We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chef Table” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Cape Arundel Inn

Ocean Cape Arundel Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean Cape Arundel Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the heart of this mostly residential enclave, in a converted circa-1895 Shingle Style house, sits Ocean. Though the Inn has existed in one permutation or another since the 1950s, and it has long held a reputation for well-appointed lodgings and fine dining. The Innkeepers have filled the building with a striking art collection that could make small New England museums envious, while Chef Gignac uses the dining room—with its awe-inspiring views—as a canvas upon which to create epicurean masterpieces. Pierre Gignac graduated from the Institut d’Hôtellerie et de Tourisme du Québec. Pierre chose to open his first restaurant in Ogunquit, Maine “98 Provence," which pleased locals, tourists and critics for 18 years, until it closed in 2012.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Chef Table”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The concept of the chef table on friday night is an excellent idea.
Prix fixe menu. Family style dining. Also a great way to meet new people.
Food was excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Skippounet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drock69, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for the compliments. Pierre's table is a unique dining experience. He puts a lot of personal touch in to it. We will be continuing with chef table every Friday night till end of May. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    62
    29
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“beautiful views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Sometimes pretentious, tasty food. Staff are efficient. Creative menu. Make reservations, and ask for a seat by the windows for the best views.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank drsharonleed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drock69, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks for the great feedback. We are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fine Mediterranean Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

After 18 years at 98 Provence in Ogunquit, Chef Pierre Gignac has opened a new Mediterranean cuisine restaurant, at Cape Arundel Inn. Some of his excellent staff followed him to Ocean. The night we were there, a huge full moon rose over the sea, adding a breathtaking view to a fabulous meal. We started with the “sea scallops, apple butter meunière with chestnut gnocchi and mustard”. This dish was the hit of our evening. Its balance of flavors was just perfect. Our other appetizer was “roasted red beets, pickled gold beets, watercress, Mitica goat cheese and french walnut oil”. Roasted and pickled beet salads are all the rage in New England restaurants, this season, it seems, and the “Ocean” version was the lightest and tastiest we had, anywhere. For the main course, we both ordered the “lobster “Aumônière”, root vegetables and mushroom fondue in a red wine lobster sauce”, a very creative, fusion dish. Half of the lobster tail was left in its shell and had been seared on one side, while a large lobster “wrap” in an egg roll type of pastry, completed the dish. The red wine sauce was a truly inventive touch, here. The entire dish was delicious, the lobster moist and tasty, though we would have liked to get the second half of the lobster tail (some of which had probably ended up in the “wrap”, anyway). The restaurant's wine list is interesting but overpriced. This said, our meal and the entire experience at Ocean was one of the finest we had on this trip to the coast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gyel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconut grove
Level Contributor
120 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very fine dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Enjoyed the view and excellent service. Good quality and creative food, good service, beautiful location.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 33map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We at Ocean appreciate your review. For someone as traveled as yourself, it is affirming to hear that you enjoyed the food and service. The view is universally enjoyable.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

LOVE this restaurant!! We started with drinks on the porch, and were given warmed fleece blankets to stay warm. The staff were warm and friendly throughout the evening.
The meal was exceptional. The best salmon I have ever tasted. I will say that the vegetarian dish my partner had was good, although simple and not really special. Everything else was incredible.
We would go back to Ocean in a second! Thank you for a memorable evening!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillkc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
I LOVE your enthusiasm! I'm so happy you had a memorable time. It's comments like this that keep us trying our best to surprise and delight our guests with exceptional food and warm hospitality.

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Cape Arundel Inn also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Ocean Cape Arundel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing