We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful KPT "retreat"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Fairfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Fairfield Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful KPT "retreat"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We can see why this property has the great reviews -- we only stayed here for one night as a treat at the end of a two week trip, and really enjoyed ourselves. Jed and Alana are the perfect hosts -- warm, friendly, helpful. Breakfasts are delicious. Our weather was perfect so we enjoyed the outside couch/lounging spaces under the elms as well. You feel completely cocooned from the craziness of the shopping area, yet are only a 5-minute walk away. We also enjoyed sailing on the Schooner Eleanor, lunch at David's KPT, ice cream at Rococco, and dinner at Bandaloop.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrdywmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Wow! For only one night you certainly packed in a lot of the best of Kennebunkport! We are so pleased that your stay at our boutique inn was a highlight of your trip and hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    74
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
522
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We booked one night here as a special treat. We chose it because it was number 1 B and B in Kennebunkport. What a treat and certainly exceeded our expectations. We had room 8 because it's the only one that has an extra bed for a child but we didn't feel unwelcome because we had a child with us. A really warm welcome including our own iPad to use, loaded with sights, restaurants and other useful stuff. Lovely boutique room. Use of a beautiful lounge and garden area with garden games and fire pits. Free beach parking permit, beach chairs and towels. 3 course breakfast was a real indulgence. We ended up staying 2 nights due to losing our car rental key. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful during this stressful moment, letting us use their phone to sort it all out and giving us a discount on our second night. Fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waytooslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We're glad that we could help out during your stressful time with the lost rental car key. We know what it's like when the unexpected happens during a holiday! Thank you for your kind words about our Kennebunkport inn and all our services and luxuries. We hope to see you again the new time you "hop the pond."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We booked room #8 (Parsons) at this Inn. What an unexpected treat since this Inn was not my first choice. The property is central to local shopping, dining and boat excursions yet tucked away in a beautiful tree laden residential area. If I counted correctly, there are 9 rooms. We were located on the second floor next to the last room. If you are looking for quiet, I would suggest room 3/4 since these two are on the end of the second floor overlooking Pleasant Street. Our window overlooked the outdoor fire pit and patio area. I only wish we could have enjoyed the space however the rain kept us inside. The electric fireplace in our room was quite cozy. The bed was made for "Pleasant" dreams. So cushy, it took minutes to fall into a deep sleep. The room decor is very modern yet quaint. We ordered a cheese board and wine which was very good . We took our wine down to the first floor sitting area and enjoyed the spacious hip feel of the room with a glowing fire. The morning breakfast was UNBELIEVABLE. This would have cost you easily $70 dollars for 2 in a fine dining hotel restaurant. Service impeccable. We arrived 2 hours early and happily given a room key to settle in. I typically do not seek out bed and breakfast Inn's however this one I will return to. Great experience all the way around. Nice touch in giving you an iPad upon arrival to search and seek the wonderful places in Kennybunkport.

Room Tip: 2 Floors...Rooms 8/9 are at the end of the second floor. Rooms 3/4 would most likely be the quietes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed our Kennebunkport inn's cushy beds and great breakfasts. That's what a getaway is all about! Thank you for your review and detailed thoughts about our tree-laden downtown neighborhood location, impeccable service and hip guest lounge. We hope next time you visit you're blessed with great weather to enjoy our fire table and outdoor space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Captain Fairfield Inn for our wedding anniversary. We loved it. The inn was clean, and the breakfast was amazing! The best part about the breakfast was that even though it was early in the morning, if you slept through it, they sent you a breakfast basket to eat in bed (which we did!). The innkeeper, Jessica, was so sweet and helpful and nice. Our room, the James, was comfortable, clean, and private. The inn is also walking distance from the cute shops and town, so it was super easy to get around. We really enjoyed our weekend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbaroo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your "thumbs up" review of our Kennebunkport inn. We appreciate your recommendation and are so pleased that you loved our breakfast basket option. Sometimes you've just gotta sleep in! Please do come visit again the next time you need that Maine fix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcell, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We loved the Capt. Fairfield and would definitely stay there again and will recommend it to our friends! Jessica could not have been a better host from recommending restaurants and places to go, to the wonderful breakfasts. She even left a basket of breakfast at our door when we didn't make it up one morning. It was a fantastic vacation!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Vineyard Vines Suite and found it very comfortable and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purcell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
It's so nice to hear that you enjoyed the sunny, beachy vineyard vines suite at our Kennebunkport inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed the wonderful concierge suggestions and all around great service of Jessica and our team. Please visit Captain Fairfield Inn again the next team you travel to New England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed at the Captain Fairfield Inn for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it! The hospitality, breakfast (and cookies in the afternoon!), and location were exceptional. We highly recommend it and can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: Highly recommend "The Library".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
It was a joy to have you visit and we were honored to be part of your honeymoon travels. Thank you for your kind words about our hospitality and cooking abilities. It means a lot! Do please stay at our Kennebunkport inn again the next time your vacation schedule brings you north. Congratulations and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

From the moment we stepped in, we were definitely impressed! The inn-keepers Jessica & Jeb were wonderful and upon approaching them, you felt as if you were the only guest in the house, they were very attentive to our needs! The breakfasts were delicious and the room (#4) was clean, very comfortable and quiet! Room 4 is on the second floor towards the front of the house and recently renovated with modern touches. We had such a beautiful time that we stayed an extra night!!! I would definitely stay at this Inn upon retuning to Kennebunkport and would recommend to all my family and friends! This Inn is very special in that they have awesome people running the inn and it is like home away from home!! Do not hesitate to stay here, it took me 3 years to find the perfect place & it was definitely the perfect choice! Thank you Jessica & Jeb, I hope Lark hotels appreciate the wonderful service that you provide for your guests!!

Sincerely, Jeff & Gini

Room Tip: Room 4 was at the front of the house on the second floor, we loved the view and it was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gini211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are honored that your choice of Captain Fairfield Inn as the "perfect place" was the result of three years of research. Wow! Our onsite team of Alana, Jed and Jessica are certainly very valued here at Lark Hotels as are all our wonderful managers and our terrific designer, Rachel Reider (who recently completed those updates on Room 4). Our motto is "amenities you desire, service you'll remember and a touch of mischief." We are so pleased that we delivered all the way around for your Kennebunkport getaway. Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.4 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Fairfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Fairfield Inn

Property: Captain Fairfield Inn
Address: 8 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Fairfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport's Boutique Choice. An artful blend of bold and soft modern design. Crisp, uncluttered rooms. Located in the heart of Kennebunkport, just steps from Dock Square. Expected amenities like plush beds, designer linens, fireplaces, whirlpool and soaking tubs, wireless Internet. Unexpected luxuries like iPod docking stations, French press coffee, 32" HDTVs, beach chairs and towels, warm cookies in the afternoon an an outdoor lounge with fire tables. A creative gourmet breakfast prepared with fresh seasonal and local ingredients; choose a multi-course breakfast served at your own table in the dining room, or coffee and a pastry basket delivered to your door. Customize your stay with packages, a la carte add-ons and personalized itineraries. A carefully-selected wine list and small plates menu compliment a relaxing afternoon or evening. With 9 rooms, the inn is sized to offer exclusive attention to your wishes, or privacy if you prefer. Located on a quiet street near the center of Kennebunkport; just a short walk to nearby restaurants, the quaint harbor and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Captain Fairfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Fairfield Hotel Kennebunkport
Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport
Fairfield Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing