We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain Jefferds Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was our second time at the Captain Jefferds. We last came in the summer, and this visit was the week between Christmas and New Years. We stayed in the Arundel Room (again), which is very spacious and has both a jacuzzi and a gas fireplace. Very comfortable. The entire inn was tastefully decorated for the holidays. The living room had a nice fire going, although the primary attraction seems to be the Garden room, even in the winter months. The staff was very friendly, the food was excellent, and there were always snacks and beverages available. It snowed twice while we were there, and the staff did an excellent job of keeping the walks and parking lot clear. Having been here twice now, we feel safe in saying that there is a consistency of quality that demonstrates a real commitment to service on the part of the owners. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MainePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Having guests return is the highest compliment we can receive, so thank you for a second opportunity to welcome you to the Kennebunks! We are so happy to hear that your recent visit was just as comfortable and relaxing as the first one. It is our hope that guests will come to feel like the inn is a second home, only better, since it comes with people dedicated to making sure that guests have an enjoyable stay. It is wonderful to know that we hit the right marks for you. Thank you very much for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit soon!

All the best, and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 855 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in the New Hampshire room over New Year's Eve and enjoyed our time. The Inn is beatiful and the service and food at breakfast was outstanding. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We brought our dog and they are extremely pet friendly. A cookie with his name was waiting in our room as well as a ball and bowls for food and water. Location is perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERD2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

It is so nice to hear that you had a great visit over New Year’s Eve and that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay! We try to make our four-legged guests feel just as comfortable and welcome as their humans, so it is wonderful to know that we hit the right notes. Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Wishing you the best, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I spend much of our leisure time in Kennebunkport, and I have never been so well received. Sarah and Erick truly make you fell at home, they epitomize comfort and hospiality, they just "get it".

We spent this New Years Eve at Captain Jefferds, and could not believe the attention to detail; champagne celebration till 1:00 AM, a brunch fit for the " Royals", sitting by a warm fireplace amidst beautiful holiday decore.

We will return as often as possible, you are missing a real treat if you don't visit 5 Pearl St.

Roger and Mary Pat

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We are so pleased that you had a special stay over New Year’s Eve! It is wonderful to know that you felt right at home and that all the little details we put together enhanced your visit. It is truly gratifying to hear that you felt warmly welcomed and maybe even a little pampered. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warmest wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I recently traveled to this B&B for a weekend Christmas getaway. The entire stay was top notch and so relaxing. We didn't want to leave our comfortable bed. The breakfast was incredible and you can't beat the location. We will definitely be back if we are ever in this region again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKF007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful, relaxing stay with us during the holidays. It sounds like you loved the bed and the breakfast equally well, which is exactly what we hope for. Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review. We look forward to making your next Maine getaway just as special!

Warm wishes for a very happy New Year, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This beautiful B & B is remarkable. Very nice staff and the rooms are amazing. The breakfast was great. They also have snacks and beverages around the clock. Great location, just a short drive to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and your kind words. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay! We have tried to think of all the little touches that will make a stay memorable and it sounds like we hit the right mark for you. We hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay the next time you are in Kennebunkport!

Wishing you a very happy New Year, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have been to multiple BB"s in Kennebunkport and CJI is the best!!! we wanted to get away for one last night before having our second child and we couldn't have been happier. The service from initial check in to checkout was incredible. nice homemade baked goods and fresh Warm Mulled cider, cracking fire and peaceful music make for a very relaxing afternoon.. Nice large BB but Erik and Sarah have done a great job to make it feel very warm and inviting. Breakfast was incredible, baked spiced pears with fresh raspberries, right out of the oven popovers with homemade blueberry jam, and an artichoke frittata...Delicious! the Camden room was very warm and sunny, very comfortable queen size bed and a nice fire crackling to drift asleep to. Location was very convenient as well, my wife who is full term pregnant and I had no issues walking to town,just a block away! would love to come back next year!!!

Room Tip: bring a small fan if you don;t like absolute silence, the house is quite quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

We are so glad that your quick recharge before your new bundle arrives was comfortable and relaxing! Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is truly gratifying to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your stay. And who wouldn't be thrilled to be called “the best,” especially considering the other wonderful inns in the area. We will wear the compliment proudly and look forward to helping create another special getaway for you next year! Enjoy the new addition to your family.

Warmest wishes for a joyful holiday season, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend during the Christmas Prelude in Kennebunkport and stayed at this lovely inn with its wonderful and helpful staff. The owners are gracious, the rooms beautiful with comfortable beds. Breakfast is delicious and elegantly served. The ambiance is so mello and relaxing. I recommend the inn often to others. Thank you Erik and Sarah!

Carol A

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAAProvidence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for sharing another Prelude weekend with us! It is such a special time of year that is enhanced by welcoming back familiar faces time and time again. We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful, relaxing time and that you continue to enjoy everything the inn has to offer. Thank you for your kind words. We wear you recommendations proudly! We look forward to seeing you next year!

Warmest wishes and Happy Holidays, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 25 in Kennebunkport
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,765 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 25 in Kennebunkport
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Jefferds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jefferds Inn

Address: 5 Pearl St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $215 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Jefferds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly "Your Very Special Place." The Captain Jefferds Inn Bed & Breakfast in Kennebunkport, Maine is a warm and inviting 1804 sea captain’s home. From the time you enter through this Maine inn's red front door you will experience the charm, comfort and exceptional hospitality provided by these Kennebunkport innkeepers and their dedicated staff. At the Captain Jefferds Inn it's all about personal service and little touches to enhance your stay like free wireless internet access throughout the property and afternoon tea featuring a wonderful assortment of home baked goods and light hors d'oeuvres as well as fresh squeezed lemonade and iced tea in the summer months and hot mulled cider in the winter. We are pet friendly in 5 outside entrance rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Captain Jefferds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jefferds Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Jefferds Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing