We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Kennebunkport Inn(Kennebunkport)(Great Value!)
$227
$119
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge at Turbat's Creek(Kennebunkport)(Great Value!)
$124
$69
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tides Beach Club(Kennebunkport)
$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhumb Line Resort(Kennebunkport)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colony Hotel(Kennebunkport)(Great Value!)
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nonantum Resort(Kennebunkport)(Great Value!)
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Kennebunk)(Great Value!)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King's Port Inn(Kennebunk)(Great Value!)
$174
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$340
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveler rating
373
23
1
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
373
23
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssebago suitebreakfast was deliciousblack labeach morningmy husband and ihelpful tipsan easy minute walkdock squarequiet side streetnew englandsmallest roomquiet areacookieswithin walking distancedietary restrictionswonderful hostsother guests
Filter
Updating list...
383 - 388 of 400 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2007

My wife and I were very impressed with the experience of staying at the 1802 INN. Jay and Linda are a very knowledgeable,intelligent and attractive happy couple who did work hard to make our visit an enjoyable one. They are very connected with what is going on in town and are able to direct you to excellent restaurants and activities that are available. We don't normally eat breakfast, but had to at this inn; the meals were just too good to pass up. Although Jay and Linda have just been owners for a few months, it appears that they were doing this for years. The accommodations were superb. The beds are excellent!!!....not what I would have expected.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank moomanKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

Linda and Jay are fairly new to this place and this business but I and my family feel they will be greatly successful! Nothing was too much trouble for them, they took care of us completely. A lovely homey typical New England place, really comfortable and pretty rooms, and delicious breakfasts, served around a big table where you can get to meet the other guests. A few minutes walk from the town centre, but peaceful and great to return to at the end of a busy day - good luck!
Lindsay, Stratford upon Avon, England

Stayed: August 2007
Thank Linsensuppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We've stayed at the 1802 House every year for the last 3 years when we go to Maine to visit our daughter at camp. We had a wonderful experience the first 2 years when Mark and Sue owned the place, but this year (just one month before our annual visit), the place was sold to people who do not know anything about hospitality. They were rude and thoughtless. Mark and Sue would never have treated guests so poorly! What a shame. Of course, we will never step foot at the 1802 House again. There are fortunately many more lovely and friendly places to stay in Kennebunkport!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMVNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaandJay, Innkeepers at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2007

Our goal is to make every stay at the 1802 House memorable. Good memories begin with good communication: A warm welcome, prompt, pleasant responses to guest questions, and lively breakfast table conversations. Even chatting about a guest’s day over evening refreshments.

We take pride in greeting our guests personally, offering help with dinner or activity reservations, and showing them our inn. These guests asked only to be shown to their room. They also chose not to join our other guests for breakfast on either morning of their two-day stay. We saw them only briefly at check out. There was no opportunity to be warm and welcoming, engage in conversation or respond to any of their concerns.

To ensure than no one misses breakfast, we provide lovely “Go Bag” breakfasts for guests with early-day commitments. We’ve received wonderful feedback about these and we’re pleased to provide them whenever a guest lets us know they won’t be available for our three-course breakfast. These guests didn’t share their plans with us.

At check out, we were asked to honor a promotional price that was applicable to new bookings only. We agreed. These guests then asked for another price adjustment for their missed breakfasts. We agreed to that, as well.

We regret that their experience didn’t meet their expectations. But our personal conversations and guestbook notes indicate that our other guests have left with fond recollections of our town, our inn, our breakfasts and our hospitality.

Linda and Jay
Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Outstanding Cuisine - And Beauty Everywhere. The Lush Grounds, The Historic Home, The Decorated Rooms, The Luxurious Baths, Completely Gorgeous even for the most discriminating. I didn't like waking up to neighboring construction though. The home is nestled in a neighborhood so that is unavoidable but I like to sleep in on vacation. But as far as the place itself - nothing has ever compared to it.

Stayed: June 2003
Thank chocolatmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2007

We have stayed three times in the past year and it keeps on getting better. We stayed in different rooms each time several room and by far the Sebago Suite is my favorite. My wife loves the coziness of the York room and I do to but the spaciousness of the Sebago just added another dimension to our stay especially since it was for an anniversary.
Breakfast was served hot and in a friendly atmosphere with wonderful conversation. Thank you Sue and Marc

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hnimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews