We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Great Stay in Kennebunkport!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harbor Inn
Ranked #17 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Great Stay in Kennebunkport!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I was traveling with my boyfriend and his Mother who was visiting from Europe so we just wanted a quick getaway from the city for a change of scenery and to show her a different part of the country. We found the Harbor Inn and were so happy we chose it.

Kathy was great - friendly and helpful - and the inn is a quintessentially charming New England B&B. We had 2 separate rooms that were next to each other which was ideal for us. The rooms were nicely decorated with ensuite bathrooms and comfortable beds and there was a small, community fridge on the floor. The breakfasts were hearty and delicious and the staff was happy to hold a nice conversation. The location is convenient and it's easy to get to the downtown area.

We had the unfortunate timing of being there during a horrible snowstorm so we were basically trapped in the house for most of the day and evening. The winter scene outside was peaceful and pretty and were well entertained with TV, movies, and friendly conversation with Kathy and Donna so it worked out well. We were happy to stay inside a well-heated home! Kathy's son came by later and plowed us out of the driveway, too.

The only thing we found, which is typical for Maine, is that we were unable to get food delivered for dinner from any local restaurant. I had brought snacks though so we didn't starve.

I would recommend this inn for an enjoyable, relaxing, and reasonably priced stay in the area and hope to return in the future, maybe in summer so they'll be no chance of snow.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I stay at the Harbor Inn for at least one weekend each summer and every December for Christmas Prelude. I have never had a bad experience. I recommend this to all my friends. Cathy Jones and her son Barry are excellent hosts and make you feel at home. Each visit is better than the last. Cathy has many regular guests who return year after year. If you don't enjoy yourself here, you must be very hard to please.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mathergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We had not been back here in 17 years and were a bit nervous about what it would be like. Kathy, the new owner, put all those fears to rest. It was just as good if not better than when we stayed here in 1993. Kathy and Donna are wonderful hosts. The house is beautiful and well kept. It totally has the "you are home" feeling. They served great break fasts both morning we were there and gave great recommendations for all our other meals. Highly recommend and can't wait until next time we head to Kennebunkport.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GATravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

We had a lovely three-night stay at the Harbor Inn, and found it to be the highlight of our visit to Kennebunkport. The location was ideal, a few mintues' walk to the main intersection, and far enough out of the way to be quiet and relaxing. Our room, Pineapple, was on the small side, but not at all cramped, and was filled with easy-on -the-eyes antiques, including a canopied four-poster bed, along with delightful window benches and other comfy seating areas. The bathroom was small, but attention to detail made up for this: The towels were high-quality, nice and heavy, the shower pressure was excellent, and the room was stocked with helpful amenities. Also convenient was a mini-fridge for use by guests on the floor. Breakfast was very tasty, and Linda's service was kind and efficient. Throughout our stay, both Cathy and Linda were really charming and friendly, and they offered consistently great advice. Even before we arrived, Cathy gave us a dining suggestion in Ogunquit on our way up that worked out perfectly (the Village Inn). We'd recommend the Harbor Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 80daysCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
90 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

We were able to reserve a room at the Harbor in for a last minute getaway weekend to Kennebunkport. To our surprise, the only room available was the Woodbine cottage behind the inn. We had our very own cottage with a small kitchen, decent sized bathroom, gas fireplace an outdoor deck ~ it was perfect for 2 nights. We only ate breakfast one morning - It was the perfect amount of fresh fruit, pancakes, sausages, juice and coffee. The innkeeper is very pleasant and made us feel comfortable throughout our stay. The Harbor Inn is in an excellent location. We were able to walk everywhere and had our own parking spot behind the inn. The nightly rates for this Inn are reasonable considering the prices at some of the other accommodations in the area.

  • Liked — cottage with private entrance and gas fireplace
  • Disliked — no hairdryer in the room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzyjacuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown PA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2005

We have stayed twice at the Harbor Inn, Aug. '04 and '05. The rooms have been more than comfortable and we have stayed in The Pineapple and Eileen's room.

Cathy is a gracious hostess and prepares an exceptional and always changing breakfast. We have never had the same breakfast twice.

We typically spend 2 weeks each summer traveling Maine and have yet to be disappointed with the B&B's where we have stayed.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWP1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2005

My Wife and I have spent many weekends travelling and staying at nice Inns and B&B's throughout New England. We always throughly research the properties and utilize websites like Trip Advisor and are usually rewarded handsomely!!!!

We selected the Harbor Inn to celebrate our 5th Wedding Anniversary..you see 5 years ago we celebrated our Kennebunkport, ME. Availability was difficult this weekend due to the popularity of Fall Foliage viewing. Many of the Inns and B&B's were either booked or required a 2-3 night minimum stay. We found the Harbor Inn through Trip Advisor and other websites. We visited the Harbor Inn website and picked out a few room options and made the call. Perfect! They had availability ofr Saturday and they even had our 1st choice of room (room #3). We thought we were on our way for a great 5 year anniersary!

Here is where the fun starts... When we arrived, the owner, Kathy, gave us the key to our room and showed us around the Harbor Inn. It took us a minute, but we finally noticed that this isn't the room we requested...it turned out that we were being moved to Room #4. We questioned Kathy about this and she very nicely replied that there were bathroom issues with Room #3 and that this room was the only one available with a shower. Seemed like an honest reason why not to put a guest in a room...right?

To our surprise and disgust we found out that Room #3 was occupied by another guest!!!! We questioned Kathy the morning of our departure about the bathroom issues and she continued along with her lie. As she quickly showed us the door, we confronted Kathy telling her that the we knew the Room we booked was being occupied by another guest. She quickly backpeddled and said that she had given the room to an elderly guest....WHAT? What did that have to do with anything? I don't think elderly people have to go to the bathroom and more or less than we do!!!!!

This was quite a disappointing experience. We specifically request a room and the room number is clearly stated on our receipt.... How can the owner give it away to another guest without our conscent and without even offering anything for our inconvenience?

On another note...pictures can be deceiving.. The bed in room #4 is not an antique canopy bed. Our bed was thrown together pieces found at a tag sale...and the canopy was screwed togther 1x1's! The bed was rock hard and very very creaky! We felt like it was going to fall apart at any minute.

We love going to Kennebunkport.....but we will NEVER EVER STAY AT THE HARBOR INN AGAIN! We would not recommend this place to our worts enemy!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalyleighKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.6 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#12 of 25 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#13 of 25 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn

Property: Harbor Inn
Address: 90 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6300
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing