We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Kennebunkport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Jefferds Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend during the Christmas Prelude in Kennebunkport and stayed at this lovely inn with its wonderful and helpful staff. The owners are gracious, the rooms beautiful with comfortable beds. Breakfast is delicious and elegantly served. The ambiance is so mello and relaxing. I recommend the inn often to others. Thank you Erik and Sarah!

Carol A

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAAProvidence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for sharing another Prelude weekend with us! It is such a special time of year that is enhanced by welcoming back familiar faces time and time again. We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful, relaxing time and that you continue to enjoy everything the inn has to offer. Thank you for your kind words. We wear you recommendations proudly! We look forward to seeing you next year!

Warmest wishes and Happy Holidays, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 873 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

There is no better B&B, at least that we have found. We have been there for the last 3 years in December with 3 other couples (long-time friends) and find it to be a perfect meeting place. The rooms (especially the beds) are very comfortable (we bought the sheets) and nicely decorated and the breakfasts excellent. We enjoyed reading the paper in the "sunroom" off the dining room in the morning and gathering in the living room in front of the fire at night. The staff is terrific (without asking, they spent many minutes looking in couches and elsewhere for my lost car keys) and the owners gracious, pleasant and helpful but not intrusive. Treat yourself!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Having guests return to us year after year is definitely one of the most gratifying aspects of owning an inn. We are so glad to know that you had another excellent stay. It is our hope that guests will make our home their own, so we appreciate hearing that all the little touches we put out there are enjoyed. Thank you so much for allowing us to play a role in your yearly gathering; we look forward to seeing you again next December!

Warmest wishes and Happy Holidays, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was our first stay at Captain Jefferds Inn but I'm sure it won't be the last. From the moment we arrived Erik and Sarah made us welcome and did all they could to make our stay comfortable. Our room was clean, bright and beautifully furnished with the added treat of a cosy log fire in the sitting area. The breakfast was excellent and I must add that the hot mulled cider was a particulary welcome treat after a bracing walk along the beautiful coastline.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so happy to know that you had a wonderful stay. The quiet season is a great time to visit; the beaches are uncrowded and still offer spectacular spots to take scenic walks. So glad you were able to take advantage of that. It is also nice to know that you particularly enjoyed the hot mulled cider. We mull it ourselves from fresh cider, which fills the house with a wonderful scent. If you are interested, the mulling recipe is available on our website, or contact us and we will gladly send it to you. We look forward to making your second visit as enjoyable as your first!

Warm wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Historic building beautifully maintained, good location. Laptop for guest use very helpful.
Wonderful guest pantry with all day tea , coffee, snacks etc.
Log fires, soft music, all add the the full guest experience.
Most helpful and obliging staff.
We were just a little disappointed in the shower which was cramped and average performance.
The set breakfast which changes daily. It would be helpful to know in advance what is being served and have an alternative I found everything over sweet.
Howver I would still recommend this Inn as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueleeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

We are so pleased that you found the Inn welcoming, friendly, and well appointed. We certainly do our utmost to set the stage for a relaxing and memorable experience for our guests. It is our hope that little touches like offering complimentary Wi-Fi, a guest computer, afternoon tea and snacks, and complimentary beverages will allow guests to feel right at home. We do offer a set, three-course breakfast that is different each day, but we are always happy to make accommodations for people with food allergies, dietary restrictions, or folks who would prefer something simpler than the three-course meal. We will gladly prepare eggs any style, cereal, or oatmeal. When you stay with us next, just let us know your preferences. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We hope welcome you back sometime.

Best regards, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is our 4th trip and was as wonderful as ever. We will be back again. Staff are always friendly and helpful. The breakkfast is always top notch. The rooms are clean, comfortable and classy. The Connecticuit room with a gas fireplace was great on the cold November nights. This is our favorite bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We are so glad to know that you had another wonderful experience with us. It is a compliment of the highest order to have guests return time and time again and it is such a pleasure to see familiar faces come through the door. Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

All the best, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at Captain Jefferds Inn as part of a Select Registry coupon we received and had a great time.
Really our only slight negative was the room was small. Stayed in the Terrace room and expected something a little bigger given both the pictures online and the price we were paying per night. Walls were a little thin in that you could hear the kitchen prep in the morning. They did have a white noise machine in the room which did help.
With that said, five stars across the board for everything else. The staff was completely welcoming, nice, and helpful. They had attention to every detail including our dog which they treated very well. Ended up bringing a kennel for him, and obviously gave them a head's up, and they could not have been more accommodating. Very dog friendly if that is what you are looking for.
Would definitely stay there again if back in Kennebunkport.

Room Tip: Avoid the Terrace room unless you have a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mav1nav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We are so happy to hear that you had a great time with us! We have a fantastic, attentive staff and we are glad that everyone took good care of you while you were here. We appreciate that by and large you had a five star experience, however, we are sorry to hear that you were not completely delighted with the Terrace room. We have tried to accurately portray all of our rooms in both the pictures and descriptions. Each of our rooms is a different size and has a distinct personality in its décor, offering guests a variety of choices in price point and style. We will be more than happy to help guide you to a larger room on your next visit. We also regret that you were disturbed by the sounds of breakfast prep. Terrace does share a wall with the kitchen. We do our best to keep the sound to a minimum and have provided a white noise machine to help mitigate any noise that carries. Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to helping you find a room that is a perfect fit on your next visit.

Best regards, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent one night here with another couple. The place was very clean, warm and friendly. We all had a wonderful stay. Breakfast was yummy. My friends had a dog and they were taken cared of very well. The place is very thoughtful even having a dog cookie for her dog. All the employees were very nice. Will definitely stay here if we return to kennebunkport. Location is very convenient as well. We had the Terrace Room which was quaint and clean. My friends had the Vermont room which had a covered patio area. Nice place to relax.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Terrace Room is nice but not the room if you want real privacy. The Vermont Room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mintleaf9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words and recommendation! We are very happy to hear that you and your friends had a wonderful stay. Our aim is to provide a warm, welcoming environment that invites relaxation, so it is lovely to know that we hit the right notes for you. We’re glad that you found breakfast to be tasty; we try to make the meal worthy of being a highlight of the experience here. It is also nice to know that your friends felt that they and their dog were well taken care of. We try to pamper all of our guests, even the four legged ones. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again sometime!

Best wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 25 in Kennebunkport
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 25 in Kennebunkport
877 reviews
0.6 mi away
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Kennebunkport
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn
#5 of 25 in Kennebunkport
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Jefferds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jefferds Inn

Address: 5 Pearl St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $214 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Jefferds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly "Your Very Special Place." The Captain Jefferds Inn Bed & Breakfast in Kennebunkport, Maine is a warm and inviting 1804 sea captain’s home. From the time you enter through this Maine inn's red front door you will experience the charm, comfort and exceptional hospitality provided by these Kennebunkport innkeepers and their dedicated staff. At the Captain Jefferds Inn it's all about personal service and little touches to enhance your stay like free wireless internet access throughout the property and afternoon tea featuring a wonderful assortment of home baked goods and light hors d'oeuvres as well as fresh squeezed lemonade and iced tea in the summer months and hot mulled cider in the winter. We are pet friendly in 5 outside entrance rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Captain Jefferds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jefferds Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Jefferds Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing