We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very quaint”
Review of Old Salt's Pantry

Old Salt's Pantry
Ranked #25 of 50 Restaurants in Kennebunkport
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
weston
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“very quaint”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

bought some goodies here. very old fashioned and fun. nostalgic and cozy. some great local jams, jellies, and candies. good place to visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank voovoomel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“THE place for grinders”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Though my sister and I debate about the best place to grab grinders (subs, heroes, hoggies) - I think Old Salt's does it right. Other local places in contention - Provisions (Meserve's Market), Bradbury's and The Landing Store. Grad a grinder, some drinks, and chips and head to a number of hidden (free) picnic grounds tucked into Kennebunkport's little nooks and coves.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank COTraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
866 reviews
600 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“Blueberry pie...oh my!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

While visiting Kennebunkport, we had the opportunity to stop at the Original Old Salt's pantry for an afternoon snack. My husband and another gentleman we were with enjoyed their ice cream while I and another lady we were with enjoyed their delicious blueberry pie. WOW!! All I can say is YUM! Wish I could go and have a slice right now. I did take home a jar of the blueberry jam though so I can still have a little taste of Maine. If you happen to be near Old Salt's Pantry, definitely go in and give the blueberry pie a try, DELICIOUS.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank love2traveltogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
1 review
“Great Food - Need to Clean Up their act”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We like to stop at Old Salt's to get a foot long hot dog, it is a great tradition. . However, I was concerned when watching the two fellows in the kitchen, both of which had been making change and working the register, who proceeded to handle the rolls and hot dogs with their bare hands without washing them or using latex gloves. Even the onions we requested where placed on the dog with bare hands. Doesn't Maine have health regulations with regard to handling food? We love the place. I would just like to see them handle my food more carefully.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank moody1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Quaint, Nice, Costly”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stopped in for a quick lunch. It was over $35 for two sandwiches, two bags of chips, and two sodas. The sandwiches were tasty, but be aware that this place is not cheap. It only has two stools to sit on inside and it is tiny, so be advised you will most likely have to take your food and eat it elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AvaTennessee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Salt's Pantry also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 

Been to Old Salt's Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing