We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toured Perkins Home and Bush Exhibit”

First Families Kennebunkport Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,311 reviews
625 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
“Toured Perkins Home and Bush Exhibit”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This was a nice tour of the home of the former wealthiest man in Kennebunkport. It's about a 30-minute tour and very interesting. Attached to the house was a separate exhibit of the George H. W. Bush family and various personal effects and pictures from their life in the public eye as well as on Walker's Point. This is a stop on the Intown Trolley.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Mn
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“informative”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

They had a small Bush family area and interesting old house tour. The tour guide was going to the Bush home the next day for lunch!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ibm600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great collection of Bush family items”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The collection they have of the items that were donated by the Bush family is very interesting. The fisher house is nicely kept and has many original items. The tour is a bit long and the docent we had was sweet, but very young and spoke so fast that we had trouble understanding him at times. I would recommend stopping in because of the Bush collection, however $10 per person was a bit steep for the value.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A visit to the past”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Our recent visit to this museum really exceeded my expectations. The museum itself is a house from the mid 1800's. It belonged to one of the richest families in town at the time. The house belonged in the family until the 1980's and then was left to the historical society. The tours are lead by very knowledgeable volunteers and the groups are small, so you have plenty of time to look around and ask questions. On the day we went, we were the only ones on the tour, so it felt like a private tour. The house and all of its furnishings are all kept as it was in the 1850's. There is one room in the house that is dedicated to the former president Bush and his families connection to the area. That alone was worth the price, but the house and it's history is really interesting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoheadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Families Kennebunkport Museum also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to First Families Kennebunkport Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing