyone has loved it enough to go back. It's a "sure thing"!

Room Tip: We've stayed in most of the rooms at this point and have never been disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyG-818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJIInnkeeper, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Yes, Steve is a favorite of many guests. He is, indeed, all about the guest experience and goes out of his way to help you create the "perfect" time away both at the inn and in Kennebunkport.
We were fortunate to "inherit" Steve in addition to Tina, and Katie when we bought the inn 9 years ago. This speaks to their loyalty and desire to create a relaxing get-a-way for our guests.
Thank you so much for your review and for both returning and referring your friends and family.
We look forward to your next visit! Enjoy your busy summer!
Sarah and Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Captain Jeffords Inn a fantastic place to stay in the lovely port of Kennebunkport. This is a fantastic inn with great hosts and friendly attentive staff. The rooms are bright clean well furnished with great beds. The public rooms are well furnished and very homely. The sun lounge was a particular favorite of ours. The breakfasts were fantastic, we loved the communal breakfast where everyone enjoyed a friendly chit chat. There is constant tea and coffee, help yourselve to fizzy drinks and sodas. At 3pm they laid out snacks for afternoon elevenses. Eric and Sarah where very helpful and Sarahs chats made you feel very welcome. The staff were great and could not do more to help you. Beautiful gardens and outside arrears. The whole place was just fantastic. Book in here and have a great time.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Leslie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJIInnkeeper, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you for your review as you have hit all of the inn's highlights! We're glad you enjoyed your time here as much as we enjoyed having you stay. It is, after all, the guests who create the inn "experience" .
Again, many thanks and we wish you many more memorable journeys!
Sarah and Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Myself, my husband and my son were there 2 nights. This was my husband and my first time in Kennebunkport. The whole staff was pleasant and accommodating. The rooms and grounds were clean and beautiful. Our was room was large, warm and pleasant with a large bathroom. One sitting room was a sunroom with coffee, tea and snacks was inviting and provided a nice social time. The larger sitting room was beautifully finished with sofas and paintings which was more for quiet time and reading. The breakfast was great in a beautiful dining room on a large dining room table that invited socialization with others in the Inn. I was running in the Maine seacoast marathon and had to follow a breakfast diet which they accommodated. They are very accommodating for people with dogs. They provided sheets, bowls and a treat for the dog which he loved. In fact they had a hose and provided towels for after the dog went swimming. Shops were within walking distance. The atmosphere was friendly and less business like. We loved our stay so much we booked another night in 2 weeks and are planning to go back next April and May as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJIInnkeeper, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

We are now proud to say that we know someone who ran the Maine Seacoast Marathon and qualified for the Boston Marathon, congratulations! Both your training story, and the fact that your family was here to support you were most inspirational.
We enjoy the fact that since the inn began in 1980 it has been pet friendly in the carriage house rooms. We're glad that you and "Welker" enjoyed your stay, and have now been with us a second time - thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

For our first visit to Maine, we decided to stay at a B&B and thankfully chose this one. It was beautiful, clean, friendly, great location (walking distance to town) and the food was wonderful. There is not one negative thing to say. And the Habitat for Hospitality was a great special. If you are not sure which B&B to stay at in Kennebunkport, pick this one! You will not be disappointed. Thank you Erik, Sarah and Staff for making our anniversary trip special.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJIInnkeeper, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed your anniversary and first visit to Maine at our B&B! Thank you for participating in the Maine Innkeepers "Hospitality for Habitat" program. The Captain Jefferds Inn raised just shy of $2,000 thanks to your participation. Perhaps we'll see you at the same time next year! Enjoy your summer, and your future anniversary trips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We visited Kennebunkport for a quick mid-week getaway. Prior to booking our stay, we checked TripAdvisor for accommodations in Kennebunkport and the neighboring towns. One of our concerns was cancellation policy, because we are currently dealing with elder-care, and we were unsure if we would be called away. Before booking our stay, I talked to one of the innkeepers on the phone, and he assured me that “extenuating circumstances,” would be considered in relation to cancellation. He also made recommendations for rooms included in the special fundraiser that were suitable for a person with a moderate walking disability. Fortunately, we were able to enjoy our mini-getaway without being called away.

When we arrived, we were welcomed by a young woman who showed us around the first floor. The inn was immaculately kept, bright, and cheerful. The grounds were beautiful. The sun room beckoned us with comfy chairs, hot beverages, and yummy snacks. She showed us the alcove where we could always get ice, cold drinks, or coffee and tea at any time of day or night. It was chilly outside, so there were fires laid in both the dining room and living room fireplaces. The dining room was already set for the next morning's breakfast.

The Capt. Jefferds Inn offered a half-price room with a modest donation to Habitat for Humanity. Many innkeepers in Maine cut their rates by 50 percent in May 2014 to support “Hospitality for Habitat”, an annual Maine Innkeepers Association (MEIA) program designed to raise funds for Habitat for Humanity. We were given the Arundel Room, which stretched the entire width of the Inn on the second floor. We had a comfy king-sized bed with a wonderful hard mattress and smooth Pima cotton sheets. There were plenty of soft, fluffy towels. The room featured a gas fireplace, comfortable chairs, a small writing desk, a bookcase built into the wall, a jet tub, a small refrigerator (with bottled water), and nice touches like mint chocolates by the bedsides and bathrobes for each of us.

The Inn is within walking distance of everything at the Port. Even Kennebunk Beach is a moderate hike. Off-season is the best time of year to see Kennebunk and Kennebunkport, especially early in the morning. I would rise early and go out for my morning walk. All the trees are budding out at the end of April and flowers in the gardens are blooming. I could hear the seagulls squawk, the lobster boats leaving the harbor, and I had to share the beach with only a few surfers and a couple of other hardy souls. I could smell the brewing coffee and enticing morning kitchen smells from the local deli and coffee houses. I would get back in time to get cleaned up and join other guests for breakfast.

The staff thoughtfully accommodated our food allergies at breakfast. Each breakfast included beverages, fruit, freshly baked muffins, and a main course such as quiche or frittata.

We enjoyed having tea or coffee in the sun room after returning from our days’ adventures, snacking on some of the desserts, and just relaxing. We had some pleasant get-togethers with other guests in the same room before breakfast each day we were there.

The Innkeepers and their staff were very friendly and helpful. They seemed willing to cheerfully meet any guest’s needs. This inn deserves all the high ratings it receives.

Room Tip: The stairs to the second floor were easily accessible for someone with a moderate walking disability...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarWeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

StarWeez Thanks for the terrific scores and the positive review title of "This Place Will Put a Smile on Your Face" . That comment made me smile :) It is nice that you were able to spend the planned time at the Inn. And although we have policies, as you experienced we try to be reasonable in our application of them.

Spring and Fall are my favorite times along the seacoast. The nights are chilly enough that a little courtesy fire adds just the right amount of heat and ambiance to the room, but not so chilly that you need more than a light comforter to sleep comfortably with the window ajar. Our beaches have fewer inhabitants and the pace of the the world is just a little slower. (Of course that is a relative statement as I suspect that even in our high season the pace of our world for visitors is remarkably slower than they are used to. )

Hospitality for Habitat was a big success. It seems to get more popular each year and we’re happy to do something that assists others. During the shoulder season we take part in a few different programs HFH being one of them. There is also a Veterans program called in November “B&B for Vets” that we participate in by offering courtesy accommodations over Veterans Day weekend , through the end of the month we have a special for healthcare workers, and his year we’re doing something new with the Arborday foundation.

In general it’s always good to check any Inns’ special pages for their current specials. And while they may not all be discounted room specials, they may be attractive package specials like the one we currently have with the Ogunquit Playhouse and On The Marsh Restaurant or our Mothers May special with Melissa Fleurant or even our Couples Spa Package with Cottage Breeze Day Spa.

Thanks again for taking the time to write such a detailed review and giving us the high praise. We hope that you choose to stay with us again soon.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

It has been 6 months since our last visit, and quite frankly we couldn't wait to return. Though the weather was less than hospitable, the accommodations and the Inn itself were just as inviting and comfortable as we remembered it. We didn't stay in the main house's elegant Arundel room this time. Instead, we chose the more rustic (and very comfortable) Baxter in the Carriage House. We loved the privacy of the Baxter and would choose it again if we decided to return with our dog. But sans pooch, we prefer staying in the main house. Last but certainly not least, we asked Steve to make dinner suggestions and then reservations for us. His recommendations were excellent and exactly what we asked for (The Hurricane in town and Joshua's in Wells). Would we go back--in a heart beat! This jewel of an inn, with its very polished atmosphere and personal service, is on par with the best hotels the country has to offer.

Room Tip: We've only stayed twice. The Carriage House accommodations are very private and allow for pets.W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Susan R Hi!

Thanks for the great review and for choosing us again. Yes spring weather is a bit unpredictable, but it can be fun to experience at the same time. We just chalk it up to traditional New England Weather. :) Very happy you enjoyed Steve's dining suggestions. There are of course many fine restaurants in the area, and sometimes it's hard to select one.

Thank you for comparing our service to "the best hotels in the country". Everyone here is committed to their role at the Inn, and compliments such as yours are very rewarding to read.

See you again in six months?

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 25 in Kennebunkport
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 25 in Kennebunkport
866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn
#5 of 25 in Kennebunkport
752 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
#11 of 25 in Kennebunkport
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Jefferds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jefferds Inn

Address: 5 Pearl St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $214 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Jefferds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly "Your Very Special Place." The Captain Jefferds Inn Bed & Breakfast in Kennebunkport, Maine is a warm and inviting 1804 sea captain’s home. From the time you enter through this Maine inn's red front door you will experience the charm, comfort and exceptional hospitality provided by these Kennebunkport innkeepers and their dedicated staff. At the Captain Jefferds Inn it's all about personal service and little touches to enhance your stay like free wireless internet access throughout the property and afternoon tea featuring a wonderful assortment of home baked goods and light hors d'oeuvres as well as fresh squeezed lemonade and iced tea in the summer months and hot mulled cider in the winter. We are pet friendly in 5 outside entrance rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Captain Jefferds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jefferds Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Jefferds Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing