We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cottages at Cabot Cove
Ranked #9 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute little cottages”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights in the Tranquility Cottage in August as part of our mini-moon. As soon as we saw the cottages, we knew we came to the right place. Located right next to a beautiful cove, each cottage is separated from the next, giving privacy to each occupants. They have banana bikes, kayaks, croquet as well as other games. We tried to make the most of all the offered activities. The kayak was our favorite, we took a double one for a nice visit of Kennebunport and its area. This is really a huge bonus because the rental are really pricey in town! They also have beach chairs, beach parking permits, beach towels, again great inclusions for a beach getaway.
As for our cottage, it was beautifully decorated and very functional, only down-point would be that it is quite small (even tiny). I would definitely not go there with children as there is no room at all for an extra person. However, they might have bigger cottages? But for two, it is very ok. The room holds a double bed which is extremely comfortable and connects with a tiny (but again functional) bathroom. There is also a living room/kitchen which adds a very nice touch to the cottage, allowing to prepare meals there or watch movies. On our first night, there was a huge storm and it was just perfect to stay in and watch a dvd that we borrowed from reception. We also stayed in one night and add a lobster dinner. As we had some difficulties finding cooked lobster closed by, we asked the innkeeper. She found us delicious lobsters very close by and seemed really happy to help us. We were then able to enjoy our dinner in our little garden which was fantastic.
A breakfast basket was brought to our porch on the morning. On the first morning, we had a baguette with Brie cheese, 5 strawberries and orange juice. The baguette and cheese were good, but I would have loved more fruits. Second morning was better with ham and cheese filled croissants with fruit salad.
As for AC, I was a bit concerned with the comments on TA. Our cottage actually had AC in our bathroom windows, but we ended up not using it. It was just perfect to sleep with open windows and the ceiling fans. I am usually a big fan of AC, but it is just not necessary there.
It was our second visit to Kennebunkport, first time saying at Captain Fairfield Inn. Depending on what you are expecting from your getaway, they are both great choices. Captain Fairfield Inn for the gourmet breakfast, big plush rooms and relaxation. Cottage at Cabot Coves for an active getaway and privacy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDMontreal1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear "Cute little cottages",
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It was so kind of you to take the time to let others know how much you loved this property and all it has to offer its guests. We are glad that you enjoyed the kayaks, beach passes, chairs. Our staff is always happy to assist with questions you may have such as finding a great place to get lobster to bring back to eat in the privacy of your cottage! We are pleased that you found Tranquility functional yet beautiful. Congratulations and Happy mini-moon! We look forward to your next stay with us and hope this becomes a tradition for you for many years to come. Many thanks!
Best Wishes,
The management and staff of the Cottages at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    35
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
38
211
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

My wife discovered this place on Trip Advisor and the reviews were so positive we decided to try it. These are impeccably run cottage rentals within a hospitality consortium in the Kennebunkport area. Although small, these cottages are well appointed and designed by interior decorators. The furnishings are consistent with the early New England motif which the cottages are reminiscent of. I strongly recommend for those who desire privacy and a quiet destination.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vjnitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear "Cozy Hideaway",
Thank you for your time and wonderful words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again!
Thank you,
The management and staff of cottages at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed two nights in Ebb Tide, Cottage #9. How adorable!! The decorating is just the best and I don't know how they get so much packed into a small area. We had a precious little kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, refrigerator, dishes, coffee. Nothing was missing. It was just so much more fun than a hotel "room". It's nice and quite and the grounds are well kept. We even used the complimentary bikes. Since they have added a/c there was one tiny hitch. The a/c unit is in the bathroom so it's icy cold in there and you have to unplug the a/c if you want to use the hair dryer. It was not a problem for us though. Breakfast comes about 8:15 and is left on your door step.....juice, fruit and a pastry or boiled egg, etc. Perfect! Perfect for a couples getaway or would be fun for a group of friends. Location is great too.....close to town but on a quite street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear “Like a Doll House”,
We are so pleased that you think so highly of 'the Cottages...". The management and staff strive to surpass your expectations and make everything "perfect" for you. Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again!
Thank you,
The management and staff of the Cottages at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Gloucester, Maine, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My Husband and I go her for our "alone" weekend away fro the childen. The place is so beautiful and relaxing. The cottages are always clean. The people that work there are very nice and helpful. They bring breakfast to your cottage in the am. It was so good. My husband and I would look forward to breakfast just to see what they have cook us. We will be going back every year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, General Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Amazing Place,
Thank you for the great review! Cabot is a perfect "alone" weekend getaway cottage retreat. We are so happy you found us and plan on visiting annually. We’ll be here ready to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I cannot begin by saying how adorable this place is!! My boyfriend and I went for one last weekend escape before the summer ended. Driving up to the property created the first bit of excitement. The grounds are very well kept and there are plenty of activities provided to the guests (bikes, boats, croquet). However, when we opened the door to our cottage (Sleepy Hollow, #14) our jaws dropped. The cottage was so charming and so private too. We felt like we had the entire property to ourselves. We had a little front patio as well as our own private garden and seating area. I appreciated all of the little touches too! There was a Keurig machine with K-Cups and all the fixings, a whoopie pie to snack on, and they deliver a great breakfast in the morning (when we stayed it was a delicious ham and cheese croissant, fruit, and orange juice).

Also, I thought this place was so great I had to read the 4 or so reviews that are "terrible" because I was in such disbelief that anyone could leave such comments about this place. In our experience, every person we came in contact with was very friendly, personable, and hospitable.

My boyfriend was so excited when we arrived and no longer than 10 minutes after checking in he got down on one knee and proposed in our cottage......and I said YES!! This place will always hold a very special place in our hearts and I hope to return some day very soon.

Thank you Cottages at Cabot Cove!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear "charming and relaxing!",
First, on behalf of staff and management at the Cottages at Cabot Cove, let us say, "Congratulations!" It is so wonderful to know that we will always be part of the stories you tell loved ones when speaking of your engagement. We are so pleased that you hold this property in such high esteem. We are ever so glad that you hold us dear to your hearts as do we. We look forward to seeing you again. We wish you all the best!
Thank you for such a thoughtful and kind review.
Best Wishes,
The staff and management of the Cottages at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in the Endless summer cottage for a short one night stay. The staff (Kristy at the front office, specially), the immaculately clean and perfectly decorated small cottage (being small just adds to the charm, in our opinion), and the bikes and kayaks available provided us with a stay we will dream about for years to come. We are well travelled, but rarely experience a perfect combination like this. Well worth the cost. The other reviewers are right about breakfast - it is nothing to write home about - but WHO CARES when everything else is so good? We absolutely, highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYtraveler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, General Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Exceptional! Will return!
We appreciate your kind words about Cabot Cove. Our Staff really enjoys being a part of Cabot and we are so happy it shows! Thank you for recommending us! Our bakery basket is a petite starter to the day with a baked good, juice and fruit. There is always room for improvement and we gratefully accept recommendations from our guests. We are happy you noticed all of the other wonderful things about The Cottages.
We look forward to your next visit!!!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Cottages are diverse and unique as each one is individually owned and styled. They are a perfect reflection of the style and atmosphere of Kennebunkport - smart, sophisticated, manicured, relaxed, well planned and thoughtful. Which reflects the staff and management who make you so welcome and ensure that nothing is too much of a problem. "I'll pick that up for you when I am in town!" ... We used and loved the complimentary kayaks, the parking permit for beaches, the beach towels and chairs, bikes, best restaurant table reservations at the last minute on a Saturday night... I must have forgotten something - I was too relaxed to notice perhaps. A very beautiful retreat and extremely well run. Not suitable to families with small children as the setting is very quiet, the rooms are designed for couples and an extra bed would ruin the look and it is very close to the water's edge. Fantastic spot in an incredibly beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: Decide what degree of self catering you want when choosing a room as the kitchen facilities vary fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotcovekport, General Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Perfect Maine hideaway,
Thank you for your eloquent words. You have described Cabot Cove exactly how we strive to present it. We really hope you have a chance to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottages at Cabot Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages at Cabot Cove

Property: The Cottages at Cabot Cove
Address: 7 S Maine St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cottages at Cabot Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale lodging located on the Cabot Cove. Sixteen pristine, designer decorated cottages. Five star service. Gourmet breakfast bag delivered to your cottage each morning. Picnic lunches, spa services, canoes and kayaks available. The perfect spot in a perfect seaside town. We look forward to welcoming you to Kennebunkport and Cabot Cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Cottages at Cabot Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottages At Cabot Cove Hotel Kennebunkport
The Cottages At Cabot Cove Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing