We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Romantic Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Fairfield Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Fairfield Inn
Ranked #5 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Romantic Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for his birthday weekend and it was a great trip. The staff is extremely friendly, the rooms are extremely clean, modern remodels and the fireplace keeps everything toasty. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I got this trip on Jetsetter ... totally worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    70
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
496
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great accommodations in a historic inn with modern ammenities and luxurious bedding at very competitive prices. The innkeepers Alana and Jed were very welcoming and helpful. Upon arrival and check-in we were treated to a complimentary glass of wine and our New Year's Eve included a champagne toast with others staying at the inn. Breakfast was superb and plentiful. The inn is located in a quiet residential area in the midst of several other inns and conveniently within a short walk to Dock square. We hope to return on our next visit to Kennebunkport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJOtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our stay at the Captain Fairfield Inn was absolutely fantastic. The innkeepers were super accommodating. The whole place was perfectly quaint with just the right touch of luxury. Room was perfect, fireplace in the room was a lovely addition. The included breakfasts were amazing, particularly the fresh maine blueberry pancakes. Plan to be making many returns here in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Captain Fairfield Inn was such a wonderful stay. Could not have asked for a more responsive staff as I am a vegan and they kindly changed their menu/made sure that they had vegan food available. There is a great mix of room available to suit anyones tastes. Ours was a contemporary with a gas fireplace, flatscreen t.v. and a lounge chair that could not have been more comfortable to enjoy some wine on the rainy day that we arrived. It was our first visit but will definitely not be our last.

Room Tip: Use their website to help you find a room that suits your personality/style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Narnold222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

From the first moment of arrival we were greeted and treated as most welcomed guests. The accommodations were superb.
The rooms were fresh and well appointed. The linens were Frette and we luxuriated in their comfort.
The food was all first rate with very fresh juices, breads and creatively prepared courses. The coffee was great.
Each afternoon we were greeted by homemade cookies and hot drinks which hit the spot.
The resident inn keepers. Alana and Jed were genuinely nice, friendly and were always willing to do more to ensure that our experience at the Captain Fairfield Inn was memorable and wonderful.
My wife and I would return, in a heart beat, to this most enjoyable inn.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilford, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We arrived during a snowstorm and the Inn could not have been more charming or inviting. Our room, "The Library" was spectacular!!! Complete with King bed, couch, and gas fireplace [flat screen above]. The Inn keepers were delightful and the breakfast was delicious. Each room is given an Ipad upon arrival which contains area restaurant info, sights, shops, and newspapers. Definitely a nice touch. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We LOVED the "Library" room on the first floor. Charming!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMJ03249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

After staying in many inns in Kennebunkport over the years, we finally found our home away from home. The Captain Fairfield Inn abounds with the most perfect 24/7 hospitality possible. We loved the mix of contemporary and traditional furnishings found in the common areas as well as the private rooms. Our first visit for the Christmas Prelude, we chose to stay in one of the recently renovated contemporary rooms. On the return visit, we opted for a more traditional room complete with 12 inch wide pine plank floors. Both rooms had gas fireplaces and flat screen tv's. French press coffee was always available; yummy homemade cookies were served each afternoon, courtesy of Alana, and Jed served a choice of two unique breakfasts each morning!

The inn is located in a nice central Kennebunkport location, which makes walking to the town center convenient. A fire was burning every evening in the common sitting area. We looked forward to warming in front of it each evening after we returned from dinner.

Overall, it would be difficult to report anything at the Captain Fairfield Inn that didn't meet our needs and standards. So I'll just finish by leaving this review with a five star rating, thanks to Jed and Alana!

Room Tip: Each room is unique in that the inn offers different size beds, a variety of mattress types, and a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtgarr79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#9 of 25 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 25 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 stars 746 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
#11 of 25 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Fairfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Fairfield Inn

Property: Captain Fairfield Inn
Address: 8 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Fairfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport's Boutique Choice. An artful blend of bold and soft modern design. Crisp, uncluttered rooms. Located in the heart of Kennebunkport, just steps from Dock Square. Expected amenities like plush beds, designer linens, fireplaces, whirlpool and soaking tubs, wireless Internet. Unexpected luxuries like iPod docking stations, French press coffee, 32" HDTVs, beach chairs and towels, warm cookies in the afternoon an an outdoor lounge with fire tables. A creative gourmet breakfast prepared with fresh seasonal and local ingredients; choose a multi-course breakfast served at your own table in the dining room, or coffee and a pastry basket delivered to your door. Customize your stay with packages, a la carte add-ons and personalized itineraries. A carefully-selected wine list and small plates menu compliment a relaxing afternoon or evening. With 9 rooms, the inn is sized to offer exclusive attention to your wishes, or privacy if you prefer. Located on a quiet street near the center of Kennebunkport; just a short walk to nearby restaurants, the quaint harbor and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Captain Fairfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Fairfield Hotel Kennebunkport
Fairfield Kennebunkport
Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing