We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional first class experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Jefferds Inn
Ranked #2 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cape cod
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Exceptional first class experience”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

What a beautiful facility and room.....walk every where in this gorgeous community

The staff went beyond expectations in making our stay comfortable and enjoyable....the only slightly negative noticed by us and another couple was the complete lack of interaction by the innkeepers with the guest

Definitely a return visit in store

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank higuy1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are so happy that you had a first class experience with us and that our staff went beyond expectations to ensure that your stay was comfortable and relaxing. We strive to make every guest feel warmly welcomed without being intrusive. Throughout the day we put on many hats to make sure the inn, rooms, and gardens are shipshape and to prepare the food for breakfast and afternoon treats. It is certainly our hope to personally connect with each guest, but unfortunately sometimes our schedules do not intersect with every guest. We do, however, have many wonderful staff members who are here to service our guests and are always happy to help guests out in any way they can. We hope that we do have the opportunity to connect during your next visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Guest feedback is what helps us make sure we are offering the best possible experience for all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    51
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
95
592
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, MA
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's great to GET AWAY from the craziness for awhile. CJI is a blessing, Great Customer Service, Beautiful rooms and grounds, Excellent Breakfasts, Historic Architecture, and right next to the town commons. If you want more excitement, downtown Kennebunkport is Just a short walk away.

Room Tip: Visit the site on line to check out the rooms. Pick one you like. You can even check availability...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! We appreciate knowing that your stay at CJI helped you relax and escape the static. We certainly strive to provide a comfortable space for guests to unplug and unwind, so it is wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you need to get away from the craziness for a while!

Best wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I just returned after spending 3 wonderful nights at the CJI. We wanted to get away for a long weekend to celebrate her birthday and we could not have made a better choice for our lodging. The building, rooms, breakfast, grounds, toiletries and everything associated with the Capt Jefferds Inn were top notch. Erik, Sarah, Tina and the rest of the staff were incredibly accommodating, welcoming and did everything possible to ensure that we had an enjoyable stay. The common areas and the two different rooms we stayed in were immaculate. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you and your wife had an enjoyable birthday weekend with us! It is always very rewarding to welcome guests who are celebrating a milestone and we love to do everything we can to make the experience special. Thank you so much for sharing your enthusiastic review. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Well it was our third time visiting CJI and it keeps getting better! Once again we returned for our anniversary weekend at the Baxter room with our pet. The rooms, the main house, the grounds, and especially the staff! are all outstanding. It has been one year and my dog still remembered his way to the room....and is now in depression because he does not have the vast grounds to run on (on leash of course....a LONG Leash). Erik and Sarah are fantastic inn keepers and have such a great staff that just make everything perfect. In addition to great breakfasts (and it is different each time we are there). I don't remember everything we were served, but remember vividly the stuffed french toast! Amazing.

We cannot wait to book our next trip there. It truely is the perfect place to visit for a relaxing weekend away from it all!

On a funny side note, my wife went to get a dog toy from under the bed and was great with a sign the read "Yes we do clean under the bed"! The really do think of everything!

Room Tip: The Baxter room is great! It has a nice screened in patio perfect for coffee or lunch or an evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diablonyc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
It is such a pleasure to have familiar faces come through the door! Thank you for allowing us to play a part in your anniversary celebration. It is very meaningful to us when folks mark milestones and special occasions here. It is so nice to hear that the three of you had another wonderful time and the story about the dog toy is great. The signs under the bed are kind of cheeky, but we really do tidy things down to the very last detail and want guests to feel confident that they are staying in a fresh room that is neat as a pin. Thank you for your lovely words. We can’t wait to make your fourth visit as relaxing and enjoyable as the first three!

Wishing you all the best, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Captain Jefferds Inn. Due to his work schedule as a commercial pilot, he is away from home during the week, so our weekends are very important to us. We try to keep our plans dog-friendly, as our pup, Nova, is just as much a part of the family! When we checked in to our immaculate room, there was a note address to us, welcoming us to the property, as well as a silver tray with a personalized dog treat, doggy bags, and a tennis ball. This may be a small gesture, but it sets them apart from other establishments. Many places have comfortable beds and luxurious linens (including Captain Jefferds!), but not everywhere has that extra level of hospitality.

The staff was accommodating of my dairy allergy and prepared a delicious three-course breakfast. There were multiple loose tea options in addition to fresh coffee, which were available through the afternoon as well. Many of the restaurants and shops in the village were pet-friendly, so we were able to bring Nova with us wherever we went. The inn offered in-room pet sitting in case we were heading somewhere the dog wasn't allowed.


We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning again soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience and kind review. We are so happy you had a wonderful time and that our little touches helped make your stay extra special. We try to make both our two-legged and four-legged guests feel genuinely welcomed and appreciated. We’re glad we had the opportunity to ensure that breakfast meshed with your dietary needs. We are always happy to accommodate food allergies and dietary restrictions.

It’s great that you had a fun time around town with your dog. As you experienced, Kennebunkport and Kennebunk are definitely very dog-friendly. A number of restaurants have outdoor patios that welcome pets, shops place water and treat bowls on the sidewalk, and the beaches welcome dogs and their humans too. Even during the summer season dogs are welcome on the beaches in the morning and in the evening. We look forward to helping make your next visit with Nova just as wonderful as the first!

Best wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

But my one night stay last night was so outstanding, I felt I had to share my experience.
The staff were outstanding. The sumptuous interior left nothing out ie beautiful room with fireplace and garden with a fountain, sun room with great teas and treats.
We loved the 3 course breakfast
At this time of year a lot of restaurants were closed, but the owner, a former contractor, secured reservations at Mabel's Lobster Claw for a wonderful seafood dinner.
We will return for a longer stay since we toured the Brick Store Museum with wonderful docents and would like to see new exhibits from their huge collection in the future.

Room Tip: I viewed all of the rooms and would take any one off them
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you had an outstanding experience. As someone in the travel business, you undoubtedly have sampled a wide variety of inns and hotels with a discerning eye. With that in mind, it is particularly gratifying to receive your feedback. We’re glad Mabel’s was a hit, they are always one of our go-to recommendations and it is wonderful that you had the opportunity to visit the Brick Store Museum. We are really fortunate to have such an amazing historical resource right around the corner. Thank you for taking the time to share your review and for the tip you sent via email! We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay.

Warmest wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I just spent the last night of a ten-day trip at this wonderful inn, and although this trip included several nights at the Plaza Athenee in New York and the Rosewood Resort in Bermuda, we both agreed that- hands down- the Captain Jefferds Inn was our favorite stop of the trip. Everything- the convenient and lovely location, the warmth of the wood fire burning in the gracious yet comfortable living room, our tastefully decorated room, the 600-count cotton sheets that felt more like silk, the availability of coffee and fresh-brewed tea at 7am, the fantastic popovers at breakfast- was just perfect. Eric and Sarah have truly mastered the art of hospitality, and it shows in a hundred ways. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
It is truly flattering to have been the favorite stop of your trip. It was certainly our pleasure to welcome you. We are so happy to know that you found so many elements of your stay enjoyable. Our goal is to craft a warm and memorable experience for our guests, so it is very nice to hear that we hit the mark for you. Thank you so much for making us a stop during your vacation and for your kind words. We look forward to making your next stay as pleasurable as the first!

All the best, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 26 in Kennebunkport
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Jefferds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jefferds Inn

Property: Captain Jefferds Inn
Address: 5 Pearl St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Jefferds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly "Your Very Special Place." The Captain Jefferds Inn Bed & Breakfast in Kennebunkport, Maine is a warm and inviting 1804 sea captain’s home. From the time you enter through this Maine inn's red front door you will experience the charm, comfort and exceptional hospitality provided by these Kennebunkport innkeepers and their dedicated staff. At the Captain Jefferds Inn it's all about personal service and little touches to enhance your stay like free wireless internet access throughout the property and afternoon tea featuring a wonderful assortment of home baked goods and light hors d'oeuvres as well as fresh squeezed lemonade and iced tea in the summer months and hot mulled cider in the winter. We are pet friendly in 5 outside entrance rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Captain Jefferds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jefferds Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Jefferds Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing