We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Jefferds Inn
Ranked #2 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2007

My wife and I recently returned from a wonderful weekend away in Kennebunkport. After looking on the internet at seemingly mediocre properties for hours on end, I knew instantly that this would be the perfect place. We're usually not too into B&Bs as we like our privacy but this particular property had the perfect balance between comfort, privacy and the good aspects of B&Bs--terrific breakfast and afternoon tea along with lots of personalized style. On the other hand, Sarah and Erik, the innkeepers, provided excellent service and were suprisingly attentive to all aspects of our stay--qualities one might expect from a larger operation. Our room was clean, comfortable and tastfully decorated in Federal style.

We walked to dinner each night--Hurricane and Bandaloop. Hurricane was great but was sort of a run of the mill coastal steak and seafood place that exists in most upscale seaside towns. Dollar oysters on Sundays after 4 were a nice surprise. Bandaloop proves that if you limit your Maine culinary experience to lobster, you are really missing out. Emphasis was on quality local ingredients and some very nice affordable wines. Lunch at the Ramp in Cape Porpoise was a lot of fun.

It was a great weekend getaway and we're already planning our trip back.

  • Liked — Classic New England style.
  • Disliked — A tad pricey for the offseason.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BostonLegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    50
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
92
564
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

On a short notice stay in Kennebunkport, my husnamd and I needed accomodations. After a reference from On the Marsh restaurant, we decided to look into the Captain Jefferds Inn. Even without reservations, The innkeeper, Chris, was very accomodating and showed us to the Hideaway room. While quaint in size, it was extremely accomodating and cozy. We had the best night's sleep in a long time! Breakfast was a treat. The pancakes were out of this world, and conversation with other guests around the dining room table was pleasent. Looking forward to another trip to Maine and Captain Jeffards!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank JackieOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

Captain Jefferds Inn is a wonderful place to stay. The innkeepers are very nice and have great suggestions for things to do in the area. Breakfast is delicious and the rooms are spotless and decorated beautifully. I would not change one thing about the inn. The terrace room is detached from the main house and is great.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paris19791313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

Unfortunately we were only able to stay for two nights, this is a great place. We had the Hideaway room and even though that is their smallest room it was big enough for two, full of charm and nicely furnished. Breakfast was superb and we particularly enjoyed the fact that breakfast was served at fixed times with all guest around one table, which had the advantage of meeting lots of interesting people! The house itself is in a briliant location, with everything close by in walking distance. Staff and owner were very accomodating and attentive. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bbc1Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Captain Jefferds Inn in late July and we just loved it! The house is beautiful and the grounds are just perfect for enjoying a summer afternoon. We stayed in the smallest room in the inn (the Hideaway) and it was bigger than we expected and adorably decorated (although it did get a tad hot at times, even with the air on). Every day from late afternooon on there were delcious cookies and other desserts for the guests, and all day long some of the best coffee and tea I ever had was available. We brought our dog along with us and she was provided with her very own treats, food bowls, placemat, and blankets. She even got to play with the inn dog, Eloise, who is just the sweetest little thing. The innkeepers were incredibly friendly, providing us with towels and beach chairs for our trip to the beach, carrying an ironing board and iron up to our room when we needed it, and just simply making us feel at home the entire time we were there. I definitely recommend this inn to anyone staying in Kennebunkport!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank addie_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.6 mi away
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Jefferds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jefferds Inn

Property: Captain Jefferds Inn
Address: 5 Pearl St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Jefferds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly "Your Very Special Place." The Captain Jefferds Inn Bed & Breakfast in Kennebunkport, Maine is a warm and inviting 1804 sea captain’s home. From the time you enter through this Maine inn's red front door you will experience the charm, comfort and exceptional hospitality provided by these Kennebunkport innkeepers and their dedicated staff. At the Captain Jefferds Inn it's all about personal service and little touches to enhance your stay like free wireless internet access throughout the property and afternoon tea featuring a wonderful assortment of home baked goods and light hors d'oeuvres as well as fresh squeezed lemonade and iced tea in the summer months and hot mulled cider in the winter. We are pet friendly in 5 outside entrance rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Captain Jefferds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jefferds Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Jefferds Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing