We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the exorbitant prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain Jefferds Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Captain Jefferds Inn sits in a quiet and charming neighborhood in Kennebunkport. The main inn is very charming, breakfasts are good (a bit over the top for some reason), the staff friendly and the place clean. We booked the Baxter "carriage house" because we had our dog--it was rather expensive (close to 400 a night) and the pet fee high. But the pictures and innkeeper description assured us it was very large and roomy and luxury. It was anything but. First, what they DIDNT mention was that we were right below another room--and the people had 2 big dogs. So we heard the thumping, walking, creaking, and all the bathroom sounds (UGHHHH) above us for both nights and both mornings. Asking the asst. innkeeper to mention there were people below did not help--the place is very old and very creaky and the noise woke us up many times. It was unplesant. In addition, the room was not luxury-the toilet seat was cheap plastic and came loose, the shower fixture was loose and leaking, and overall, the room was small and the bathroom tiny. Theres a huge soaking tub right in the room--rather odd. The TV cables all came loose, and we had to figure out how to put them back so it would work. Overall, for the price, the room was very substandard and certainly not a "luxury room", as advertised. I estimate the room should have gone more for 200 a night to match what we got and we felt the innkeeper should have let us know it was right below others and the floors noisy. I asked other guests about their rooms--many liked theirs, but I did hear some complaints from other guests. We would not return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrDANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

We are very sorry that we failed to meet this guest's expectations. As innkeepers we want our guests to be able to relax and enjoy their time at our B&B by offering varied accommodations in our 1804 Captain's home. We value our guest's opinions and continually try to improve their experience whenever possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 853 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

A great inn, near downtown Kennebunkport, close to the ocean walk and with very nice facilities. Staff was very accommodating, Common areas were quite pleasant and a good place to meet other guests. Good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wlgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

We are so happy to know that you had a very pleasant stay and that you found the Inn and staff warm and welcoming. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Not too impressed. A very small room with a cupboard for a bathroom - not at all good value for $200. Breakfast was weird, salsa, spicy bacon(one burnt rasher) and a chilli egg puff with no choice if you didn't like this type of food(mexican food first thing in the morning!!) Never saw the owners and compared to the welcome we received at other Inns in our trip through New England this lack of hospitality was most disappointing

Room Tip: Pay up if you can to get a room of a decent size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

When a guest "walks in" to our B&B without a reservation we show them all of the available rooms. In this case the guest was shown 4 rooms at different price points and chose the room that he stayed in.
As far as breakfast we always offer a choice of eggs, anyway you would like them, or hot or cold cereal if you are not interested in what we are serving that morning.
We wish that guests would express their concerns during their stay as we will gladly accommodate their needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

You will love staying at this B&B. The inn is clean and charming. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. A beautiful experience. We enjoyed the lovely and delicious breakfasts. This inn is definitely a keeper for our future travel plans. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbarabillm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

It is a fun compliment and an honor to be called a “keeper.” We are so glad that you had a beautiful experience here and greatly appreciate your enthusiastic review! It will be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Kennebunkport.

Wishing you the best, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were greeted by Steve at the door and he insisted on bringing our bags to our room! He showed us around the inn and let us settle in. The inn is lovely and the sun room was so warm and inviting. There were nice snacks and beverages available which was a nice touch. My only complaint was the breakfast...the main course wasn't my cup of tea! I would recommend this inn to my friends and family and only wish that we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebirds77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

We are so pleased that you had a nice stay and that you enjoyed the sun room and the complimentary snacks and beverages. The sun room, with its three walls of windows, does make a great spot to relax with the newspaper or a pot of tea. We regret that you were unsatisfied with the main course offered at breakfast and wish you had mentioned your concern at the time. We are always happy to accommodate guests by providing a choice of eggs prepared any style, cereal or oatmeal. Thank you for your kind words and your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back for perhaps a longer stay next time!

Best regards, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Impeccably clean, extremely comfortable, and great location to walk everywhere. The inn keepers have hired a professional, warm and welcoming staff to assist them in maintaining their obvious high guest lodging standards. The breakfast is delicicious. If you choose, there is wine to purchase to accompany the afternoon snacks they offer in the beautiful sunroom or sit outside on the precious brick deck in the warm sun. The feather bed outfitted with high threadcount sheets is a welcome retreat at the end of the day.My husband and I do a lot of traveling, and we wouldn't hestitate to return to Eric & Sarah's Captain Jefferds Inn. - Karen & Ed C.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate knowing that you found the Inn comfortable and our team to be warm and welcoming. We want our guests to feel well taken care of, so your feedback is truly gratifying. Thank you for visiting us and allowing us to play a part in making your time in Maine special. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Warmest wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Nothing new to report here other than to say we had a great experience at the Captain Jefferds Inn. When I called to make the reservation, the only room available was the "Hideaway" room. They warned me it was a tiny room with a tiny bathroom. I booked anyway and took my chances. Yes, the room was small, but it was as neat as a pin. If traveling with kids, this room would be perfect for them. (Not sure if they allow kids...) I dropped a vitamin and crouched down to find it and noticed that there wasn't a speck of dust anywhere either under the bed or under the dresser. Unusual in an old house. There are a few rooms that have their own screened porches, so if you enjoy a morning or evening with some seclusion, I'd recommend asking about those rooms. They also had well maintained bikes that we took out for a few hours. There is a 7 mile ride that takes you out along the water and loops you back into town in a hour and a half. Always a great way to see a town.
Breakfast is served at a large table with half the guests at one seating and the other half an hour later. If you prefer to eat early you may want to tell them that when you book as it seemed the early seating filled up first, but that may just have been the crowd's preference while I was there. My only constructive criticism would be that breakfast was very sweet. Fruit with sweetened cream or yogurt, pancakes, scones, et cetera. I'm more of a savory breakfast eater. That being said, I never requested anything else, so in all fairness I'm sure they would have made accommodations for me had I asked.
Overall a very good experience. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTFV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

We are so happy to know that you had a great stay! Thank you for sharing your experience and so many helpful tips. Hideaway is indeed our smallest room, so we do always stress that while charming and well-appointed, it is not particularly spacious. It is great to hear that the size didn't detract from your overall enjoyment. As you mention, three of our rooms have private screened porches which provide lovely spots to relax and our beach cruiser bikes definitely offer a fun way to toot around town. The loop you highlighted follows the Kennebunk River past the mouth where it meets the ocean, offering dramatic views of the rocky Maine shoreline. We appreciate your feedback regarding breakfast. We alternate days offering sweet and savory entrees in our three-course menu but are always happy to offer eggs prepared any style, cereal, or oatmeal if guests prefer. We hope to have the opportunity to see you again sometime!

All the best, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 25 in Kennebunkport
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,762 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 25 in Kennebunkport
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Jefferds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jefferds Inn

Address: 5 Pearl St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $214 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Jefferds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly "Your Very Special Place." The Captain Jefferds Inn Bed & Breakfast in Kennebunkport, Maine is a warm and inviting 1804 sea captain’s home. From the time you enter through this Maine inn's red front door you will experience the charm, comfort and exceptional hospitality provided by these Kennebunkport innkeepers and their dedicated staff. At the Captain Jefferds Inn it's all about personal service and little touches to enhance your stay like free wireless internet access throughout the property and afternoon tea featuring a wonderful assortment of home baked goods and light hors d'oeuvres as well as fresh squeezed lemonade and iced tea in the summer months and hot mulled cider in the winter. We are pet friendly in 5 outside entrance rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Captain Jefferds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jefferds Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Jefferds Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing