We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Captain Fairfield Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Captain Fairfield Inn and we were delighted with our stay. The Innkeepers were warm and welcoming. Upon arrival we were given an IPad containing all sorts of wonderful information. We relaxed in the living room by the fire before heading out to dinner. The Inn is so conveniently located - we walked to restaurants and shops! As it was a cold fall weekend, we did not take advantage of the beautiful yard! The room was spacious and very comfortable and had a wonderful fireplace to add to the ambience. Breakfast was fantastic and we were greeted with warmth and friendliness. Alana and Jed made the stay extra special.

We highly recommend the Captain Fairfield Inn.

Cheryl M.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We love seeing the word "delighted" in a review. What better way is there to describe a stay at a Lark Hotel? We are so pleased that you enjoyed the iPad filled with local, Kennebunkport activities and attractions, our great location so close to Dock Square and all the shops and restaurants, and most of all, the service of Jed & Alana. Please visit our Kennebunkport boutique inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    74
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
528
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ellington, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here through a discounted price on Rue La La. What an amazing place. From the moment we walked in we were treated like family, ready with a glass of wine, for us, recommendations for dinner and offering to take our bags to our rooms. The innkeepers were top notch and extremely hospitable. Our room was immaculate and very tastefully decorated - not your grandmother's B&B. It was so quiet we couldn't believe the entire inn was booked. The gourmet breakfasts in the morning were amazing as were the afternoon cookies. But our favorite had to be sitting by a roaring fire in the early evening with a bottle of wine. Amazing! We will definitely return and would highly recommend staying here to anyone looking for a relaxing and to antic getaway.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 and loved it. Very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Oh. . .we soooo love comments that describe us as "not your grandmother's B&B!" Our boutique, chic inn is anything but, so it's a great compliment. (However, we are confident your grandma would love it!). Thank you for your kind words and for describing your romantic getaway to Kennebunkport in such glowing terms. We are so pleased that you loved the roaring fire, afternoon cookies, wine and, most of all, Jed and Alana's top-notch service. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Maine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Booked one night via Jetsetter.com for a steal! From the moment I read the tripadvisor reviews I knew this place would be amazing. This B&B definitely delivered! Alana and Jed took care of us like no other hotel I have ever been to. And yes, the rumors are true, the chocolate chip cookies were out of this world! At check in we were given an ipad with easy to navigate pages for acitivites/restaurants in the area and also a glass of chilled white wine. What a way to unwind! The breakfast the following morning was one of the best I've ever had. Our guest room was modern and I really liked how the inn kept much of the historic feel while having very modern touches. I can not WAIT to go back but for at least two nights!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We love that you say our boutique Kennebunkport inn "kept much of the historic feel while having very modern touches." That was exactly our intent! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that Jed and Alana took great care of you. They love what they do and it means a lot when guests comment on their extraordinary service. We hope you'll return again soon. There'll be cookies and wine awaiting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stetson, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have a tradition of going on a 1 night holiday to celebrate our anniversary each year, looking for interesting places within about 3 hours drive from home. This year was our 41st. Selected Captain Fairfield Inn based on Kennebunkport location, Tripadvisor reviews, and Jetsetter sale price. everything was as advertised. Wine and cookies on arrival, comfortable room, well laid out. Helpful, pleasant staff. Excellent full breakfast. Great value, particularly with Jetsetter discount.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeStetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for celebrating your anniversary at Captain Fairfield Inn. We appreciate you choosing us and we are so glad you have a lovely stay to celebrate your special day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Have just returned to the UK having spent 4 days at the Captain Fairfield with Alana and Jed. This is the third of the chain of Lark Hotels we have stayed in and it did not disappoint. I'm sure there are a number of good gust houses to stay at in Kennebunkport we happened to go here on past experience with this small group of Boutique guest houses....it's first class and a real pleasure to end our two week stay with these guys. Well done to all

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your recommendation! We are so pleased that you had such a lovely time at Captain Fairfield Inn as well as at all our Lark Hotels. We are adding new boutique properties soon, so be on the look out. We look forward to your next visit from the UK - either again in Kennebunkport or at one of our other locations. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We flew in from the Midwest and had an excellent stay at the Captain Fairfield. The breakfast was awesome, location was within walking distance of everything to do in Kennebunport. Rooms and facilities were clean and everyone was friendly. Thanks!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #9 that was at the end and had a lot of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for your review. We greatly appreciate your kind words! Please visit us again the next time you travel east from Omaha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Traveling to southern Connecticut? If so, stop at the Captain Fairfield Inn, located in beautiful Kennebunkport, home of the Bush family and some awesome inn keepers.

You won't find a friendlier family-run B & B, with great rooms, a beautiful common space and a fabulous breakfast. The price is reasonable, and it's a great stopping-off point for exploration of this beautiful town.

Room Tip: They're all nice. I think ours was the least expensive, and it was terrific anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kidfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for your recommendation for our southern Maine boutique inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our lovely lounge, rooms, and gourmet breakfasts made such an impression. Please come again soon for Jed and Alana's exceptional service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#6 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Fairfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Fairfield Inn

Property: Captain Fairfield Inn
Address: 8 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Fairfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport's Boutique Choice. An artful blend of bold and soft modern design. Crisp, uncluttered rooms. Located in the heart of Kennebunkport, just steps from Dock Square. Expected amenities like plush beds, designer linens, fireplaces, whirlpool and soaking tubs, wireless Internet. Unexpected luxuries like iPod docking stations, French press coffee, 32" HDTVs, beach chairs and towels, warm cookies in the afternoon an an outdoor lounge with fire tables. A creative gourmet breakfast prepared with fresh seasonal and local ingredients; choose a multi-course breakfast served at your own table in the dining room, or coffee and a pastry basket delivered to your door. Customize your stay with packages, a la carte add-ons and personalized itineraries. A carefully-selected wine list and small plates menu compliment a relaxing afternoon or evening. With 9 rooms, the inn is sized to offer exclusive attention to your wishes, or privacy if you prefer. Located on a quiet street near the center of Kennebunkport; just a short walk to nearby restaurants, the quaint harbor and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Captain Fairfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Fairfield Hotel Kennebunkport
Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport
Fairfield Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing