We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Cocktail”

Ocean Cape Arundel Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean Cape Arundel Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: If you’ve ever dined on a luxury ocean liner, you know: Water all around piques your appetite, invites you to slow down and enthralls throughout a meal like no other show on earth. And if you haven’t, that experience awaits at the Cape Arundel Inn & Resort’s glass-walled, waterfront, fine dining restaurant: Ocean. Memorable evenings at Ocean begin with cocktails, like our Maine maple syrup-sweetened Amber Sky, on the inn’s relaxing front porch or at the bar. Continue your culinary journey in the dining room, where every table has a view of the frothy blue sea. Chef Pierre Gignac’s creative menus change with the seasons, showcasing not only Maine-caught seafood in signature dishes like Lobster Thermidor, but the best of what is grown, raised and produced locally. His eye-pleasing creations take inspiration, too, from across the Atlantic. Expect the familiar flavors of southern France and the Mediterranean with intriguing new twists, plus an international selection of wines.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Visited Kennebunkport in late August and had made reservations here one evening during our stay. We arrived 45 minutes early because it was a full moon that evening and we wanted to watch it rise over the Atlantic. The view from the porch was spectacular! Problems started when it seemed like the hostess (a little ditsy) had forgotten we were there. Only when we approached the hostess stand did she take the time to seat us which was at least 15 minutes past our reservation time. Upon entering the dining room there were 2 tables for 2 open by the front window, but we were told these weren't for us. Why? Good question. We were told it was someone's 60th anniversary. So, they require both tables? As it turned out, the couples that sat there were nowhere near their 60 anniversary. Irritating to say the least. The food was average at best. I had the Lobster Ratatouille...what a terrible thing to do to lobster...it was horrible. My girlfriend had the Fisherman Stew which was bland...another disaster. Our recommendation? Have a cocktail on the deck, but eat somewhere else. Oh, one more thing. Our last night there we went to the Pilot House, a local hangout which offers twin steamed lobsters for $21.95...nothing fancy, but sometimes simple is the best. Anyway, we met a local couple who told us the chef that had been at Ocean left to open his own restaurant...need I say more?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience. We are very sorry that you felt forgotten on the porch. Our goal is to let our customers enjoy their time, at their own pace, until they are ready to join us for their reservation. All of our tables at Ocean have an extraordinary view of the water, a few are by the windows and we always try to accomodate our guests as much as possible. We are also very sorry that you did not enjoy your food, the lobster and the fisherman's stew were two of our most popular entrees that received great reviews over the summer.
Hopefully you will be able to join us again for the fall menu. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 335 of 486 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

The beet salad a must, followed by a work of art that will melt in your mouth...lobster( in monks pocket). The view overlooking the ocean only enhances the whole experience..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Ocean. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the food, especially a second time around! The Chef strives to give our clientele a consistent experience of exellence everytime they join us for dinner.
From the whole team at Ocean, we would like to thank you and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a wonderful, if unexpected, meal at Ocean during our stay in September. We hadn't planned to dine in the restaurant, but the menu looked good and the aromas wafting from the kitchen drew us in.

We're glad we did! The food -- from apps through dessert -- was consistently excellent. The service was attentive, but not intrusive. In fact, our waiter Patrick was quite fun. There was nothing "stuffy" about this place and most of the guests were dressed casually.

The ambiance can't be beat. We had a before-dinner drink on the porch, looking out over the ocean, watching the moon rise.

Why fight the crowds in town when you can find food this good in a much prettier setting? Highly recommended, whether you are staying at the Inn or not.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank threeonrtheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your great comments. We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable experience. That is our purpouse here, and this gives it a truthful meaning.
From the team at Ocean, thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

First off the location is excellent so the ambience is terrific. You will be overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in a clean porch like environment. Food is excellent, but what we have found this last time staying and eating at This Inn is the staff are all novice.....high school caliber. From the front desk staff to the wait staff you can tell they have no experience in a high end resort. This is the biggest change we have noticed over the last year. Servers should know what side to serve on. The front desk help have little to no knowledge on the surrounding area and can't make a reservation for you. They like to giggle and flirt with each other versus focus their customers.
We love this Inn and come back just about every year. I want the new owners to succeed, but they lost some of the Inns charm by hiring inexperienced support staff. I think it all can be corrected with a little management and training. New Owners should train and inspect what they expect for a high end resort like this

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

From all of us at the Cape Arundel Inn, thank you for your feedbacks. We deeply regret your dissatisfaction with the service. We will take all of those comments under consideration and keep improving our standards of service.
I hope you will find a way to join us again, and enjoy our ocean view and our fine food.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The food was very good, we had veal, done perfectly. The servers were very attentive. My only negative comment is that the manager kept visiting the table next to us and bumping me with his arm or back side. Never said excuse me.

1  Thank Stellas_mom1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Allow me to take this opportunity to say excuse me, and please accept my apology for bumping you. I know that this could have been disruptive to your experience. I am happy to hear, however, that you enjoyed your dinner and that the service was attentive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Cape Arundel Inn also viewed

 
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Ocean Cape Arundel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing