We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Great Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Fairfield Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain Fairfield Inn
Ranked #5 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Great Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

From the first moment of arrival we were greeted and treated as most welcomed guests. The accommodations were superb.
The rooms were fresh and well appointed. The linens were Frette and we luxuriated in their comfort.
The food was all first rate with very fresh juices, breads and creatively prepared courses. The coffee was great.
Each afternoon we were greeted by homemade cookies and hot drinks which hit the spot.
The resident inn keepers. Alana and Jed were genuinely nice, friendly and were always willing to do more to ensure that our experience at the Captain Fairfield Inn was memorable and wonderful.
My wife and I would return, in a heart beat, to this most enjoyable inn.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    73
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
57
516
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gilford, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We arrived during a snowstorm and the Inn could not have been more charming or inviting. Our room, "The Library" was spectacular!!! Complete with King bed, couch, and gas fireplace [flat screen above]. The Inn keepers were delightful and the breakfast was delicious. Each room is given an Ipad upon arrival which contains area restaurant info, sights, shops, and newspapers. Definitely a nice touch. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We LOVED the "Library" room on the first floor. Charming!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMJ03249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

After staying in many inns in Kennebunkport over the years, we finally found our home away from home. The Captain Fairfield Inn abounds with the most perfect 24/7 hospitality possible. We loved the mix of contemporary and traditional furnishings found in the common areas as well as the private rooms. Our first visit for the Christmas Prelude, we chose to stay in one of the recently renovated contemporary rooms. On the return visit, we opted for a more traditional room complete with 12 inch wide pine plank floors. Both rooms had gas fireplaces and flat screen tv's. French press coffee was always available; yummy homemade cookies were served each afternoon, courtesy of Alana, and Jed served a choice of two unique breakfasts each morning!

The inn is located in a nice central Kennebunkport location, which makes walking to the town center convenient. A fire was burning every evening in the common sitting area. We looked forward to warming in front of it each evening after we returned from dinner.

Overall, it would be difficult to report anything at the Captain Fairfield Inn that didn't meet our needs and standards. So I'll just finish by leaving this review with a five star rating, thanks to Jed and Alana!

Room Tip: Each room is unique in that the inn offers different size beds, a variety of mattress types, and a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtgarr79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I had the best weekend at this Inn as we visited the town's Christmas Prelude events. As fun as the events were, this B&B was the star of the show! Hosts Alana and Jed could not have been more gracious and personable and served the best and most varied breakfasts! The fires, wine, cheese, fruit and crackers served in the afternoon encouraged guests and hosts to get to know each other and really served to make everyone feel right at home. We could walk to the center of town in about 8 minutes, which was also a plus. We did not want to leave and are sure to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Captain Fairfield Inn is one of the best bed and breakfast we have ever been. Alana and Jed are very attentive innkeepers. The breakfast was always delicious. The design of the Inn is very tasteful and the location is excellent. A quiet neighborhood but walking distance to the centre of Kennebunkport. If we are again in this region we will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amateur113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived at the Inn for a return visit, knowing the Innkeepers had changed. First, the location of the Inn in a beautiful historic area of old homes; quiet location, but walkable to shops and restaurants! Receiving an iPad loaded with local restaurants, shops, and things to do, plus Internet availability, was outstanding and a service we hadn't encountered before. We used it extensively. The room was very clean and cozy - a little on the small side, but we appreciated the new and very comfy King bed. (We missed the antiques, but they aren't always very comfortable!) We loved the gas stove in our room, kept things nice and cozy. Alannah and Jed were very warm, helpful, and great Innkeepers, providing wine (to purchase) and snacks for our first evening. The breakfasts were delicious, and the pretty dining room with sliding glass out to a garden with the morning sun was inviting. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The B&B is located in a lovely historic neighborhood, walking distance to Kennebunkport's shops and restaurants. The innkeepers Alana and Jed were extremely gracious and attentive - they have the requisite hospitable personalities to succeed in the B&B business. A nice unexpected perc for guests is the use of an iPad during your stay, pre-loaded with info on the area. The decor was very different than the usual vintage pieces - an interesting twist on a historic property to have contemporary pieces. We found the inn to be very clean contrary to the earlier review. (I own a #1 rated historic B&B in St. Michaels, MD, so am well aware of what it takes for a great guest experience.) All in all, a very pleasant 4 nights' stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: Room #9 is last one at rear of hallway on second floor - perhaps the quietest room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 25 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 25 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Fairfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Fairfield Inn

Property: Captain Fairfield Inn
Address: 8 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Fairfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport's Boutique Choice. An artful blend of bold and soft modern design. Crisp, uncluttered rooms. Located in the heart of Kennebunkport, just steps from Dock Square. Expected amenities like plush beds, designer linens, fireplaces, whirlpool and soaking tubs, wireless Internet. Unexpected luxuries like iPod docking stations, French press coffee, 32" HDTVs, beach chairs and towels, warm cookies in the afternoon an an outdoor lounge with fire tables. A creative gourmet breakfast prepared with fresh seasonal and local ingredients; choose a multi-course breakfast served at your own table in the dining room, or coffee and a pastry basket delivered to your door. Customize your stay with packages, a la carte add-ons and personalized itineraries. A carefully-selected wine list and small plates menu compliment a relaxing afternoon or evening. With 9 rooms, the inn is sized to offer exclusive attention to your wishes, or privacy if you prefer. Located on a quiet street near the center of Kennebunkport; just a short walk to nearby restaurants, the quaint harbor and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Captain Fairfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Fairfield Hotel Kennebunkport
Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport
Fairfield Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing