We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Jefferds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain Jefferds Inn
Ranked #2 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Perfect Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have been very hesitant to stay at B&B's due to unpleasant previous experiences. The Captain Jefferds Inn has cured me of this. Everything was perfect. The room (the Camden) was beautiful, the staff and owners really friendly, helpful, and professional, and the breakfasts were wonderful. The raspberry/ cream cheese french toast was one of the best breakfasts I ever had. (Unlike other stuffed french toasts it was not too sweet - just the right amount of tartness.) The 3 course breakfast is served with edible flowers that (sometimes) even match the flowered plates. Attention to detail abounds. The owners even put a ladder in their tiny frog pond to ensure the frogs could climb out of the water safely. The location is perfect. Close enough to walk to town and the beautiful stretch of ocean avenue by the water, but in a quiet residential area. The free bottled water was much appreciated. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Camden room has a wood burning fireplace and no wallpaper, for those who like a less colonial fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llaurie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
“Perfect” is quite a compliment, but the fact that your experience here has cured you of your fear of B&B’s is even more exciting to hear! We couldn’t be happier than to know that you enjoyed so many elements of your stay. We’re glad that you really liked the stuffed French toast. We have several different versions which all tend to be big hits.

The frog ladder was built by our handyman after he witnessed the resident frog struggle to get up and over the side of the pond. Now the frog not only uses it as a means of exiting the water but also as a favorite spot to stay partially submerged while watching the world. Even our amphibian guests get star treatment.

Thanks so much for your recommendation and your enthusiastic review! We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again the next time your travels bring you to Kennebunkport.

Wishing you the best, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    50
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
90
560
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here because of the reviews the Inn received as well as being dog friendly. The hospitality, food, location and Inn are all top notch. The Inn and it's staff provide an experience that is personal and unique when compared to others and very worth the little extra money. We are looking forward to our next stay!

Keith, Kristin and Maybelle

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your recommendation and kind review! We are so glad that the three of you enjoyed your stay with us. One of the benefits of only having 15 rooms is we can focus on trying to create a unique experience for each guest. We are really happy to know that you felt warmly welcomed and well taken care of. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the Captain Jefferds Inn on a recent road trip. When we arrived it felt like you had come home, we were quickly shown the B&B, the facilities and invited to make ourselves at home.

The room we had (on the third floor) - was lovely, with a door opening up to the roof, every little detail has been though of. The room is beautifully decorated and attention is taken to make sure you feel at home.

The B&B has Wifi and that works well.

Breakfast was out of this world, with 3 courses setting you up for the day ahead, to be honest I would struggle to find anywhere better to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are so happy to know that you had a great time with us and felt right at home. We have definitely tried to think of all the little things that will make a stay here feel special, so it is gratifying to hear that we hit the right notes for you. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

All the best, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We loved this B&B,although calling the Captain Jefferds Inn a B&B does not do this stunning old house justice.It is really comfortable,the room we stayed in was superb and breakfast was a joy.The staff could not do enough for you,very attentive without being overbearing.If we ever go back to stay in Kennebunkport finding somewhere to stay is a no brainer......a real home from home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
It is wonderful to know that the room, the breakfast, and the staff all worked in concert to create a comfortable and relaxing environment for you. We strive to make the inn feel like home, only better, since we take care of all of the details. Thank you for your kind review. We do hope that if your travels bring you back to the area that you will again make us your home in Kennebunkport!

Best wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield Hills, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have been to this Inn 3 X's - have sent others there - will go back again. The rooms , the service , the food, worth every penny. You are made to feel like guests in this beautiful & historical home. The owners are so proud of this property and take great pride in being true hosts to each and every guest. Kennebunkport is our favorite destination for a getaway weekend- The Captain Jefferds Inn - is always a part of our plan to make the perfect trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Adare- a climb to the 3 rd floor- but a great comfortable room- great bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Having guests return time after time and recommend us to others is the highest compliment we can receive. We couldn’t be happier to know that three times in, you continue to enjoy your time away with us. We love playing a part in helping guests create an ideal getaway, whether that means quiet time to relax and unwind or an activity filled exploration of everything the area has to offer. Thank you continuing to make us an integral part of your visits to Kennebunkport and thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to visit number four!

Warmest wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a wonderful 2-night stay at Captain Jefferds Inn. We enjoyed the old house with the beautiful sun room (with fresh baked cookies everyday!) exquisite breakfast and complimentary beach cruisers. The Inn was centrally located and so it was a hop, skip and a jump to get to the local restaurants and enjoy the lobster rolls, beaches, and sightseeing. So beautiful, we will come again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are very happy to know that you had a peaceful, relaxing stay and that you took advantage of all of the wonderful things that are just around the corner from the inn. We are fortunate to have delicious restaurants, quaint shops, and beautiful beaches easily reachable in five to ten minutes. Thank you for sharing your experience and your kind review. We look forward to your next visit!

Wishing you the best, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Captain Jefferds Inn - this was the best B & B that we have stayed in. The staff were great and the Breakfast was fantastic. Looking forward to our return visit in the Fall.

Room Tip: They have 15 rooms - we were able to see a few of the rooms that were not booked on our night that w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wailea07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
“Best B&B” is quite an accolade, we are honored to have earned it. It is wonderful to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the Fall! Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you when the leaves change.

Warm wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.4 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
0.6 mi away
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Jefferds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jefferds Inn

Property: Captain Jefferds Inn
Address: 5 Pearl St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Jefferds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly "Your Very Special Place." The Captain Jefferds Inn Bed & Breakfast in Kennebunkport, Maine is a warm and inviting 1804 sea captain’s home. From the time you enter through this Maine inn's red front door you will experience the charm, comfort and exceptional hospitality provided by these Kennebunkport innkeepers and their dedicated staff. At the Captain Jefferds Inn it's all about personal service and little touches to enhance your stay like free wireless internet access throughout the property and afternoon tea featuring a wonderful assortment of home baked goods and light hors d'oeuvres as well as fresh squeezed lemonade and iced tea in the summer months and hot mulled cider in the winter. We are pet friendly in 5 outside entrance rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Captain Jefferds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jefferds Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Jefferds Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing