We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely OVER rated with minimal portions!”

Stripers Waterside Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Stripers Waterside Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 50 Restaurants in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Trolley Stop across the street during summer months.
Description: Stripers features local seafood on the water with a sunset view of the river and ocean, private beach, and a waterside bar. Have a drink and an appetizer in one of our adirondack chairs on our lawn, or come inside for a great meal, with plenty of options for those who would prefer an alternative to seafood.
1 review
“Extremely OVER rated with minimal portions!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I had dinner last evening at Stripers based on a hotel reccomendation from "The Nonandum" resort. It was not good at all! With all the the wonderful restaurants in Kinnebunkport, it was discouraging that we did not do more research prior to attending. Minimal portions, cold food, and more concerned about the fancy appearance of the plate than taste. I ordered a steak that they pre slice. Enough said regarding temperture when served. Please don't make the same mistake we did. Stick with the proven winners throughout town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    68
    33
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had a great meal with friends this week. View is breathtaking and service was very good.
Enjoyed the meal very much. It was very busy but everything flowed nicely. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trailerking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great water view but mediocre food and poor service.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Despite a new menu the food at Stripers is nothing more than average. Unfortunately the service is even worse. Despite the new menu it was hard to believe that no tuna dishes were on the menu.
If you are not a fish eater this is probably not the restaurant for you as there are only 4or 5 non fish entrees.
Most of the table ordered one of the lobster dishes and the consensus was ok but not great.
Finally I should mention how disappointing the service was.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gumby30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Restaurant right on the river”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Superb restaurant. The food was excellent and the menu had a great breadth that was wonderful to try. I ate on the patio overlooking the river and catching the breeze coming in from the ocean. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBrooks17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, MA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great meal with a beautiful view!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a great little restaurant with an amazing view of the beach and harbor. There is a nice green space with adirondack chairs right outside. The food and service were excellent. We were nervous to go out to dinner the next night because we knew we couldn't top this!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eaglette07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stripers Waterside Restaurant also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 

Been to Stripers Waterside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing