We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Terrace Room is our favorite1”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Jefferds Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We recently stayed at the inn for our third or fourth time. We originally picked this inn because we were looking for a pet friendly inn. This place bring "pet friendly" to a new level! My dog gets just as excited when we pull into the parking lot at Captain Jefferds as he does when we pull into our driveway at home! There is a cookie with his name on it, a tennis ball, towels, blanket, and sheets (nicer than any other places we've stayed at ourselves!) waiting just for him! The park and grounds are perfect for early morning walks.

When we stayed the first time, we were a little surprised about the breakfast being all at one table, but as soon as we sat down and everyone started talking, it was so nice to see where everyone was from and how many people have stayed before. Now we wouldn't have it any other way.

We have only stayed in one room, The Terrace Room, we like it so much we've never tried any other room.

I don't think the staff could be anymore accommodating, I'm diabetic and request sugar free items for breakfast and they always go out of their way to get me anything I need.

Great stay as always, we will be back next year!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy1583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 873 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2011

We wanted to travel to Maine for the weekend and there are plenty of places to stay and we wondered why so many people have so many nice things to say about the The Captain Jefferds Inn. It is especially suspect when the establishment is self-anointed with the tag line of A Very Special Place.
However, the LuxuryLink.com three night package was priced right and it seemed like a perfect fit for our travel schedule, and there was space available!

We decided to book a suite for a weekend and we could draw our own conclusions.

Upon arriving at the property, the first thing we noticed were the grounds were all extremely well maintained. The attentive restoration and level of exterior care were obvious, no peeling paint and no shortcuts in details....the inn was an old seafaring captains house many, many years and it still looks great today....maybe even better than when the original built and occupied it.

Stepping inside, it is tastefully but not overly furnished or decorated not like some inns and B&B accommodations in New England many appear to be little more than cluttered antique stores or indoor flea markets.

Arrival at Kennebunkport and locating the Captain Jefferds was a breeze....our GPS directed us right up to the front entry gate of their ample off-street parking lot.

The front door was open, so we let ourselves inside.

Hi, announced the weekend manager we've been expecting you and thought you might enjoy the Adare Suite for your stay. It's on the third floor, but if you don't like climbing steps, we have other space available.

Want to look Adare?

I can handle those bags for you, he offered, as we climbed up the main hall staircase.

I love the Adare Suite, he continued, as he skillfully maneuvered both bags (heavy because we had spent the morning at the outlets in Freeport and managed to load up on bargains).

Check out the two sided fireplace, it opens into both the bathroom and right here in the bedroom, he carefully pointed out, as we entered the suite. Nice way to keep your bottoms warm on these cool Maine mornings!

Good point, nice feature to have warm bottoms on cool mornings!

After inspecting the bath, which had both a separate shower (dual shower heads interesting possibilities) and a soaking tub, complete with a small yellow rubber duck and bubble bath, we decided this suite would do just fine

Squeeze it, he said, the little duck lights up!

Well, you get the idea; just starting a weekend with an illuminating yellow rubber duck for your tub soaking time in the dark, somehow boded well for the entire stay.

Would you care to come back downstairs, asked the manager, I can offer you a glass of wine, or maybe some coffee or tea while you finish your paper work and I explain how breakfast works.

Didn't seem like explaining breakfast would be all that complicated or necessary, but the offer of a free glass of wine was enticing.

Turns out breakfast is a big deal. Served on a fixed schedule in the formal dining room with full china and flatware and linen napkins, the meals becomes the culinary showcase for Erik Linbolm, who is the co-owner, along with is wife, Sarah. Breakfast is always a three course affair and allows the guests to meander through introduction, food and interesting chatter. During our stay, most of the other guests were return visitors from as far south as NYC and as far west at Albany.

What is impressive, is the fact Erik doesn't have a single commercial grade appliances in his small kitchen, but the magic happens morning after morning!

We were told, over the years, almost everyone asks for at least one recipe, they are neatly printed and available on handy cards, if requested.

All of the staff, including owners, Sarah and Erik Linbolm, are charming, engaging and not the least bit intrusive. They seem always to be available if information or suggestions are needed (this can be a delicate balance in guest relation, many places fail to accomplish successfully too much or too little, but almost never just right).

DETAILS:

We loved the high thread count Frette bed linens (after all what is not to love about bed sheets that can range upwards of a thousand dollar a set).Frette linens are sheer luxury and all but guarantee A comfortable nights sleep, especially when teamed up with a salty Atlantic breeze wafting through your suite.

Wasn't expecting a wine list another surprise! Although they don't serve lunch or dinner, they do maintain a small wine cellar, What it may lack by it's brevity, it more than makes up in quality boutique choices.

If champagne is your vice, you may wish to savor a bottle of Pol Roget (not many small inns in the US can boast carrying this exquisite French nectar on their wine lists).Good choice, Sarah!
How about some morning exercise? The staff has a variety of detailed maps for great morning walks or speed treks best views of the beaches take this route want to see the summer home of George Herbert Walker Bush take this route down Ocean Avenue....want to get the best photos of the fishing boats, take this route and the lists continue!

Also, a big thanks to Sarah and Erik for directing us to The Ramp Bar & Grill over in Cape Porpoise Harbor. Something special about a hardcore sports bar stuck under a gourmet restaurant, mostly filled by locals rather than tourists [kudos to the chef on the Moroccan cous cous with harissa] in Cape Porpoise Harbor)!

Sarah and Erik certainly seem to know all of the good places to eat and willingly assist in getting a table reserved (we especially enjoyed our meal at Grissini Italian Bistro and the Friday Night Flights proved to be a real bargain and an opportunity to ramble through their impressive wine list).

However, the late night meal at Bandaloop proved to be one of the highlight dining experiences of the weekend. This is a very tiny establishment and it appeared everyone knew everyone (with the exception of us), so it is about the food and getting caught up on local chatter that makes for a fun time. Scott and Bridget Lee, chef/owners, have taken great efforts to source their provision from local providers and the symbiotic relationships result in fresh and healthy meals.

Most, if not all, of the popular dining haunts are crowded and it can be tough to score a weekend reservation, but check with Sarah and/or Erik and see if they can work their magic before giving up.

So, if your travels draw you to southern coast of Maine, consider The Captain Jefferds Inn.

It really is all about the details and these folks do just about everything perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omegaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Once again we had such a wonderful stay at Captain Jefferds Inn. The Inn is beautifully appointed, spot clean to perfection and a scruptious homemade breakfast with all the fixins. We recommend the Inn to everyone we know- Keep up the great work!

Room Tip: all the rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdoherty42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed here (November 3rd - 5th) on final leg of our tour of 6 states in New England. It was great. We stayed in Wyeth - a lovely room; the only downside was that the log fire was not gas. The breakfasts and treats laid out to tempt guests were delicious. All the staff (including the owner Erik) were very welcoming and courteous. We went on a walk/run which was very scenic and interesting and enjoyed some lovely meals.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a gas fire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDL2264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Twice we received very, very poor customer service...The first time was last December 2010. We saw the rooms all have a DVD player online. When we got to the Inn there was no player in the room so we asked for one. We were there for a "Girl's Christmas Weekend" and we traditionally every year all watch the Polar Express movie while we open gifts at an Inn.

The innkeeper's assistant told us that was not possible and we would have to watch it in the family room downstairs. So that was ruined. I was not going to bring my guests and all the gifts down there where all the other guests were. So I made a complaint to the Innkeepers and they gave us a discount off a room to try them again at another time.

So I booked a room this year for November 5th, 2011 to stay again, with my Mother, who cannot climb stairs. I was called by the Innkeeper three days before my arrival only to be told the room we requested (the only room on the first floor level) was now occupied by a family member who lost power and we would have to reschedule for another weekend.

They offered us another room upstairs which will not work if my Mother cannot climb stairs and they knew that. I thanked them for ruining my weekend a second time. I told the innkeepers I will never stay at their inn ever again. My 80 year old Mother was heart broken to find out we were not going to this Inn this weekend.

This was very cruel of the innkeepers. Then they have the nerve to call me and tell me they moved the family member to another place. If they were able to do that in the first palce why did they call and ruin our weekend?? These Innkeeper's should not be in the hospitality business at all. They do not care about their guests!

Room Tip: Do not stay here...you will be sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadybugNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

A beautiful house, tastefully furnished and in keeping with a past era. We stayed in the Chatham room on the ground floor and it was spacious and elegant with everything you could possibly need. It was not the cheapest inn we stayed in, but it was worth the extra. We really recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Can recommend the Chatham room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AoftheManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Beautiful house in every detail, friendly people, amazing breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuizaBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 25 in Kennebunkport
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 25 in Kennebunkport
877 reviews
0.6 mi away
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Kennebunkport
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn
#5 of 25 in Kennebunkport
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Jefferds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jefferds Inn

Address: 5 Pearl St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $214 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Jefferds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly "Your Very Special Place." The Captain Jefferds Inn Bed & Breakfast in Kennebunkport, Maine is a warm and inviting 1804 sea captain’s home. From the time you enter through this Maine inn's red front door you will experience the charm, comfort and exceptional hospitality provided by these Kennebunkport innkeepers and their dedicated staff. At the Captain Jefferds Inn it's all about personal service and little touches to enhance your stay like free wireless internet access throughout the property and afternoon tea featuring a wonderful assortment of home baked goods and light hors d'oeuvres as well as fresh squeezed lemonade and iced tea in the summer months and hot mulled cider in the winter. We are pet friendly in 5 outside entrance rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Captain Jefferds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jefferds Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Jefferds Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing