We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bed & Breakfast Inn in Kennebunkport” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1802 House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
1 review
“Best Bed & Breakfast Inn in Kennebunkport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Excellent experience in every way! My daughter and I stayed at the 1802 House Bed and Breakfast Inn while visiting colleges in Maine.The location is a perfect combination of private and relaxing, yet within easy walking distance to Kennebunkport.

We planned to stay overnight, but extended our stay to three nights after experiencing a warm welcome from Teri, and the lovely accommodations. The bedrooms and bathrooms are charming and immaculate. Teri made us feel welcome from the first phone call, to recommending the perfect beach, lunch and dinner spots, and making reservations for us. In addition to being a wonderful hostess and innkeeper, Teri is a very warm and gracious person. Breakfast was delicious, and a lovely way to meet other guests of the Inn.

I highly recommend the1802 House Bed and Breakfast Inn in Kennebunkport, Maine. We look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DK2DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Deborah,

Thank you for your very kind comments. We are always so happy to hear our guests say that they enjoy the peacefulness of this location with the benefit of Kennebunkport's Dock Square being only a short walk away. We see it as the best of both worlds too and unique to our Inn. We hope to see you back here soon - maybe when you need a little stargazing?

Good luck with the college search.

Best wishes,
Teri & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    20
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
265
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The last two nights of our Maine vacation were just what we needed at The 1802 House! We felt right at home in the beautiful, warm and comfortable accommodations. The breakfasts were delicious and served at a relaxed pace which gave of the opportunity to have conversation with the other lucky guests.

After several nights on a windjammer we were ready for comfort and luxury and we certainly found it in our rooms which included a jetted tub with plenty of hot water and a gas fireplace in our sitting area.

Teri made sure that we will well cared for by offering to make dinner reservations for us even before we had begun our trip. She sent us links to several restaurants from which we could choose. She was delightful and helpful through our whole experience at her beautiful bed and breakfast.

We will be back and we will send our friends!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Robin,
Thank you for your very kind review of the Inn. We are finding that many of our guests are reading these reviews and we can't tell you how much we appreciate your sharing your experiences with them and us! So glad that we were able to provide a little relaxing peace and quiet before you had to head home. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes,
Teri, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

You will certainly notice all the special touches Teri offers her guests, even before you arrive at the 1802 House B&B. Before we arrived, she suggested we have dinner reservations and handled those for us. She is a marvelous hostess with a true heart for hospitality. She ensures your stay is quiet, relaxing, and filled with scrumptious breakfasts and homemade sweet treats for your afternoon snack. Teri is a savvy business woman who personally welcomes you to her 'home' where the significant upgrades are evident in the comfort her guests experience. She has the gift of managing a B&B with such ease because she fulfills each aspect of the job with joy....all for YOUR benefit. Easy 5-min. walk to town from the B&B's quiet residential neighborhood. She became a friend by the time we departed and we'll definitely return. You'll love it. Make this a travel stop on your Maine itinerary.

Room Tip: The Camden is a lovely corner room. Recently remodeled with delightful bedding, new bathroom. A/C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Cindy,
I cannot begin to tell you how touched I am by your review and how nice it was to meet you both. Being an innkeeper is a lot of work and we couldn't be happier to be here ourselves. It means a lot to us to hear how much our guests appreciate their stays with us - especially when they have come to Maine to celebrate their special occasions as you did. We are thrilled to have been a part of making your trip a happy and memorable one. Best wishes to you both and we hope you do get back to visit when you need a little 'Maine' time!

See you soon,
Teri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I were very pleased with our choice of the 1802 House Bed and Breakfast for a weekend visit to Kennebunkport. It's a lovely, immaculate inn that's within walking distance of town in a quiet residential area. Teri, our hostess, prepared delicious breakfasts every morning, and was eager to accommodate any of her guests' special dietary needs. She and her husband, Roger, were especially congenial and ready to offer directions, as well as shopping and dining suggestions -- all winners! We'd certainly enjoy an opportunity to return for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hi Judy,

It was such a pleasure to have you and Bill stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Inn, the breakfasts and Kennebunkport! Thank you very much for taking time to give us your feedback. Enjoy the rest of your summer. We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Teri, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

A wonderful experience, for sure. Terry provided a perfect balance of hospitality, interaction, helpful advice, wonderful meals, and serene privacy. Although this B&B is within walking distance to many of the restaurants and attractions in town, it maintains a secluded feel as well, making it an ideal spot for relaxing. We took a short drive to the beach before breakfast both mornings and had plenty of time for a leisurely stroll before enjoying Terry's delicious creations. We definitely plan to be back.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed great. Pick based upon size you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Tracy,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here in Kennebunkport and at the 1802 House. The location of the Inn in this beautiful peaceful location is one of the things that most attracted us to the property as well when we purchased. We hope that you and Aaron will be able to come back and visit again soon.

Thank you for taking time to give us your kind feedback. Have a good summer!

Best wishes,
Teri
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was our first B&B experience and we picked a "winner". Teri is a wonderful host; very cheery, helpful and accommodating. She made dinner reservations for us our first night, made recommendations for local trips, and provided tasty and healthy breakfasts. The rooms are beautifully decorated and our room was very comfortable and immaculate. The fireplace and the bed warmers made our room nice and toasty even though it was cold and rainy outside Many personal touches throughout the B&B made our stay very special. Thank you, Teri and Roger for a memorable weekend. Carol and Dan

Room Tip: Each room is beautifully decorated and feels very homey. The suite is spectacular !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiemom9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Carol and Dan,

It was such a pleasure to meet you both, and we're so glad you chose the 1802 House to celebrate your special weekend. Thank you for your very kind feedback on your stay. We have worked hard over the winter season to remodel much of the Inn and we are pleased that our guests are happy with the results! Please do come back and visit soon - we'll hope to have some sun for you the next time you are here.

Best wishes,
Teri & Roger, Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a very nice Bed and breakfast where you really have a fell of the "New England" experience. Teri is a wonderful host, she took good care of us, she helped with all the details, and even made our restaurant reservations. The room was spotless, and we recommend the property to any.

Room Tip: I recommend rooms with a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank conceptob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to give us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay here at the 1802 House and Kennebunkport and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

With best wishes,
Teri & Roger, Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.6 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1802 House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1802 House Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1802 House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 15 Locke St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-5807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1802 House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA 3 Diamond Southern Maine bed and breakfast is one of Kennebunkport's finest historic Inns. We offer understated, casual luxury in our 19th century restored colonial. Nestled in a quiet neighborhood, we are only a short stroll from Dock Square. Our rooms are well appointed with queen size beds, many have fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. A three course gourmet breakfast is served each morning. 1802 House is an ideal destination for relaxation and as a base to explore everything coastal Maine has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 1802 House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1802 House Bed And Breakfast Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing