We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positively Amazing!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cottages at Cabot Cove
Ranked #9 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Positively Amazing!!!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Spent an overnight during Labor Day week at the Cottages at Cabot Cove. Have nothing to say but the best accolades for this magical gem. Stayed in the "Float In' Cottage abutting the cove...views were spectacular! The cottage was nautical in theme and in pristine condition. The staff was super friendly, helpful, and extremely knowledgeable. Even though we had some leftover downpours from the hurricane, the grounds were idyllic, serene, and extremely relaxing. Fresh scones and orange juice were delivered to the door the next morning. Would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rozydozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, General Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Positively Amazing,
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are really happy that you enjoyed your cottage, the views of the cove and the grounds. Thank you for the compliments to the staff. We thoroughly enjoy Cabot Cove and the Kennebunkport area and love to share our knowledge. We hope you can join us for a longer stay next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    35
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
38
213
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

When planning a vacation in coastal Maine, we were struck by the beauty of these cottages. And when we learned that there was a resort group that managed all the cottages and grounds, we were sold!

Each cottage has its own merits but we couldn't resist either the size or the location of the Harbor Cottage (#10). It is the most expensive one but we don't regret our decision. Beautifully situated at the end of a sea shell lane, it is the largest cottage at 400 square feet and has a sweeping view of the cove.

The cottage includes a living room, separate bedroom, bathroom and small kitchen complete with refrigerator, microwave/convection oven, dishwasher and cabinets well stocked with plates, glasses, utensils and even a blender. Each cottage is professionally decorated in a different style and ours was done in a pretty nautical, beachy motif.

An air conditioner in the bedroom and ceiling fans in both rooms kept the cottage cool and comfortable. Two televisions and plush living room furniture provided the comforts of home. Patio furniture and outdoor lounge chairs facing the water provided a stunning place to have an afternoon cocktail while making plans for dinner.

The grounds themselves are perfectly manicured and professionally tended. Neatly mowed grass, trimmed hedges and flower beds are delightful to look at and the office provides beach towels and bicycles.

Each cottage has a coffee maker but, in addition, every morning around 8:00 am, a little tote bag is left on cottage doorknobs containing breakfast for two. There was always juice, fruit, yogurt and some kind of pastry. On our first morning we were treated to hard boiled eggs and bacon scones. Other breakfasts we received included chocolate chip muffins, ham & cheese croissants and, our personal favorite, a warm French baguette and a hunk of brie cheese. Yum! Our cottage had a comfortable little dining table and two chairs where we could sit and enjoy our breakfasts before heading out to sight see.

The highlight of the little cottage enclave is definitely the little cove that feeds into the Kennebunk River. The cottage fee includes complimentary use of kayaks and rowboats and the office provides life jackets and a tidal schedule.

For us, though, the Harbor Cottage provided our favorite highlight in the form of a giant wall of French windows and doors that overlooked the water. Our view was spectacular and there was an interesting little hidden table and chair area just a few steps from our door. It made for a delightful spot to sit and sip a refreshing frozen daiquiri.

In addition to the private patio furniture outside every cottage, there are also chaise lounges overlooking the water for everyone to enjoy.

Housekeeping is provided for each cottage and we were delighted to return to our cottage and find that even the dishes had been done. The office is managed between the hours of 8:00 am and 6:00 pm by a delightful woman who was happy to help in any way she could.

The only issue we ran into is that the curtains on our huge wall of French windows were really only small panels that remained on the side and left the room, and us, on full display. We addressed it with the manager the following morning and she said she knew and had made the cottage owners aware but they were not inclined to change the situation. But we were adamant that we were not paying an exorbitant rate for a cottage with no privacy. She assured us that something would be done that day. And when we returned to our cottage in the late afternoon, we found that she and her staff had replaced the curtains in our cottage with larger panels that would allow for full privacy. We appreciated that she not only acted swiftly but overruled the wishes of the cottage owner in favor of the guest's wishes. And that, after all, is the benefit of a resort company managing the facility. We were very pleased.

And so we spent a few delightful days in this magical spot. When we and several other cottage occupants were checking out that last Sunday morning, we overheard one couple say they were "sadly" checking out of their cottage. And that's just how we felt. We paid, were handed a complimentary goodie bag for the long drive home and were not the least bit excited to get there. In fact, we'd already scoped out all the other cottages to make sure we still wanted to rent "Harbor" the following year. We do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryCoupleNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, General Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Happiness is a cottage by the water.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful detailed review!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our Harbor Cottage and that you plan to return. Harbor is certainly a special cottage with it’s lovely full views of the cove.
We are so happy you think Cabot is a magical spot as we do too!
Thanks so much for sharing.
See you next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I visited the Cottages at Cabot Cove last year and we knew we had to come back every year. Our second stay was even better! My husband was able to use the kayaks that are available and had a great time. The cottages are perfectly cozy - they have classical music playing in your cabin when you check in...it is a perfect touch. They deliver a little breakfast to you every morning and offer cleaning service each day. I can't wait for our trip back next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSMorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear "We loved it so much...."
Thank you for making this your 'perfectly cozy' getaway every year. We really appreciate your kind words and we are happy to give you those perfect touches year after year. We hope to be part of your annual vacation tradition.
We look forward to seeing you next year! Have a great rest of the 2012!
Warmest regards,
The management and staff of the Cottages at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently celebrated our 31st wedding anniversary but were unable to get away together due to me being out of country. Upon my return, my wife set out to find a special place to stay along the eastern seaboard. I happened to come across the Cottages at Cabot Cove and to my surprise all of the cottages were reserved except one. After viewing the website, and the Trellis Cottage, I booked it immediately. We were so pleased to see how quaint and clean the cottages were and the layout was so clever, cozy, and private. The location was fabulous being only a 10 minute walk to Kennebunkport and the cove offered a relaxing view, kayaks, and row boats to use whenever we wanted. The breakfast hanging on the door each morning was a unique twist, and the little note inside about enjoying certain local attractions was a nice touch. The staff was unbelievably welcoming, friendly, and helpful, and they accommodated every need that we had. This is our new "best getaway"!

Room Tip: We loved the Trellis Cottage as it is in-between the office and the cove and has a nice front porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear "Our 31st Anniversary Get Away",
We are pleased to have been a part of your 31st anniversary celebration. We are so happy you able to stay in Trellis! Trellis is an adoreable cottage! Our staff works as a great team to keep this property beautiful so you never have to worry about a thing while you are here. We are so proud to be your new "best getaway". We look forward to your many future stays with us.
Thank you again for your kind words!
Best regards,
The management and staff of the Cottages at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights in the Tranquility Cottage in August as part of our mini-moon. As soon as we saw the cottages, we knew we came to the right place. Located right next to a beautiful cove, each cottage is separated from the next, giving privacy to each occupants. They have banana bikes, kayaks, croquet as well as other games. We tried to make the most of all the offered activities. The kayak was our favorite, we took a double one for a nice visit of Kennebunport and its area. This is really a huge bonus because the rental are really pricey in town! They also have beach chairs, beach parking permits, beach towels, again great inclusions for a beach getaway.
As for our cottage, it was beautifully decorated and very functional, only down-point would be that it is quite small (even tiny). I would definitely not go there with children as there is no room at all for an extra person. However, they might have bigger cottages? But for two, it is very ok. The room holds a double bed which is extremely comfortable and connects with a tiny (but again functional) bathroom. There is also a living room/kitchen which adds a very nice touch to the cottage, allowing to prepare meals there or watch movies. On our first night, there was a huge storm and it was just perfect to stay in and watch a dvd that we borrowed from reception. We also stayed in one night and add a lobster dinner. As we had some difficulties finding cooked lobster closed by, we asked the innkeeper. She found us delicious lobsters very close by and seemed really happy to help us. We were then able to enjoy our dinner in our little garden which was fantastic.
A breakfast basket was brought to our porch on the morning. On the first morning, we had a baguette with Brie cheese, 5 strawberries and orange juice. The baguette and cheese were good, but I would have loved more fruits. Second morning was better with ham and cheese filled croissants with fruit salad.
As for AC, I was a bit concerned with the comments on TA. Our cottage actually had AC in our bathroom windows, but we ended up not using it. It was just perfect to sleep with open windows and the ceiling fans. I am usually a big fan of AC, but it is just not necessary there.
It was our second visit to Kennebunkport, first time saying at Captain Fairfield Inn. Depending on what you are expecting from your getaway, they are both great choices. Captain Fairfield Inn for the gourmet breakfast, big plush rooms and relaxation. Cottage at Cabot Coves for an active getaway and privacy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDMontreal1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear "Cute little cottages",
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It was so kind of you to take the time to let others know how much you loved this property and all it has to offer its guests. We are glad that you enjoyed the kayaks, beach passes, chairs. Our staff is always happy to assist with questions you may have such as finding a great place to get lobster to bring back to eat in the privacy of your cottage! We are pleased that you found Tranquility functional yet beautiful. Congratulations and Happy mini-moon! We look forward to your next stay with us and hope this becomes a tradition for you for many years to come. Many thanks!
Best Wishes,
The management and staff of the Cottages at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

My wife discovered this place on Trip Advisor and the reviews were so positive we decided to try it. These are impeccably run cottage rentals within a hospitality consortium in the Kennebunkport area. Although small, these cottages are well appointed and designed by interior decorators. The furnishings are consistent with the early New England motif which the cottages are reminiscent of. I strongly recommend for those who desire privacy and a quiet destination.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vjnitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear "Cozy Hideaway",
Thank you for your time and wonderful words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again!
Thank you,
The management and staff of cottages at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed two nights in Ebb Tide, Cottage #9. How adorable!! The decorating is just the best and I don't know how they get so much packed into a small area. We had a precious little kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, refrigerator, dishes, coffee. Nothing was missing. It was just so much more fun than a hotel "room". It's nice and quite and the grounds are well kept. We even used the complimentary bikes. Since they have added a/c there was one tiny hitch. The a/c unit is in the bathroom so it's icy cold in there and you have to unplug the a/c if you want to use the hair dryer. It was not a problem for us though. Breakfast comes about 8:15 and is left on your door step.....juice, fruit and a pastry or boiled egg, etc. Perfect! Perfect for a couples getaway or would be fun for a group of friends. Location is great too.....close to town but on a quite street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear “Like a Doll House”,
We are so pleased that you think so highly of 'the Cottages...". The management and staff strive to surpass your expectations and make everything "perfect" for you. Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again!
Thank you,
The management and staff of the Cottages at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottages at Cabot Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages at Cabot Cove

Property: The Cottages at Cabot Cove
Address: 7 S Maine St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cottages at Cabot Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale lodging located on the Cabot Cove. Sixteen pristine, designer decorated cottages. Five star service. Gourmet breakfast bag delivered to your cottage each morning. Picnic lunches, spa services, canoes and kayaks available. The perfect spot in a perfect seaside town. We look forward to welcoming you to Kennebunkport and Cabot Cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Cottages at Cabot Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottages At Cabot Cove Hotel Kennebunkport
The Cottages At Cabot Cove Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing