We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Mediterranean Cuisine”

Ocean Cape Arundel Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean Cape Arundel Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: If you’ve ever dined on a luxury ocean liner, you know: Water all around piques your appetite, invites you to slow down and enthralls throughout a meal like no other show on earth. And if you haven’t, that experience awaits at the Cape Arundel Inn & Resort’s glass-walled, waterfront, fine dining restaurant: Ocean. Memorable evenings at Ocean begin with cocktails, like our Maine maple syrup-sweetened Amber Sky, on the inn’s relaxing front porch or at the bar. Continue your culinary journey in the dining room, where every table has a view of the frothy blue sea. Chef Pierre Gignac’s creative menus change with the seasons, showcasing not only Maine-caught seafood in signature dishes like Lobster Thermidor, but the best of what is grown, raised and produced locally. His eye-pleasing creations take inspiration, too, from across the Atlantic. Expect the familiar flavors of southern France and the Mediterranean with intriguing new twists, plus an international selection of wines.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

After 18 years at 98 Provence in Ogunquit, Chef Pierre Gignac has opened a new Mediterranean cuisine restaurant, at Cape Arundel Inn. Some of his excellent staff followed him to Ocean. The night we were there, a huge full moon rose over the sea, adding a breathtaking view to a fabulous meal. We started with the “sea scallops, apple butter meunière with chestnut gnocchi and mustard”. This dish was the hit of our evening. Its balance of flavors was just perfect. Our other appetizer was “roasted red beets, pickled gold beets, watercress, Mitica goat cheese and french walnut oil”. Roasted and pickled beet salads are all the rage in New England restaurants, this season, it seems, and the “Ocean” version was the lightest and tastiest we had, anywhere. For the main course, we both ordered the “lobster “Aumônière”, root vegetables and mushroom fondue in a red wine lobster sauce”, a very creative, fusion dish. Half of the lobster tail was left in its shell and had been seared on one side, while a large lobster “wrap” in an egg roll type of pastry, completed the dish. The red wine sauce was a truly inventive touch, here. The entire dish was delicious, the lobster moist and tasty, though we would have liked to get the second half of the lobster tail (some of which had probably ended up in the “wrap”, anyway). The restaurant's wine list is interesting but overpriced. This said, our meal and the entire experience at Ocean was one of the finest we had on this trip to the coast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gyel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 319 of 474 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

Enjoyed the view and excellent service. Good quality and creative food, good service, beautiful location.

1  Thank 33map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

We at Ocean appreciate your review. For someone as traveled as yourself, it is affirming to hear that you enjoyed the food and service. The view is universally enjoyable.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

LOVE this restaurant!! We started with drinks on the porch, and were given warmed fleece blankets to stay warm. The staff were warm and friendly throughout the evening.
The meal was exceptional. The best salmon I have ever tasted. I will say that the vegetarian dish my partner had was good, although simple and not really special. Everything else was incredible.
We would go back to Ocean in a second! Thank you for a memorable evening!

2  Thank Jillkc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

I LOVE your enthusiasm! I'm so happy you had a memorable time. It's comments like this that keep us trying our best to surprise and delight our guests with exceptional food and warm hospitality.

Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We, a party of six, had a very enjoyable evening at the Ocean Restaurant located in the Cape Arundel Inn. The location is fantastic. We arrived just after sunset and missed the chance for some magnificent sunset views over the Atlantic. I encourage you to plan your visit better than we did, so that you can enjoy a nice sunset cocktail on the porch overlooking the ocean.

The service was attentive and helpful. I read earlier reviews complaining about immature or unprofessional service. We observed nothing at all like that. Our server was very professional and helpful. He was very knowledgeable about the menu and his recommendations were well thought out.

The quality of the food was very good, if not spectacular. Several of us had a beef combination plate - short ribs and a small strip of wagyu beef. Others enjoyed a couple of different fish dishes. The halibut and salmon got very good comments. Interestingly, I don't think anybody tried lobster that night. After 3 days in Maine, we were ready for alternatives.

I've always felt that the presence of "locals" in a resort area restaurant is an indicator that the food will be reliable. We couldn't help but notice the presence of a couple who live just down the street, on Walker Point. If the place is good enough to attract our 41st President and his lovely wife, it certainly passes the "locals" test.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TCYVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

I'm so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable evening. Thank you for your compliments, we promise to continue to deliver the high quality food and service you expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We ate at Ocean Restaurant two nights, September 25 and 25. Both meals were delicious and the service was very attentive. The view from the restaurant is beautiful - make your reservation early enough to enjoy the view before it get dark.

I have dietary restrictions (gluten free and no salt), and they were very accommodating about meeting my needs.

I had the butter lettuce salad (delicious) and the poached salmon. The salmon was the best that I have ever tasted - and I have eaten salmon in Seattle and Alaska, where you can get the best. The sauce on the salmon was delicate and enhanced the flavor perfectly. My mouth is watering right now just thinking about it.

In all, it was a very romantic, relaxed dinner with excellent food. I wish we lived in the area so we could go back often!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank knoemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

We are very grateful for this review. We also wish you could live closer! We have made the salmon entree one of our signature dish, so, next time you visit us you will be able to sample it again.
The team at Ocean extends its gratitude, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Cape Arundel Inn also viewed

 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Ocean Cape Arundel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing