We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great Place to Get Away”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Thanks Teri, for your hospitality. We had a wonderful weekend. The rooms were beautiful, the breakfast delicious, and the dinner recommendations perfect. It was nice to be within walking distance of everything.

Sitting on our balcony with a glass of wine, watching the sun go down, was one of the highlights for me. I would certainly recommend the 1802 as an escape from reality. I wish you and Roger the best and I'm sure we'll see you again soon.

Bill & Christina

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hi Bill and Christina! Thank you for your kind review. It was great to meet you both and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay here! We hope you'll come back soon - there's more on Bandaloop's menu left to try and we would love to get your feedback on the Sebago Suite remodel when it's finished later in the year.

Hope you have a good summer.

Best wishes,
Teri & Roger, Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    21
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
287
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Methuen, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Teri is a wonderful hostess! The 1802 Inn is a quiet and relaxing getaway close to all the Kennebunkport area has to offer. We stayed in the Sebago Suite and enjoyed the private balcony along with the spacious rooms with whirlpool tub, comfortable bed and sizable bathroom with double shower. Everything was wonderful and I highly recommend the 1802 Inn. We look forward to returning to the Inn the next time we can get away.

Rachel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Rachel, thank you for your kind review and for selecting the 1802 House to celebrate your anniversary. We greatly appreciate all of our repeat guests and enjoy showing you the improvements we have made to the Inn over the winter season. Best wishes to you both and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Teri & Roger
1802 House Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Thanks Terry for your friendly hospitality, you are a fantastic Inn Keeper and a better cook and baker. The room was perfect with every thing there a person could need. You made our stay in Kennebunkport a great experience. Good luck with the Inn and keep smiling. Steve and Sheila

Go Buffs

Room Tip: Top of Stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FFireprot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your very nice review and for choosing the 1802 House for your stay here in Kennebunkport. We are so pleased that we were part of making your holiday a memorable one! Please do come back and visit us again. We look forward to seeing you soon.

With best wishes,
Teri & Roger, I802 House Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome and at home and nothing was too much trouble for Terri, the charming inn-keeper. The Inn is set in a beautiful and quiet location next to the golf course, but is within walking distance of the centre of town. The owners have their own quarters , leaving guests space to relax on the traditional deck or in front of the wood-burning fire in the relaxing sitting room. Magazines are provided together with menus for most of the many restaurants in Kennebunkport which is useful in helping to make a decision! (We particularly liked Mabel's). Our room, although only a standard, was extremely comfortable and credit is due to the house-keeper for keeping everything so spotless. Breakfasts were most enjoyable, not only for the variety and high standard but also because they are served around a single large table, enabling guests to get to know each other and swap experiences and suggestions. Terri and her husband have only recently taken ownership of the Inn and are still working towards making it their own, but we really couldn't see much else they could do to improve on the service and accommodation they are providing. Thanks so much for making our visit so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brambleyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed both your stay at 1802 House as well as Kennebunkport.

We firmly believe that success for our Inn is a combination of many things, several of which we were pleased to see you commented on. Our housekeeping do an exceptional job maintaining a high standard of cleanliness throughout the Inn. Our three course breakfasts are prepared fresh daily using the finest local ingredients. And finally, our goal is to ensure that we deliver hospitality in a comfortable and relaxing setting. It's good to hear that we're on the right track!

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. We hope to see you again when you're next in Maine.

Best wishes,
Teri & Roger, 1802 Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We arrived in Keenebunkport on a nice afternoon and the place was very busy indeed. Luckily we'd asked our hosts by email some weeks before and the restaurant situation and they had kindly booked a table for us otherwise it may have been a bit of a challenge.

Our room was upstairs and large with a jacuzzi bath and a view over part of the adjacent golf course. There was free water which is always welcome. There was plenty of parking, hot drinks available downstairs and the communal area was very nice.

Teri, the host, had recently moved there from the UK and even offered us a proper pot of tea!!

She showed us the shortest route to walk into the town which is a good ten minutes away, absolutely fine for us and in good weather but it may be a stretch for some and a little less appealing in rain. It does, however, mean you're away from the hussle of the town.

The higlight of our stay was breakfast which is taken around a large communal table. The food was excellent and the conversation interesting a lively. And the tea was great as well!

My only complaint was the wifi. I managed to connect without any problem and it was free but no matter where I went in the house it was just too slow to download anything or even check emails which was a little bit frustrating. Hardly the end of the world however.

I really recommend the 1802 House for a quiet location with great breakfast and a caring host. Go for one of the two largest rooms if you want to spread out a bit. We were certainly glad we hadn't booked at several of the larger hotels in town as eachapeared to be hosting at least one wedding and were swarming with guests so beware of "wedding central".

Room Tip: The two large ones that stretch the length of the side of the guest accommodation offer the most spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaberetKennebunkport, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for your glowing review and recommendation.

As new innkeepers, we very much appreciate getting feedback from our guests on ways that we can improve the Inn and the experience for our guests. We are sorry that the speed of the WiFi caused you difficulties in connecting. It's not a problem that has been brought to our attention previously, but we will follow-up with our cable provider to ensure we've got the fastest speed available to offer for our guests.

Thank you for selecting the 1802 House for your stay in Kennebunkport. We hope you will come back and visit - we'll have the kettle on.

Best wishes,
Teri & Roger, 1802 House Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seekonk, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at the 1802 Inn as part of a golf weekend. Chosen because of the convenience of being located on the back side of the Cape Arundel Golf Course. While the golfing was great, we were more impressed at the Inn's proximity to all the best Kennebunkport has to offer, most everything within walking distance. The Inn is charming, clean, peaceful and the service was impeccable!
Our Inn Keeper, Terri, was extremely welcoming and did an outstanding job at making us feel right at home. The breakfast's alone will have us coming back! The location of the Inn is perfect, set back on a quiet side street, you would never know that Dock Square is a five minute walk away. We truly cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We visited Kennebunkport from London around a week ago and stumbled across this gem. The service was first class and the staff were extremely friendly. 1802 House is located next to peaceful golf course, only a few minutes from the town centre. The location is excellent, and our room was amazing. We also enjoyed the delicious breakfast, which kept us going for most of the day. We will definitely be staying there next time we visit! Definitely a must!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
998 reviews
0.6 mi away
Captain Jefferds Inn
Captain Jefferds Inn
#2 of 26 in Kennebunkport
821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1802 House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1802 House Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1802 House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 15 Locke St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-5807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1802 House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA 3 Diamond Southern Maine bed and breakfast is one of Kennebunkport's finest historic Inns. We offer understated, casual luxury in our 19th century restored colonial. Nestled in a quiet neighborhood, we are only a short stroll from Dock Square. Our rooms are well appointed with queen size beds, many have fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. A three course gourmet breakfast is served each morning. 1802 House is an ideal destination for relaxation and as a base to explore everything coastal Maine has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 1802 House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1802 House Bed And Breakfast Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing