We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Close enough to shopping and restaurants to walk, far enough away that mornings and evenings are nice and quiet. Top-notch hospitality, and the breakfasts were second to none! You won't regret staying here!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. We stayed in York, the smallest room, but it still felt spacious and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Hi Shanan,

Thank you for your very kind review. That York room is one of my favorites. The new décor is so bright and fresh and that new tiled shower is a big WOW with guests. :-)

We're so glad that you and Greg chose the 1802 House to celebrate your 5th Anniversary! We hope to welcome you back if your travels bring you back to Maine.

Have a good summer!

Best wishes,
Teri, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 398 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at several B&B's on a trip along the Maine coastline. This had the nicest room furnished with beautiful antiques. Everything was perfect. Our reception, introduction and knowledge of the area was exceptional. Snacks and beverages were available 24/7. Our room was flawless and had an exceptional modern bath. The breakfast was wonderful. The location is conveniently located within walking distance of food, shopping, & sightseeing.

Room Tip: All rooms are furnished with beautiful antiques and modern baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terryndan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Hi Terry and Dan,

Thank you for your kind review. June is a good month to visit Maine and it's lovely to hear that we were one of your favorite places to stay! It means a lot to us when our guests give us that type of compliment.

We've done a lot of work on the Inn since taking over two years ago. We've been modernizing while trying to maintain some of the original colonial look and feel. We've kept a lot of the antiques and mixed with select new pieces of furniture, new bedding and mattresses to ensure the comfort of our guests. We're happy with the results and our guests seem to be as well.

We hope to welcome you back again if your travels bring you this way.

With best wishes,
Teri & Roger
1802 House B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed in low season. Great rooms, Friendly owners, cozy and excellent facility. Close to down town. Highly recommend. Well kept.xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Hi John,

Thank you so much for you kind review. We greatly value our guest feedback and find that so many of our new guests come to us after having read the reviews on TripAdvisor. We appreciate that you took time to share your feedback with others.

We hope you have a good summer and will look forward to welcoming you back to the 1802 House!

Best wishes,
Teri, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Although I've stayed at B & Bs in Europe, this was the first time booking a stay here in the US and the first time my husband has ever stayed at a B & B. The 1802 House was a great choice for many reasons.

First, the owners Teri and Roger and their staff are so welcoming and helpful, and the location is wonderful. Located on a side street that backs up to a golf course, the grounds are beautiful and quiet, but we were only a short walk to the Dock Square area of Kennebunkport with all the of shops, restaurants and bars, charter boats and rentals (great people watching too.) It's a short drive or bike ride to the beaches, and although we didn't need one, I understand the Inn has parking passes for guests (they are necessary after June 15h.)

The Inn itself is beautifully restored and decorated. We stayed in the Arundel room, which has a comfortable queen bed, a gas fireplace, good sized bath with spa tub, and room for a small sitting area with a couple of comfortable chairs and a dresser. The room does have air conditioning but for our stay in June we simply opened the windows for a nice cross breeze.

I had breakfast at the Inn the last of our three day stay and was soooo sorry I missed the first two. The food is delicious. We have no dietary restrictions, but you are encouraged to let them know so they can be sure to have something made to order for you.

We were lucky enough to have unexpectedly selected a weekend that was at the end of the Wine, Food and Art Festival so there was a lot going on in town without the huge crowds of summer. One of the days the Inns in town sponsored a "Garden Party" with each Inn featuring a treat of some kind. The 1802 House had the best lobster finger sandwiches!! Visitors could walk to each Inn or catch a ride on a oversize golf cart to go from place to place.

There were no negatives for us during our stay, and we absolutely plan to return in the fall or winter to enjoy the cozy fireplace.

Cheers!
Buggie

Room Tip: Room sizes do vary so if that's important to you be sure to verify before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBuggieDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

So to start with - I love your nickname. You will definitely have to tell me about that when you come to visit next!

Thank you so much for your very kind review. I think you've hit all the high points so not much more that I can add to that other than to thank you again for choosing the 1802 House. We're so glad that you and Henry enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed meeting you both.

We will look forward to seeing you in the cooler months. It's hot chocolate and homemade peppermint marshmallows during the fireplace season. :-)

I hope you have a good summer.

Best wishes,
Teri & Roger, Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The owners were remarkably pleasant and interesting people, having travelled all over and lived in numerous towns, cities and countries.

We were there at the peak of high season, so I am sure every where was full and working at capacity, so it was that we would have two rooms with dramatically different sizes. Both were pleasantly appointed and super clean, but one was tiny.

Aside from this, it is clearly a B and B in the truest sense of the word, communal dining at one table. The other guests (Slightly more mature in years) seem to love the breakfasts and communal aspect, but unfortunately we were unable to breakfast either morning.

All in all, a perfectly acceptable B and B.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Hi David,
I can’t believe it’s been more than six months since you were here! I hope all is well in Dubai.
Autumn is a busy time of year in Maine and rooms book up quickly.

I recall that we did discuss room sizes at length when you phoned and made the reservations. We are conscious of ensuring that our guests are aware that the smallest room is small when they book it. Several of our TripAdvisor five star reviews are from guests who have stayed in that room and have really enjoyed it. While ideal for weekends away, it’s a particularly tight squeeze for guests who are on a two or three week trip especially if you have a lot of luggage or large suitcases. We are sorry that we didn’t have a second larger room available when you stayed.

We don’t have space to seat six couples at separate tables in our dining room, so we’ve had to opt to go with the larger table and then the two smaller which gives us flexibility in how we seat everyone. We are always more than happy to work with our guests to meet their individual requirements whether it be a dietary restriction, food preference, time of morning they want to eat/early departure or simply requesting a table to themselves for a quiet meal au deux.

I hadn’t realized that you didn’t come down for breakfast because you didn’t want to sit with the other guests. You should have said as that’s an easy one to sort! We could have pushed the two small tables together so the four of you could dine alone.

Please say hi to Dave from Bishop’s Waltham, Laney and Sarah. It must have recently been your one year anniversaries if I’m remembering correctly? We enjoyed meeting all of you and hope that you had a wonderful New England holiday.

Best wishes,
Teri, The 1802 House B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Treat yourself and stay at the 1802 Bed and Breakfast House in Kennebunkport. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the rooms
are delightful, especially the three bedroom suite.

Come with an appetite. The breakfasts are wonderful and the afternoon snack...orange shortbread cookies or toffee or coconut macaroons, are all deliciously prepared by innkeeper Teri.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Hi Jody,

Thank you for your very kind review. We enjoyed meeting you and Raymond and hope that you will come back and see us if your travels bring you this way again. Good luck to Raymond on his course. I made sure Lynn took some sunflowers home with her as you requested.

Best wishes to you both,
Teri & Roger, 1802 House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I were able to relax in this wonderful inn. Teri greeted us when we arrived and she was warm and friendly, the place felt like home. Our room was beautiful, very clean and elegant. Teri recommended a couple of restaurants and she was correct in her reviews. She was very helpful in making our weekend special. Teri made delicious breakfasts and yummy cookies each afternoon. It was a shame we had to leave after two days.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Hi Donna,

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you and Don enjoyed your stay and found some quiet, relaxing time away from home. This is our favorite time of year in Kennebunkport. The snow has finally (!!) melted, it's getting a little warmer, the sun is shining and Dock Square isn't over run with crowds.

We hope to see you again - maybe for more than two days next time?!

Best wishes,
Teri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kennebunkport hotels
0.4 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
674 reviews
0.6 mi away
Captain Jefferds Inn
Captain Jefferds Inn
#2 of 25 in Kennebunkport
864 reviews
0.7 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 25 in Kennebunkport
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 25 in Kennebunkport
860 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
#10 of 25 in Kennebunkport
329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Captain Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn
#5 of 25 in Kennebunkport
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1802 House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1802 House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 15 Locke St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-5807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $129 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1802 House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA 3 Diamond Southern Maine bed and breakfast is one of Kennebunkport's finest historic Inns. We offer understated, casual luxury in our 19th century restored colonial. Nestled in a quiet neighborhood, we are only a short stroll from Dock Square. Our rooms are well appointed with queen size beds, many have fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. A three course gourmet breakfast is served each morning. 1802 House is an ideal destination for relaxation and as a base to explore everything coastal Maine has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your 1802 House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1802 House Bed And Breakfast Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing