We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cottages at Cabot Cove
Ranked #9 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottages”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The situation and location of the Cottages at Cabot Cove is absolutely delightful. The "cottages" (some of them really are little more than glorified beach huts) are clustered around the site in a way that allows some privacy and looks lovely. We stayed here with friends at the end of our New England tour, and it was a unique and enjoyable end to our trip.
We had booked cottages that were adjacent and although one had a separate bedroom, one was very snug indeed with just a wooden screen separating the bed from the rest of room. Both had very small bathrooms. Very expensive in comparison with the rest of the accommodation we had stayed in during our trip, and the price seems to mainly reflect the uniqueness of the cottages. They were beautifully appointed and themed though, and worth a stay.
Breakfast was disappointing after the experiences we had had so far. It was delivered to our door in a little shopping bag, and wasn't really to our taste with no options.
The provision of lounge chairs and little patios was nice, as was the complimentary use of rowing boats and kayaks on the cove and bicycles for getting around.
Kennebunkport is lovely.

Room Tip: Choose Harbor Cottage if you want more space, and a little privacy with views of the cove. Several...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, General Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Lovely little cottages,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Cabot Cove Cottages. We are thrilled that we were a unique and enjoyable end to your New England tour! Our cottages are the original Maine getaway renovated with today’s comforts. We do use the work “petite” as they are the original footprint of the cottages from the past. Some of our cottages are styled with an open studio layout while others do have separate bedrooms. We are so glad you enjoyed the decorator’s style of the cottages as each was individually designed by a different local decorator. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy our selection of breakfast. We try to offer a delicious starter to your day with a daily fresh baked good, fruit, juice and a protein delivered to your door in a cute little tote. We always are open to suggestions and would love to hear any ideas you may have to share!
Thanks again for the great review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    35
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
39
215
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Cottages at Cabot Cove for 4 nights, 4th of July week. When we arrived and pulled onto the crushed shell driveway, we knew we were going to enjoy our stay! The cottages were just adorable. It was it's own little village :) Our friends stayed in Sea Mist, loved the decor. We stayed at Float in, the first cottage next to the the main house where you check in. When we booked the reservation I thought being in that location there wouldn't be as much privacy but there was. Each cottage has a little patio of some sort. Cabot Cove does a great job with landscaping around the patios and in between the cottages for privacy. Our cottage was absolutely charming, well kept and clean. We had a little kitchen with a stove, oven, micro, fridge, dishwasher, table and a keurig maker. The cottage had silverware, bowls, coffee cups, ice bucket etc...We were very impressed. They had thought of everything. We had a small sitting area and our bedroom and bathroom were seperate from the living area. We had a queen sized bed which was comfortable (we usually sleep in a king) and it was plenty big. The room is just big enough to walk around the bed but we didn't mind cause we had the extra living area. The bathroom is small (stated in other reviews) but not unbearable!
The staff was wonderful and very helpful. We had arrived in the evening so where our cottage was located it got the evening sun. Even with the window AC running in the bedroom the cottage was HOT! We had spoken with the main office and within a couple of hours we had an extra unit put in, in the front room.
Cabot Cove also provided us with breakfast in the morning. They hung it on our door without disturbing us. They have canoes and bikes on the propery that you can take into town. We never used them and chose to walk instead. It was maybe a 5-10 min walk but it was a beautiful walk. We enjoyed looking at the houses and beautiful landscaped yards. We even took a ride to Bar Harbor (little far-- 3 1/2 hours) and Portland (45 min drive). They were both well worth the drive. Out of the 3 places, we liked the town of Kennebunckport the best. It was everything I pictured Maine to be and more. I must say overall, we had a great time. The only regret we have is that we never asked if there was availability to stay longer!
It takes me months to research a vacation from reading reviews, to looking for things to do, places to go and where to stay. I must say Cottages at Cabot Cove is on the top of our list to come back and stay to relax!! Thanks so much for your hospitality and our little goodie bag when we checked out :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear "Picture Perfect,
Thank you for such a wonderful review and for taking the time to write such kind words. Your review touched base on so many of our comforts and amenities that we offer our guests during their stays with us. Our team, the management and staff of the Cottages at Cabot Cove, strives to exceed your expectations and to create that picture perfect getaway. We are looking forward to your next stay with us. We are closed for the season and will re-open in May 2013. Have a wonderful rest of the year!
Sincerely,
The management and staff of the Cottages at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlain, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I were looking for someplace unique to stay during our vacation and these cottages fit the bill. It was a nice touch to have breakfast delivered every morning on the door. A small TV, WiFi, Keurig machine and welcoming/leaving gifts were great touches. The bed was super comfortable. A private patio area and adirondack chairs on the front lawn offered a nice place to read a book or enjoy a glass of wine. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear "Special Place",
Thank for your terrific review. We are so happy to read that you and your wife enjoyed this special place called the Cottages at Cabot Cove. We aim to please! We look forward to your next stay with us! Until then, have a great rest of the year!
Sincerely,
The management and staff of the Cottages at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My mother and I decided it was time to visit the New England area. We stayed in B&B's throughout our stay except for our visit here. The website for the Cottages at Cabot Cove had me hooked. I thought if it was even remotely like the website depicted it then it would be a great choice. It did not disappoint. We stayed in Cottage #15 (Infatuation). It was lovely. Our stop in Kennebunkport was our last night. It was nice to stretch out in the living area and enjoy coffee, tea and the complimentary whoopie pie. It was a little chilly and the blankets came in handy for relaxing. The cottage was small but very charming. It was beautifully decorated. The bag of goodies they deliver for breakfast was very good - fresh OJ, warm muffins, fruit with yogurt and cheese. It was just enough to get the day going. They had bikes available for the guests. They also had kayaks if you wanted to venture out on the cove. We were so glad we decided to stay in Kennebunkport rather than one of the big cities. It is a beautiful place and the Cottages at Cabot Cove are a treat.

Room Tip: Check out the pictures on the website. Each cottage is decorated by a different designer. Choose t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina9193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear "Very Quaint and Charming",
It was wonderful to read such a fabulous review of the Cottages at Cabot Cove and that your stay exceeded your expectations. Thank you for the kind words. We are happy that you found your stay with all its comforts and amenities relaxing, warm, and inviting. We open again in May. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Thank you and have a great winter!
Sincerely,
The management and staff of the Cottages at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2012

It was one of the top places we've stayed! The cottages were decorated to perfection with all the amenities including a Keurig. The lady that helped us showed us 3 different cottages and we weren't staying but a night or two. She said she wanted us to be comfortable and she didn't mind at all. When we woke the next morning we had a basket full of goodies hanging on our door for breakfast-even fresh squeezed orange juice! Our cottage was called Serenity--and it certainly was!

Andrea S. /Destin, Fl

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear "Charming and Romantic!",
Thank you for such kind words and a wonderful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your cottage with all its comforts and amenities. Our goal is to create the perfect peaceful getaway for our guests. We look forward to your next stay with us. Until then, Best wishes!
Sincerely,
The management and staff of the Cottages at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas/Ft. Worth
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Add us to the list of fans of Cabot Cove...we truly loved everything about this place! My wife pouted all the way to Boston after checking-out because she didn't want to leave.

Our first impression of Cabot Cove was feeling like we had driven into a pint-sized storybook village. The cottages, while small, are much larger than they appear to be. We had booked the Float-in cottage, which sits right on the high-tide water line. "Charming" doesn't really do the cottage justice. My wife responded "emotionally" to our cottage...kind of like the way an adoptive mom reacts when she meets her new baby for the first time. I was not allowed to bring in our luggage (break the spell) until every detail of our cottage had been captured digitally on camera. The exterior, the landscaping, the pillow-covered bed, the nautical-themed living room, the wall of windows over-looking the cove...everything.

This is one of the most unique, charming, private, and relaxing places we have ever stayed. It's safe to say that not returning is not an option. If you call and try to book the Float-in cottage and it is booked....it's probably because we are there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingT-Rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear "Storybook-charming",
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Float Inn Cottage and that you plan to return. Float In is such a special cottage with its nautical theme and the wall of windows overlooking the cove.
Charming and Magical is what we hope our guests feel when they arrive at Cottages at Cabot Cove. We are so thrilled that your stay with us exceeded your expectations.
Thanks so much for sharing how much you loved your stay with us. We'll see you next year!
Best Wishes,
The management and staff od the Cottage at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights last weekend for our 7th wedding anniversary. We stayed in the "Seaworthy" cottage and were BEYOND thrilled with the Cottages at Cabot Cove. Ive never been to Kennebunkport before, but let me say I will never stay anywhere else but here! The cottages are charming (and fully equipped with almost everything you would have in your own home), the staff are warm, kind and helpful people, the landscaping of the grounds is simply gorgeous...just an overall peaceful and romantic retreat. Every little touch never went unnoticed - from the complimentary bike/kayaks, breakfast delivered in an adorable tote at your doorstep every morning which felt like my mom had prepared and had left for me :) Homemade baked goods, fresh cheese, OJ... and we were even given a goody bag upon your departure for our travels. These are gestures you simply will not get at other hotels and make your stay that that much more memorable. I cannot say enough great things about this place! Cannot wait to come back for our anniversary next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, General Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Charming and serene, the perfect getaway!,
Thank you for the fabulous review of Cabot Cove Cottages! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are so happy that you were beyond thrilled! Cabot Cove is a special place and we thank you for noticing the small details and personal touches. We hope you can join us for many anniversary’s to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
293 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
#10 of 26 in Kennebunkport
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottages at Cabot Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages at Cabot Cove

Property: The Cottages at Cabot Cove
Address: 7 S Maine St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cottages at Cabot Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale lodging located on the Cabot Cove. Sixteen pristine, designer decorated cottages. Five star service. Gourmet breakfast bag delivered to your cottage each morning. Picnic lunches, spa services, canoes and kayaks available. The perfect spot in a perfect seaside town. We look forward to welcoming you to Kennebunkport and Cabot Cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Cottages at Cabot Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottages At Cabot Cove Hotel Kennebunkport
The Cottages At Cabot Cove Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing